We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bella Bagni di Lucca y Villa Rossa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Rossa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lorenzo72...
Bisbee, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bella Bagni di Lucca y Villa Rossa”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our stay at Villa Rossa was wonderful. We traveled with three other couples for three weeks in Tuscany. I think we all agree that our week long stay in Bagni di Lucca at the Villa Rossa was our favorite place, where we experienced the charm of a lovely small Tuscan community. The Villa was spotlessly clean. The living room was spacious and comfortable. Bedrooms were comfortable with good beds and quality linens. The kitchen was fabulous and well appointed; we cooked in three nights. The location was beautiful, just at the edge of town with a wonderful view across the river. Great picturesque walks just outside the front door. Town was an easy jaunt downhill and provided charming restaurants and stores and even more charming and friendly locals. We are all from rural California and two couples are farmers. So we especially enjoyed and appreciated the fresh local produce and wandering the hills above Bagni di Lucca.

The hosts, Joanna and Antonio, could not have been nicer or more helpful. Joanna magically appeared when we had a minor medical emergency and assisted us by taking the patient to her family doctor, Vito, who is a real character. Antonio took my wife and I to meet a stone mason and building contractor, and then on to visit a lovely old stone house he had renovated near Barga. Joanna and Antonio arranged a tour for all eight that took us to fabulous places many tourist never see. And the lunch at the agriturismo at the monastery was the best meal we had in Italy.

We would recommend a stay at Villa Rossa to any families or groups that want to experience what real Tuscan living is like in a small community in a naturally beautiful environment. Villa Rossa is fine for older travelers if in good physical condition. Travel to Lucca, Pisa and Barga was easy without a car, once we figured out the buses. The local bus drivers will even take you practically to your doorstep, even when it isn't on their route if the bus isn't full already. We would love to go back and would stay longer. Thanks Joanna and Antonio for making our stay such a pleasurable one.

Larry and Elsa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, peaceful and quiet
Liked least: Bumping my head - I'm 6'4" and old doorways can be low
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2013
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience at Villa Rossa in Bagni di Lucca with others. We are so pleased you loved the area and the villa as much as we do. Local amenities are all on your doorstep. Getting about without a car using public transport is both fun and easy to do as you found out. We are always close by for our clients in case of emergencies so you can have piece of mind if anything happens help is only ever a phone call away! Thank all again for your review you were a joy to have as clients all of you. Keep in touch and take care Antonio & family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne G
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Week”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful time was had by all - parents, children, grandparent, aunty and uncle - in this beautiful setting. The villa was equipped with everything we needed, with a lovely outdoor area and in easy reach of amenities in Bagni di Lucca. Top marks from the boys for the pool. Loved it x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the outdoors
Liked least: ...struggling with this one...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2013
Hi Guys, So pleased you loved the villa and its surroundings. The pool in the heat of the day is a real plus for all the family as you found out. The villa is perfect for extended family breaks such as yours, as it is large enough for everyone to have their own space with 2 kitchens and living areas as well as lots of private outdoor space. Thank you for your kind review. Antonio and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizziebEn...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous!”
Reviewed 21 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Gorgeous house that has been beautifully decorated and furnished with everything you could possibly want. The views are stunning and the location is perfect and very peaceful. The room at the very top of the house had a window in the roof that meant you could look out at the stars at night - how fantastic is that? There is also a wonderful spiral staircase which provided me with a lot of exercise!

The house is just a short stroll away from the village where there are bars, restaurants and shops as well as a market a couple of times a week.

The owners are lovely, very friendly and helpful and ensure you have all you need to have a great holiday.

We didn't have a car while we were there but found a great taxi driver called Roberto who is can take up to 6 passengers and has great knowledge of the local area. He is also very helpful and reliable and speaks enough English to be able to understand those terrible people like us who don't speak very much Italian!

I can't recommend this place highly enough, you could not fail to have a great time there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The climb up the hill!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2012
We are over the moon that you just loved our rental property all of you. The centre being so close is always a plus for our guests. The taxi service available is great and the local transport links super, so you don't need to hire a car to enjoy Tuscany when you choose to stay with us at Villa Rossa. The locals are friendly, there are lots to see and do nearby and in cases of emergency we are never far away. Thank you so much for your kind review all the best Joanna and Antonio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gazo1963
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fab Villa and Town”
Reviewed 25 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We are a party of 9 that stayed in the villa for 2 weeks . We cover 3 generations and everybody loved it . Plenty of space , well equipped , close to the town with plenty of eating and drinking establishments .

The villa is within easy walking distance of the town but I would recommend a car if you are planning days out .

I could bang on about different aspects of the villa , town and surrounding areas , but to save on words , ask anybody in our party if they would go back and they would all say yes . Without hesitation . My advice , book it .

The owners were fantastic and could not of been more helpful .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: We were only there 2 weeks !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2012
It always so nice when we receive reviews like this that let us know how people are enjoying our villa rental, Villa Rossa and the local area. We love it here in Bagni di Lucca, it has all you need right on your door step. Shops, banks, bars, restaurants, and good transport links. We are so pleased to hear you all your holiday with us at Villa Rossa. Thank you for your kind review. Joanna, Antonio and Massimiliano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 13 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Sep 2012
Wow is all we can say to this lovely review and thank you. When we received feedback like this it makes all our hard work worth while. We are so pleased you and your family loved the property and the area. As you said in your review it is large enough for family groups to have their own space, and yet retain that home from home feel. The location makes it ideal for visiting Florence and Lucca and the transport links are good to most areas. We were sad to see you go and please tell your little girl the red house would love to welcome her back again! Take care all of you hope to see you again in the future. Until then Ciao for now. Joanna, Antonio and Massimiliano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;