We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent house and location. Perfect holiday...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of LE PENTY

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nevez, Finistere, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Good house great position”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Unfortunately the weather was not kind and the temperature was lower than expected. We could not make the heating work so it was a little cool for my elderly parents- in -law. We all enjoyed the beaches when the weather permitted, I particularly enjoyed the little steps down to the aven estuary. We all enjoyed the markets in Carnac, Nevez and Concarneau. The house was a bit basic in some areas but we loved the fire place.

A little map of the locale would have been handy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genuinefo...
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It's in a super location, the terrace and garden are nice, and the wifi is pretty good and plenty of hot water. The gite is equipped to a minimum level and feels extremely basic.
As other reviewers have said, there is nowhere comfortable to sit and relax. The sitting room area has hard chairs and one leather sofa which isn't at all comfy. Lighting needs improving throughout the house (e.g.in upstairs bedrooms, no main light at all, and only one small bedside light in one room, no working light in the other room).
I would recommend that the owner renews the bedding - it seems old and some is stained -for example one of the 'pillows' was an old lumpy cushion stuffed into a pillowcase. When I pointed this out, the agent suggested I go and buy another.!.. she said I could be reimbursed but I don;t feel I should have to start buying items for a gite when I arrive. The double bed had to be abandoned because it made a noise every time you moved and we could feel the springs. Upstairs the bedrooms had wooden single beds, one having a single that fitted underneath the other - not ideal for adults.
Very little in the way of soft furnishings - (curtains downstairs only, no rugs or carpet or upholstery); sounds reverberate throughout and can be heard by everyone else in the house.
The bedrooms have limited furniture - wooden bed/s, chair, table. No dressing table, no mirrors in upstairs bedrooms, no comfortable chair, no rugs - it all feels a bit like being on some sort of monastic retreat.
In the kitchen, no worktop space for food preparation. The oven is high up and I had to stand on a chair to check whether the meal was cooked, and to take food from the oven.
All in all, despite the fact that we loved the location, we wouldn't return unless it is brought up to a better standard - this house needs to be looked after and invested in - it is expensive to rent it, and people who choose it deserve more for their money.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thank you for the time you spend for this very detailed review.
First of all we are happy that you enjoyed the location of our holiday house.
1. The equipment is detailed on our TripAdvisor page and on our site; all of the items were present thus we think that you were provided with the expected level of the equipment; incidentally we never had complain about this level.
2. Regarding the comfort of the sittings and the sofa, you mentioned “other reviewers”; In fact they talked about a previous sofa which was turned into a 3 seat leather sofa in April 2016. Our family and our guests use it and everybody appreciate the quality and the comfort of this high standard leather sofa.
3. Improving lighting and bedding. OK
4. The story of the pillow is irrelevant because the agent changed it over immediately so that you spent no night with this thing.
5. The noise of the double bed is mysterious; nobody had to abandon it neither before you nor after.
6. It is incorrect to say there are no curtains upstairs; there are VELUX windows equipped with dark green adjustable curtains.
7. It is true that there are no carpets and rugs and there never will be; it is not convenient at all in a seaside holiday house; downstairs is tiled and upstairs parqueted.
8. The oven is 1,60 m high and we admit it may be too high for some people.
9. We have nothing to reply to the other criticisms because they concern your own personal taste.
Finally we want our guests to enjoy their stay in our holiday house as we do, thus we take into account the suggestions of our guests including yours when it is possible.
We would have appreciated that you contact our agent or ourselves during your stay and to be present during checking out; but you left before the arranged time.
On our side we noticed some unpleasantness you let behind but nevertheless we fairly reimbursed the whole deposit…
Bernard and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great location, property had everything we needed, we really enjoyed our holiday”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

First time in Brittany and Le Penty had what we needed for a great holiday. We walked to the beach most days, explored the nearby coast and day trips to Concarneau Quimper Vannes. As other comments, the furniture in the sitting area does need replacing and the oven over the fridge was a challenge. Don't expect good wifi but it was good to be off the grid for a while. The house kitchen was well stocked. we had a great holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2015
Dear Suzanne,
Thank you for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay at Le Penty.
We note that it would be proper to move the oven and improve the comfort of some armchairs.
We take this into account for next season.
Regarding wifi Orange changed the box and repaired the line; they said it was caused by a thunderstorm.
Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beancount...
South East England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent house and location. Perfect holiday. Recommend.”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have four children (mostly teenagers) and have holidayed as a family in Brittany for some years now. This house was actually pretty perfect for us: the very superior end of basic, I would say, but I mean this very positively. It had all we needed and was very easy to maintain over the two weeks. Splendid bathroom facilities.The kitchen is not meant for cooking elaborate meals, but we were on holiday and did not mind too much and managed fine. There are plenty of restaurants etc locally and good supermarkets as well as bakeries and bars. Lovely, lovely sunny terrace behind the house and overlooking the woods for eating outside. Nice beach two minutes walk away and plenty of others ( less crowded) within a 15 minute drive. The internet connection was not terribly reliable, which caused some anguish with the teenagers...Also, I think a slightly more comfortable sixth bed would be appreciated. The lovely and helpful Helene was a star. (also showing us the rather larger adjoining property which we would be super keen to rent another time).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the house and location
Liked least: Iffy Wi-Fi...
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Thank you Sue,
We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your holiday in our cottage.
warm regards

Bernard & Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise T
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pleasant accommodation, but lacking in home comfort.”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage is beautifully situated very close to the beach with a convenient creperie/bar serving delicious food and the surrounding area is lovely.
Sadly the standard of furnishings lets it down, thankfully the weather was warm enough that we could sit outside in the evening, but the settees in the lounge were not at all comfortable, one is made of wicker with flimsy cushions and the other so low you simply crawl off of it!
Kitchen was equipped with basic essentials and BBQ worked well, but the oven is above the fridge, making it very precarious and dangerous to use even though a step stool was supplied.The ancient kettle and toaster were replaced by the owners halfway through the week.
The bedding although clean had been well used so lacked that crispness of clean sheets and only one small square pillow provided so we all used cushions underneath them. The beds were very low so be warned if you have mobility problems like me.
Showers were good giving lots of hot water, but towels could have been bigger.
It was good to have wifi but we were disappointed not to have satellite tv as promised especially as Wimbledon was on. If the weather hadn't been good we would have missed it more. Radio did not work either.
Bernard and Marie were very pleasant as was Helene who cleaned the cottage, but the property could benefit from upgrading slightly ie drawers in the bedrooms and a mirror in upstairs bedroom.There was no information on the local area available in the cottage, which would have been useful
We spent an enjoyable 10 days at Le Penty, but would sadly not return unless it was more comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
We are happy you enjoyed our cottage and its surroundings.
We want our guests have the best holiday as possible thus we are disappointed that you did not like the comfort of the furniture.
It is true that the furnishings of this holiday house are likely to be simpler than those you use daily; but the purpose is different.
Regarding the bed linen we note that 2 pillows per guest would be better; we will take it into account.
We provided satellite TV as promised; but we understand that the bunch of programs supplied by the Continental satellite did not include the British sport program you wanted.
We could have talked about these topics when we visited you 2 days after your arrival.
Nevertheless we respect your remarks and consider them to improve the comfort of our cottage.

best regards

Bernard & Marie Ducas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing