We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rame rave review!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sharrow

Sharrow Bungalow and private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sharrow Bungalow and private garden
The view from the garden The lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Sharrow Bungalow and private garden
The view from the garden
The lounge area
The king size bedroom
A double bedroom
The dining area
Main bathroom
A bunk bedroom
The kitchen
Cawsand and Kingsand from the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cawsand, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GSV-NB
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Property OK, Extortion not OK.”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 days. We had a good time. We were told that part of the booking cost was for cleaners. We left on time and we cleaned up before we left.

We did not polish the place but when booking had the understanding the property would be cleaned and costs were included - I quote " ...Afraid we’ve got people arriving Sunday so departure is by 10:00 to give the cleaners a chance." (I was asking the latest we could leave)

After a few days I got a long email saying that the apartment needed cleaning which took 16.5 man hours. Complaints were that the dishwasher was left full of dirty plates (We started the cycle before leaving), that the bathroom floor was wet, and there was food in the fridge. I do not see how it can take 3 people 5.5 hours each to accomplish this.

I had a further threatening email 5 days later saying "If you do not respond to this email we will take further steps to claim compensation for the way you have abused our property" and that they had "very good photographic evidence".

I was angry, but limited my reply to simply stating, that I dont think the property was left in as poor a state and asked for the photographic evidence.

I never had a reply.

My perception is that the owner saw a group of people on a stag trip (obvious target) that they thought could afford to pay a bit more and sent an email saying it took 16 hours to wipe the bathroom floor, empty a dish washer and take the food from the fridge and bit in (we left things we thought might be of use like tomato sauce) and then appealing to our non-confrontational natures (I like to think I am a constructive member of society) to gouge additional funds (£168 requested).

I feel this information should be out there in case its a normal practice.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
A lot of cottage owners charge damage deposits, but we have never felt the need to as most guests are really nice and leave our cottages as they find them, and the occasional broken glass or whatever isn’t worth worrying about. Sometimes though you do get guests who leave a property in a real mess, and this complainant has the dubious honour of being the person who has left a property in the worst mess we have seen in our 12 years of operating. We were obviously not happy, and so for the first time in those 12 years we wrote a polite email asking (not demanding) that he contribute to our extra costs (copy attached below). He sent a two word reply “send photos”, which we did, and that was the last we heard from him until now, a year later. Disgusted doesn’t begin to cover it!

Dear Nathan,

We do hope that you had a good break at Wringford Down. Sadly you left the bungalow in a terrible mess, we have never had this happen before and so have never charged a deposit. We ask that you leave the accommodation as you found it. The kitchen and bathrooms were filthy – the floors were wet, there was food everywhere, on all floors and surfaces. The grill pan was left with baked on food. The dishwasher had been put on with a dirty pan of scrambled egg – which adhered itself to everything else in the dishwasher. The fridge was left full of old food and very dirty – the list is endless. The girls were not able to finish the cleaning in time for the next guests. We had 3 girls in there for 5 and a half hours and it normally takes 1 cleaner about 3 hours.

Whilst there is absolutely nothing we can do about this I am appealing to your better nature to help pay towards our additional costs please. We gave the guests who followed you a £50 refund for having to wait and spent an extra £108 on 13.5 extra hours of cleaning. We do have photographs if you cannot remember how you left the bungalow!


Regards,

Andrew & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseagl...
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ok, for a short break and average expectations.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with my family and we were not too pleased to see that the general maintenance of the building left alot to be desired , paint flaking, doors that are really difficult to close, etc) The overall amenities on site were good with covered pool, billiard table, pool table, darts, etc plus some animals outside.
This place is probably better suited to a family on a tight budget and with not to high expectations of normal standards in a rental.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2014
Not happy with the comment about general maintenance - the only paint flaking is on the external doors which face the south west wind & rain through the winter & will get a lick of paint in the Spring. Everything else in Sharrow is working & of high quality - the beds are good, the linen is crisp, the towels are white & fluffy, both bathrooms have hot & powerful showers, there is a large flat screen TV & DVD, the kitchen is modern & well equipped, ... I could go on, but please read the other reviews & decide for yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granpa86
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Rame rave review!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were all very pleased with our holiday accommodation and are very happy to recommend it. All the bedrooms and two bathrooms were well equipped. The three double rooms were excellent and the two bunk bed rooms were fine for the children.
The property is easily accessible, if you're happy with an half mile along a typically very narrow Cornish country lane. And the Rame peninsula, a forgotten corner of SE Cornwall, is superb - a secret hidden from most of this country except for Plymouth folk.
Pleased we were given a change of provided towels mid-stay, with scones, jam and clotted cream thrown in! Just missed finding a vacuum cleaner to help us tidy up on the last morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, facilities, location
Liked least: The half mile narrow country lane to reach it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the equipment provided
Liked least: small lane leading to cottage! cant complain- typical cornish road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Going Home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing