We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveller rating
198
288
209
99
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
288
209
99
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews powered site ensuite cabin hot pools camper van glamping tents minute shower coffee van hot springs communal kitchen bbq facilities motor home great view bbq area ice rink beautiful spot mt john bunk beds
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 863 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Quite disappointed with out stay in a motel. Zero soundproofing so was trying not to listen to our neighbours poliet conversation all evening.

Kitchenette was well stocked with utensils however they were dirty and the mixing spoon and spatula were melted.

Lots of angry little signs all over the walls telling you not to do this or that instead of an in room compendium

I appreciate that most clientele are passing through for a night but we felt like a number instead of a guest - especially waking to the idolling camp work car outside our room at 9am waiting for us to check out so they could get in and clean. We have stayed several times camping but this was our first and last time in a motel.

The only really positive things were the stunning view and when it got dark - sky tv to drown out next doors conversation.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cg_mount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Front Office Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Hi

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. I am sorry your stay was not what you hoped, that is obviously not what we want to happen!

I will talk to the house keeping team about the dirty/melted kitchen utensils, as this is unacceptable. An in room compendium sounds like an awesome idea, I will pass this on to management.

I am also very sorry you felt rushed to leave - waiting right outside your room is not a nice way to start your morning! I will let the staff know that if they need to wait for a room, to not make it intrusive.

Hopefully we will see you back one day, maybe try one of our en suite cabins. These are stand alone cabins, with an incredible view of the lake.

Cheers,
Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

To our surprised, the ensuite cabin allocated was located on top of the slope directly facing the beautiful lake Tekapo and snow capped mountains. Additionally, the mini kitchenette has everything you need. Free WiFi worked well,cosy beds, fantastic views, great rates, easily accessible to the village centre, supermarket and the hot pools. Plus the walk up to Mt John was so rewarding. Not forgetting the awesome sunrise and sunset. Oh, check in was fast.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Madame B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Front Office Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi!

Thank you for the awesome review. We are so lucky to have the location we do! Right by the lake and close to all the activities.
The Mt John walk is a must do for anybody visiting Tekapo!

Hopefully we will see you back here one day :-)

Cheers
Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

We had just a single night at the Holiday Park in an ensuite cabin overlooking the lake with just a narrow strip of grass between our front verandah and the lake edge. Sadly, it was quite an overcast day so our views of the mountains were compromised but they look to be spectacular on a clear day.

Our cabin had a queen bed and two single bunks all in a single room but it didn’t feel too cramped. We also had a very comfy armchair, a small dining table with four chairs and more chairs on our verandah. There is also a picnic table right at the front of the unit. The heater kept the cabin toasty warm. The shower was delicious - hot and strong.

We had a microwave and toaster and kettle and quite a few cooking implements but no oven or hob so did our cooking in the communal kitchen behind us. It was clean and spacious but is not equipped with any cooking utensils so you use the ones in your cabin (or travel with your own).

This is a huge park and must be absolutely heaving with people in summer but, being the slow season, there were not too many people around. Definitely great as holiday parks go.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank LindaK631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Front Office Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi Linda

Thank you so much for the great review! What a shame it was an overcast day on your visit, think this means you need to come back for another visit ;-)

You have described our ensuite cabins just perfectly. We aim to provide guests with everything they need in those studio cabins, but they are also welcome to used all the shared facilities. Did you use the BBQ's? We are just in the process of adding some more and improving the outside area.

Hopefully see you back on day

Cheers
Lydia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Affordable, perfect spot and great view! Not a bad spot to wake up to at all. So close to the lake and the hot pools.
Friendly staff, hot showers and big kitchen.
Stayed in 4 bunk room. Heating is great.

Thankyou for the great stay

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Madeleine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Front Office Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hi Madeleine

Thank you for your comments.

We are glad you had a great stay with us. It is a awesome spot by the lake.

Thanks
Janeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Had a couple of nights in a basic cabin, the unit was clean and comfortable and it was great to have our own set of kitchen gear. The facilities were clean and the staff were great at sorting out new linen when our daughter was unfortunately sick. The coffee cart coming through in the morning was an added bonus

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryndog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Front Office Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hi Bryndog1

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review.

We are glad that you found the facilities clean and comfortable.
We do hope your daughter is better and the rest of your trip was good.
The coffee cart is very popular in the mornings

Cheers
Janeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews