We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
anartatez
ADN

Overall Great Trip with Suggestions

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Feb 2020via mobile
I will start with the restaurant which was outstanding. The customer service of restaurant staff was top notch. The 2-bedroom villa was spacious and clean. We loved the area because it was convenient to Florence, Pisa, Siena and Arezzo.
Suggestions for Management:
1. The mattress in #7 and maybe other rooms should be updated to a thicker style which would have aided our sleep.
2. Have a Sunday meet and greet. There were no group activities that you would have normally seen at timeshares. This will benefit getting to know your fellow travelers.
3. We would have loved access to a tub.
4. Although we loved the meal board plan, we found the dinners way too long. They averaged over 2-hours. Maybe shorten the experience?
Overall we had a great time and would recommend this place for anyone in search of a true Tuscany experience.
Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 2 567
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 300
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Residence La Ferriera
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
3.6 km from Residence La Ferriera
Free Wifi
Free parking
Loro Ciuffenna
  • eDreams
3.2 km from Residence La Ferriera
Free Wifi
Free parking
TERRAZZA PANORAMICA
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
3.0 km from Residence La Ferriera
The Pool
R 6 260
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 6 338
  • eDreams
    R 6 260
3.7 km from Residence La Ferriera
Free parking
Pool
La Locanda delle 3 Fonti
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 786
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 808
3.2 km from Residence La Ferriera
Free Wifi
Restaurant
getlstd_property_photo
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
8.5 km from Residence La Ferriera
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
8.5 km from Residence La Ferriera
Free parking
Pool
R 2 002
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 027
4.2 km from Residence La Ferriera
  • Hotels.com
  • BBIT
    R 1 567
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 111
2.0 km from Residence La Ferriera
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Loro Ciuffenna
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
204
112
42
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
204
112
42
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board breakfast and dinner meal plan wine tour pasta every night small town course dinner other guests timeshare exchange yogurt living area four courses hard boiled eggs home base san gimignano euros per person
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2020

This little treasure of a resort has old Italian architectural style, with wonderful people working to accommodate your needs, as well as 4 star Italian food and to top it off a wonderful selection of Tuscan local wines. Highly Recommended!!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 2020drsjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2020

This is the 1st review I’ve ever written.... and is it ever late. Almost a year. We were here in February 2019 and it was absolutely amazing. We have traveled a bit but this was are 1st time to Italy. We have always made a decision to never go back somewhere but instead to always go forward and try something different. However, we find ourselves a year later with a trip booked to Lis Cabo wishing instead we were returning to La Ferriera. So we are making an exception to our rule and making a reservation for next February (we always go at our anniversary) to return. This time we will be taking our daughter as we just found Italy and especially La Ferriera charming! The simple things in life make this place amazing, from the coffee and crossiants ti the stories you can only imagine this place could tell. You will not be disappointed. And the owners go out of there way to make your stay enjoyable. We enjoy our privacy and our space was never infringed on by being ask to eat at the restaurant, or go on tours, etc. but when we had questions or requests we were happily met with a response. Thank you for such a special opportunity and we will be back!
Lorrie Ausrin

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wanderer48231762880
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2020

Amazingly comfortable, incredible food. Fun wine tasting. Amazing servers. Breakfast buffet was always local and fresh, Dinners were the best, great local choices and simply excellent. Walking distance to the local town and easy driving distance to many fine local cities and towns

Date of stay: December 2019
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2019

We were there in April 2008 when it was a RCI resort. It was cold and very little heat. We did not like the mandatory halfboard at first either. When you return after a long day of touring on the amazing bus tours, you are so thankful for the halfboard!!! Theresno worry about where to eat, etc.; it's there for you! Even though it was cold and the accommodations not luxurious, we loved it! You get the Tuscan feel for things. I wish it was still with RCI, we would jump at the chance to visit again!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank JANETM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2019 via mobile

There are quite conflicting reviews of this place and we thought we would provide a balanced one.

Plus points:
- location is central so that this is a good base from which you can access most of Tuscany.
- the setting and building are interesting as it is an old water mill and is therefore situated over flowing water.
- the restaurant has a good and varied wine list.
- the staff are friendly and nice people in general.

Then come the challenges:
- we exchanged through Interval. At no point is it mentioned anywhere that half board is compulsory until you get an email from Virginia asking for payment. This feels like you are being trapped into half board - the choice is to refuse and cancel or pay it. After planning location, booking flights and looking forward to the specific holiday, cancellation is an issue. The problem for us is not the cost but the fact we were trapped into having dinners we did not want and were prevented from exercising choice on the matter. The meals were fine but not what we would have chosen ourselves. This really spoils a holiday.
Personally, based on other reviews and what we saw, we think there is clear and deliberate mis-selling of this aspect and it does not sit well with us that we were manipulated in this way.
- the apartments are rustic in that Tuscan way. However, so much more could be done with them to just add a touch more class and style. As it is, they are basic in the extreme.
- query also why we had a kitchen when we were unable to use it.
- there is a damp problem in the building. Our apartment leaked and smelled constantly of damp. We get it with the location but, again, not great. There were no instructions but we kept emptying the large white dehumidifier decorating the main living area. On leaving, our clothes smelled and were damp. Everything, including unused items had to be washed at home.
- the restaurant completely lacks style and ambiance. It is in a lovely building with arches and character but once again, lacks that little touch which could improve it hugely. Being forced to use it nightly is one thing, being then forced to sit in a place where lighting is on full glare and in a very non atmospheric dinner isn’t nice at all. More interesting was when Virginia arranged a private party for friends, at that point candles on their table were appropriate yet not so for paying guests!
- the heating is either all on or all off. You cannot control rooms independently which means that your bedroom is as hot as the living space.

All in all, this place could be substantially better than it is. We would have wanted to return but will not do so.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Flyer788868
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tommy R, Proprietario at Residence La Ferriera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

I was schocked to read this review and I’ll start by answering everything you wrote unfair and untrue and not for you but for the rest of the world that read...
First) on the potential of our location I can’t blame you and thank you for your words

Second) Interval explane VERY VERY WELL and don't forget that before the confirmation you must be ACCEPT the condition where is write very well everything, perhaps you should read better!! Many people write me every day and ask me info about the meal plan package so....you start to be very wrong because you also asked me what it was

Third) no one is trapped anywhere, you have to pay for a package called Meal Plan and it is true that it includes meals but you can also not come by your own choice for some nights, people arrive two days after the arrival date or leave to approach the departure airport but this is a weekly package just like your booking and you were the one to choose when you booked, We don’t force anyone. if we get a list of reservations we contact them and everyone knows what it is.

Fourth) as for the choices on what to eat no one is more flissible than us that we make to change so many options considering the requirements of who does not eat meat, who does not eat fish, who does not eat gluten, who does not digest one thing and another and we never make any problems or ask for money, this is really a terribly wrong and unjust thing. Do you remember me, Tommaso? I am the owner but I took care of you every morning for breakfast and also on Friday before you left. All you did was compliment me, I asked you how it was going, and all you did was say nice, positive things, I don’t really have words. You also told me you wanted to leave a big tip, why so inconsistent?

Fiveth) as for the humidity I can only tell you that doing two cleaning a week we have everything under control and nothing you write is true

Sixth) no one has ever written such bad things about this place, lack of atmosphere when they always tell us opposite things considering that we are a small staff, all in the family and with all the love that turning the world I have never seen anywhere

Seventh) did the candles on the big table bother you for a dinner with friends? this is really not to comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews