We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cap de Castel
Nearby Hotels
Olinda(Puylaurens)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chateau Mirabel(Puylaurens)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
157
39
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
39
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea and coffee making facilitiesamazing viewscanal dusurrounding areabeautiful old buildingan oasislovely poolsmall villagebeautiful hotellast summerattention to detailhilltop towncomfortable beddavidpyreneesterracetoulouse
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2007

What a fantastic place. My only hesitation in recommending it, is that I wouldn't want it to get too full of us Brits!!! We stayed four nights in a lovely room overlooking the Lauraugais countryside and the mountains in the distance. The view was perfect. Room too was excellent - spacious with a large bed, flat sceen telly, DVD player (as if you'd need one with that view!!), hairdryer and coffee making facility (unusual in France and very welcome). Ample parking is available in the little square right opposite the hotel.

The restaurant has both indoor and outdoor dining and we sampled both - since the weather was cool on our first night. Sitting on a warm summer evening and eating the well cooked and served food is a delight. David and his staff are attentive and helpful in everyway (with a hint of intrusion) and the whole dining experience runs to perfection. A set menu eliminates any mental stress trying to decide what to eat!!!! and I am sure that they would cater for special dietary requirements if informed before hand. Good wine list - all local and reasonably priced.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this as a unique and special place to stay. The Hotel can only improve as David plans to refurbish the adjacent 'castel' and early next year a by pass through Puylaurens opens which will make the town the quiet retreat it presumably used to be.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MosesGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2007

We stayed for 4 nites with David and Pascal in May '07. David is the hands-on, always available for questions and help owner/manager. Charming, fluent in english and spanish too. Our room was extra large overlooking the french countryside of puylaurens. Comfortable king sized bed, extra large renovated bathroom with separate shower and bathtub, cable tv along with a country estate feeling. This town makes the perfect access point for day trips into toulouse, albi and other towns on the way to albi and then to carcassonne. A continental breakfast (extra) and dinners in hotel's intimate, very good quality restaurant were taken our four nites.

David and his staff are truly professional, courteous and aim to please. We only eat seafood and David made sure to provide us with a delicious meal each nite priced at 25euros each.

We'd really like to go back some day. Albi and its toulouse-lautrec museum (great!) was our favorite town by far with side trips that day that included Lautrec and Cordes sur ciel. both towns not to be missed. carcassonne was by far less interesting and too jammed with tourists to be enjoyable. toulouse is a bigger city with alot more options including quality museums.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank toulousetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2006

Cap de Castel is a 'hotel de charme' with a restaurant within the old castle in Puylaurens, known as the Balcony of the Pyrenees. It was taken over in June 06 by new, young owners who have refurbished it. Dinner - €30 for 4 courses - is served to a maximum of 20 guests so you get excellent service in romantic and intimate surroundings. In summer they serve meals outside on the terrace beside the swimming pool and they also do some food at lunchtime in high season. The hotel looks over to Revel and the Montagne Noir and (in daylight) the Pyrenees. When we were there in October 06 there were wonderful views with the villages lit up like fairylights. The hotel has 9 rooms and a family suite and,although we didn't stay, David, the owner showed us round and it looks very comfortable. He worked in the UK so the rooms come with tea and coffee making facilities - rare in France. Puylaurens is in the Albi, Toulouse, Carcassonne triangle so is very central for visiting the Pays de Cocagne, Canal du Midi, Castelnaudry and Carcassonne.

Thoroughly recommended.

2  Thank taeswen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews