We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great access to the veranda from the main lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Great access to the veranda from the main lounge
Good sunsets from the west window overlooking the beach
Fabulous location overlooking the Firth of Forth
Every window has a see view
Looking across the bay to theWest and the Leisure Centre with indoor pool, &
Crown Bowling Green
Twin bedroom access via a spiral staircase 2 velum windows with views
Well equipped galley kitchen
Morning Sunshine
Perfect when everybody has gone home and it's your own view
Beach busy on a Sunday afternoon in February
Car parking for 2 cars
Dogs Welcome! Please check with the owner first.
One of the only houses on the beach side of the railway
Great for getting into the fresh air. Remember the tide comes in twice a day!
Lounge at night nice and warm in the Winter
Burntisland showing the port and across to Edinburgh and the Firth of Forth
Looking across to the City of Edinburgh during Festival time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Burntisland, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
MickH125
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I only wish it were closer! its not often you get excellent accommodation in a fabulous location but you do at seaside cottage. The sitting room is lovely, comfortable and spacious with views over the water. The best and most used room in the house. A sheltered patio outside the sitting room. The beds were all very comfortable., not often the case in holiday rentals! The kitchen is snug but has everything you need. All very clean. I cannot think of anything we needed that wasn't provided. My 12 year old son enjoyed the jigsaws. He spent a lot of time on the rocks beyond the house looking for crabs, fished off the garden wall and caught more crabs. And we were able to watch him from the patio!
There is a small sandy beach, with lifeguards on one side of the house and a rocky beach the other, both good for walking the dog. At the end of the beach is a leisure centre with flumes and tidal wave, clean and free for kids under 17 in the school holiday. Pitches and courts are available to rent, £1 for a wristband which gave you access all day. Town just 5 minutes walk, with all you need there. Train station was walking distance and took 30 minutes into Edinburgh. A large green area behind the house, with play park and in the summer a funfair (however, we couldn't hear this from the house!)
We were met and seen off by Jim who was extremely helpful, providing local information and showing us the house.
This is a little gem of a holiday cottage but don't tell anyone or we will never be able to make a booking!
Thank you for a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The sitting room and views from it.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham l
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“It would be hard to fault Beach Side Cottage”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a fabulous time at the cottage ,the renovation was beautifully done with everything in pristine condition ,the views from the sitting room looking over the Forth are to die for and we ate out all the time and the Sands Hotel which is next door does very good food, we certainly will be booking another holiday this year ,the people were so friendly and our Rescue Greyhound was blissed out ,the location would be hard to beat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was above our expectation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colinconn...
Cardiff, Wales
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Keep this to yourself...”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

What a beautiful home!

We stayed there over Christmas and New Year for the week and what a lovely week it was. When the tide is in you can sit on the garden wall and fish. The views are wonderful and the village only minutes away to walk into.

The house itself is a very cozy cottage that has everything that you need for a comfortable week. The welcome basket that is left for you is a touch of class and shows what wonderful hosts the couple are. Elaine gave us a tour of the cottage and told us she would be on call for any concerns we may have. We did not have any however.

This will now hopefully become our new favourite holiday stay when we go to Scotland.

I can highly recommend this cottage, it is truly a beautiful place to relax and unwind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location next to the beach.
Liked least: Low bridge getting to the property.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark f
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Location”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The photographs on the website only tell part of the story – this is a splendid cottage in a spectacular location. From arriving on Saturday afternoon, to leaving 1 week later, we found no faults. We were up in Scotland for The Open Golf at St Andrews but saw a great deal more of the surrounding area from this base.

Easy to locate, parking outside the front door, beach 20 yards away, sea comes up to front wall when the tide is in. Dog friendly, Wifi included and a lovely welcome hamper on arrival.

Golf at Kinghorn Links just up the road (£12 after 3 PM midweek !!) and supermarkets close by in Kirkaldy. Coastal walks east and west – we took the path up to Aberdour. Edinburgh is only 40 minutes away, St Andrews similar.

I hope to book this property again in the near future – thanks Cliff !!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliolioli
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great position fantastic views”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very quaint cottage,with fantastic views across to Edinburgh,shops with easy flat walk.
Only thing that spoils it is the proximity to the busy railway lines
Perhaps some double glazing to the bedroom window would quieten the noise of the trains late at night and early morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful position
Liked least: the noisy train line very close to the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$714
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing