We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
View across Plunge Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa Front Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa
Front Terrace
Entrance Hallway
Entrance Hallway
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
View across Plunge Pool
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across Plunge Pool
Al Fresco Dining
Al Fresco Dining
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across the valley
Plunge Pool Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tomasz K
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Extremely beautiful house and very nice atmosphere. The only think we don't recommend is an extra pay italian dinner in the neighbour house. Food was disappointment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Many thanks for your super review of our holiday home. We very much enjoyed having your group spend the week here. You having a good experience really matter to us. In terms of the Tuscan dining experience, we will pass on your comments to our neighbour.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loukos340...
Montpellier, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A very typical and nice house, very cosy and well renovated by the owners who are, by the way, very nice hosts, very attentive to their guests' comfort and in the same time very discreet.
You'll find here the right place to rest (swimming pool plays its role, of course) and to visit the whole region. The area is as well on a small hill, so it's colder at night, and consequently more comfortable than in the valley during Summer time.
The house is located in a small village with a large proportion of visitors coming from all countries. You can also have an organic dinner at owner's friends home with very typical Tuscany food.
Highly recommended !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, calm, hosts
Liked least: Maybe could coffe machine be changed?
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Many thanks, we really appreciate you taking the time to write the review and for your kind words. Reviews are incredibly important to us. We will pass on your kind comments to our friends that organise the traditional Tuscan al fresco dining evening. We very much enjoyed your time here as our guests and look forward to your return Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burtiebin...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a perfect combination of relaxation, awesome natural beauty and Renaissance culture.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at The Contented Tuscan at the end of July. The house is lovely - very tastefully and sensitively decorated - and the terrace and pool provide a perfect place for relaxing in the sun and enjoying the view across the valley. Steve and Denise are wonderful hosts, discrete yet helpful and very approachable. We stayed for two weeks, combining our visit with an overnight trip to Florence during the first week and another overnight trip to Siena the second - both cities are beautiful and within a comfortable driving distance. Even if you don't venture very far, the local area is extremely beautiful, with some very pretty hillside villages and breath-taking countryside. The lovely town of Lucca is also just a stones throw away. Thanks to Steve and Denise for helping to make our stay so good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful presentation of the house
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
Many thanks for your super review. We very much enjoyed playing our part in ensuring you had such a fabulous time here. Being a first year business the reviews and feedback are vital to us. We really want people to feel things could not have gone better. It makes all the work worthwhile when we receive feedback that we got it right for our guests. You were a pleasure to have as guests at our home and hope to see you again Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrera L...
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A real gem in the heart of the Tuscan contryside”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Review by Carrera-Leigh Dix - guest but not the booker.
I stayed at The Contented Tuscan for a fortnight with my husband and his parents and didn't want to leave!
With unrivaled views of the surrounding area, this hillside cottage is a real hidden gem. It was the perfect size for four guests, with two spacious and well decorated double bedrooms and immaculate en-suites. The outside area is private and cosy but with a real sense of space due to its position on the edge of the village.
We didn't have the best of weather throughout our stay, but the close proximity of Bagni di Lucca and bigger towns and cities meant that there was always something to do if things got a bit overcast. There was no shortage of places to eat and a BBQ in the garden for quieter nights in.
Denise and Steve were very accommodating and attentive, making our stay that bit special. The village itself is picturesque and the people very friendly. Be warned to sleep with the front windows closed if you like to lie in though, as some of the locals are up early.
The only other thing I would warn holiday makers about is the mosquitoes, but that seems to be the case across Tuscany and nothing to do with the accommodation itself.
Highly recommended by me - in fact I've already pointed several people towards this place - I'd go back in a heartbeat!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quiet, rural location was perfect for unwinding.
Liked least: There wasn't much to not like, so I'll be picky and say the winding roads on the way up.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thank you for your very kind feedback. We are delighted that you were pleased with your holiday here and are grateful that you are happy to refer The Contented Tuscan to friends. Best wishes and hope to see you both again Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail P
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The situation of the property, the view, the attention to detail inside and out should impress even the most discerning traveller. We really had to drag oursleves away from the gorgeous terrace to visit Florence (by train) and Lucca (twice, we loved it so much). A real home from home experience made even better by our lovely and very discreet hosts who should be proud of what they have created. The fireflys after dark completed an experience that other holidays will have to live up to. Well done and thank you both very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2014
Wow – what a great review – thank you very much.
Fantastic sums up how we felt too about having you as our first guests.
We were a little nervous but really could not have asked for lovelier guests. Thanks too for your super feedback and taking the time to suggest supplying a Tuscan supper. We incorporated your idea into our offering, now all our future guests can have a pre-prepared Tuscan supper waiting for them when they return from a days sightseeing.
You having a good experience matters to us and we are pleased that our holiday home helped deliver you a super holiday in Tuscany.
We hope to see you again Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$97
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing