We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part of our visit!”
Review of Earth and Sky

Earth and Sky
Book In Advance
More Info
US$837,18*
and up
Overnight Luxury Tour - Mt Cook and Lake Tekapo...
Ranked #1 of 1 Museums in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Earth & Sky Stargazing and Observatory tours operate in beautiful Lake Tekapo situated in the South Island. Visitors find enjoyment, entertainment and inspiration through a ‘hands-on’ experience as knowledgeable astronomy guides share the wonders of space, promote a scientific understanding of the southern night sky, and help reconnect people with a special part of nature using powerful telescopes. Tours operate at two big sky locations including the University of Canterbury Mt John Research Observatory. Lake Tekapo sits at the heart of the gold ranked ’Aoraki Mackenzie International Dark Sky Reserve‘ (est 2012) - Earth & Sky - the best attraction in New Zealand to show you the universe.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

By far the best thing we got to do at Lake Tekapo. First of all, the staff and crew are absolutely amazing. Thank you Kirsty, Keegan (sp?), Dave and Igor for sharing your expertise and passion with our group, as well as the group who were at the office at check in. It was very obvious that you had so much knowledge to share with us and not enough time, and we really appreciated the patience and enthusiasm with which you led our group.

We were lucky enough to have a clear, clear sky the night of our tour. We saw
the beautiful night sky, located and learned about the planets visible with the naked eye, and were treated to telescopic views of the moon, Jupiter, Saturn and Mars. This trip was a birthday present for my partner and he was like a puppy at the beach - we are still talking about what a cool experience it was a week later.

Tip: Dress warmly! The coats provided are amazing, but your hands/feet/face can still get pretty cold. There is a little bit of walking and a lot of standing involved; I would recommend bringing one of those small portable camping stools if you have issues standing for more than 20 minutes, if they are allowed.

Thank DongheeL43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigJ952, Business Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Kia ora,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and your recent experience on the Mt John Night Observatory Tour.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed our tour with the ‘stars’ of the show our passionate guides as well as our superstars on the front desk.

It is our hope on the evenings where the stars are visible - you are able to gaze up at the night sky, with a greater sense of understanding of our place in the Universe.

Safe Travels,

Craig Jones
Business Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 81 reviews
"milky way"
in 66 reviews
"mt john"
in 75 reviews
"clear night"
in 59 reviews
"group photo"
in 25 reviews
"cloud cover"
in 43 reviews
"red light"
in 20 reviews
"twilight tour"
in 25 reviews
"night tour"
in 42 reviews
"naked eye"
in 27 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 14 reviews
"full refund"
in 20 reviews
"southern cross"
in 23 reviews
"star clusters"
in 13 reviews
"full moon"
in 19 reviews
"dslr camera"
in 16 reviews
"laser pointer"
in 10 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2018

I booked the trip thought their website and when I got there they said they couldn't find the payment, and that I should pay again and the you recharge me. It was taking i while for me to get my refound so i called them, the girl on the phone checked my booking and she said that she found my first payment and that i would have my money back in a few days. Now it is being 2 months, i e-mail them weekly and they can't correct their mistake.
I really don't recomend anyone going there.

1  Thank Leticia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigJ952, Business Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Kia ora,

Thank you for your review.

We sincerely apologise that the process for your refund has taken this long. As you can appreciate as a business we do have to take many precaution's due to fraudulent activity.

I have been updated on your situation and as your credit card had expired and another New Zealand bank account wasn't provided we do need to see photographic ID to process your refund into an international bank account.

Again we do apologies for this process and hope you understand this is in benefit and safety of our customers.

Safe Travels,

Craig Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

The experience overcame the expectation and we were so impressed by the level of organization and caution with the environment. The sky was so clear that almost we could touch the stars and satelites. They guide was fun and showed a lot of knowledge. We had a free hot chocolate to warm up the chilli night. From the beggining to the end the money was worth. Would reccomend to anyone with interest in sky and astrology.

Thank diegolmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigJ952, Business Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Kia ora,

Thank you for your review and recent visit to EarthandSky Lake Tekapo.

It is great to read that the sky was perfectly clear for the duration of your tour and you found our Astronomy guides to be fun and hold great knowledge on the wonders of the Universe.

We hope to welcome you back very soon, for another evening beneath the beautiful Tekapo Night Sky.
Safe Travels,

Craig Jones
Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

FANTASTIC! Clearly all guides loved their job and the universe. Informative and very well organised. Wear all warm items of clothing you own and accept their jackets when offered. As soon as it’s windy it’s freezing on the mountain! Highly recommend this tour.

1  Thank Voyager439879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Business Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Kia ora,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and your recent experience on the Mt John Night Observatory Tour.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed our tour with the ‘stars’ of the show our passionate guides.

It is our hope on the evenings where the stars are visible - you are able to gaze up at the night sky, with a greater sense of understanding of our place in the Universe.

Safe Travels,

Craig Jones
Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Great tour guides and bus driver. Everything well explained. Good coats provided. Gloves and beanies a must. Very cold on mountain. The stars are amazing here. Black sky Reserve. I’ve never experienced anything like it. Must do.

Thank Adriandcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Business Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Kia ora,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and recent experience on the Mt John night Observatory Tour.

We are glad that the tour for filled your expectations and you took the great advice on grabbing the Antarctic coats provided, these are most definitely a must during winter months.

Your comments are very much appreciated and will be passed onto our wider team.

It is our hope that our team encouraged a new found understanding of our place in the Universe, in visitors from around the world.

Safe Travels,

Craig Jones,
Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Earth and Sky also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Earth and Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing