We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FANTASTIC”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Whitestrand House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Doonbeg, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
174jacome...
Sagogn, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 2 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Thank you Teresa and Michel for the warm welcome (with handmade scones ) in your fantastic house.
The house is very clean, very well furnished and cosy. Teresa have many good tips for excursions and it has a folder in the house with a lot of tips too.
We enjoyes our week in your house and the nice chats. Thanks a thousands .
Hope to see you once again

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Thank you for your kind review. Delighted that we made your stay memorable. Hope to see you again.
Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie K
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern cottage right by the beach”
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We had a lovely break at Whitestrand House in March. The cottage is beautiful gorgeous decoration, excellent amenities and plenty of space for a small child to play. The big window in the living room providing a wonderful view of the beach was a favourite.
The hosts are very friendly and never left us stuck for anything. We were also lucky to find out a little of the history of the seaside cottage. We also got to meet some of the newborn calves which was a treat for our young friend.
I would highly recommend to anyone to stay here and meet the lovely hosts and we are looking forward to our next break here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2018
Hi Tracie. Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. Looking forward to seeing you in Doonbeg soon
Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emsam123
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just spent 3 weeks at Whitestrand House. Firstly the house is lovely and immaculately clean. Located a stones throw from the beach and adjacent to a working farm. This was fantastic especially for my grandchildren (3 years and 6 months old). The owner, Theresa was incredibly hospitable. She even provided a baby bouncer and play tents, fenced off a garden area with slide and seesaw, and provided buckets and spades for my grandchildren. I would highly recommend this holiday house to anyone, families with young/older children or adults alone wishing to explore the west coast. Nearest church/pub/restaurant/shop is a very short (less than 5 minutes) drive in Doonbeg. The house is also a short drive to many virtually deserted beautiful beaches. We had a lovely time on nearby Doughmore beach followed by afternoon tea at the Trump International hotel. Lahinch is about 30 minute drive away with great leisure centre for swimming, nice restaurants, pubs, shopping and huge beach. You can learn to surf and scuba there too! There's loads of great attractions along the coast, most within a 45 minute drive (often less). We had a fabulous holiday and would recommend it to anyone. Our thanks to Theresa and Michael for their wonderful hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Bridget. I appreciate that lovely review. It was great to meet you all and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best to your lovely family. Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
2 reviews
“Beautiful house, stunning location, warm welcome”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children (aged 3 & 12) had the most wonderful time here. We stayed a week which wasn't long enough!!
We were warmly welcomed by Teresa. The house was immaculate, providing everything we needed for our stay. Only minutes from the beach, it was perfect. I honestly couldn't fault it.
Teresa and Michael are lovely, lovely people and also treated us to a fun and interesting experience milking the cows.
The beach is a paradise for the kids with rock pools to keep them busy all day. The only trouble was getting them off the beach at the end if the day :)
The nearby village of Doonbeg is delightful. We had a delicious meal on our last night in Morrisseys and would recommend it.
And of course there's so much to offer within 30 minutes to an hours drive.
Can't wait to return to Whitestrand House but next time for 2 weeks
Thank you to Teresa and Michael

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2017
Hi Sarah . Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and touring west Clare. We are fortunate that County Clare has so much to offer our tourists. See you next summer. Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sineadnim...
Greystones, Ireland
1 review
“The perfect family holiday location”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I stayed here with my sister and our 3 children (ages 10,11 and 13) in August 2017. We stay in Doonbeg every summer and this has been by far the best location. The children were thrilled to be within walking distance to the beautiful white strand. The house itself is immaculate and Teresa and Michael were very kind to allow us to help with milking the cows - which along with the beach was a real highlight to our holiday. We booked this house again for next year and would highly recommend this house to anyone who is looking to for accommodation in Doonbeg.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2017
Hi Sinead. Thank you for your lovely review. Delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us and the milking. See you next summer. Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing