We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cake!”

Elferhuette Wanderzentrum
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 August 2017

This was by far the best coffee and cake we had all holiday. The views are fabulous too. It's a stiff climb up from the Elferbahn but well worth it. You have to pay for the toilet by the way.

Thank ladyeleanor1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Had a drink here. My sister didn't need a drink but sat with us inside. When we tried to use the toilet the owner shouted at us - even though we would have paid the charge to use the facilities .

Thank Pip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 August 2017
Google Translation

Wir möchten darauf hinweisen, dass wir das Wasser über 800 Höhenmeter vom Tal auf die Hütte pumpen müssen und auch das Abwasser wieder 1000 Höhenmeter ins Tal entsorgen müssen. Auch haben wir für den Bau der Infrastruktur hierfür keine öffentliche Unterstützung bekommen. Ein Unkostenbeitrag von 0,50 € für die Benützung der Toilette ist fair, insbesondere da sehr viele Gäste die Toilette ohne Konsumation benützen möchten. Wir bitten um Verständnis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Met the most obnoxious and difficult cafe worker ?owner who treated our group very poorly indeed. My advice.. walk on by.

1  Thank Mintys_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fritz H, Inhaber at Elferhuette Wanderzentrum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018
Google Translation

Wir weisen das als Internetmobbing klar zurück. Wir sind immer bemüht unsere Gäste auf der Elferhütte gut zu bedienen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We decided to break our walk here for some refreshments. We were a party of four, however only three of us were thirsty. We ordered drinks and sat down for a quarter of an hour to drink our coffees etc and then before departing, two of us needed to use the toilets. They were told that the cost to use the toilets was 50 Cents and that the person who didn't order a drink was not allowed to use the toilets! As I was the only German speaker in the party, I went to check that their understanding had been correct as I was pretty incredulous that this could be the case. The owner then launched into a tirade of vitriol, across the restaurant, about people daring to enter his restaurant without ordering. I pointed out that she was part of a party who was indeed ordering refreshments from him but this did not stop his ranting. Let me be clear that she was sitting at a four seater table in a party of four in a restaurant that was nearly empty (unsurprising!). Quite what impact he thought this would have on his turnover is a complete mystery to me. Shouting at customers however does have a very significant impact on his turnover. I can't tell you what the food was like as we obviously did not return for lunch. Given the owners attitude to customers, I think I can guess. I sincerely hope for everyone sake the owner finds something he enjoys and is suited to but hospitality is sadly not it. Life is too short to be doing something you clearly hate doing.

Thank SWD65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 August 2017
Google Translation

Wir möchten darauf hinweisen, dass wir das Wasser über 800 Höhenmeter vom Tal auf die Hütte pumpen müssen und auch das Abwasser wieder 1000 Höhenmeter ins Tal entsorgen müssen. Auch haben wir für den Bau der Infrastruktur hierfür keine öffentliche Unterstützung bekommen. Ein Unkostenbeitrag von 0,50 € für die Benützung der Toilette ist fair, insbesondere da sehr viele Gäste die Toilette ohne Konsumation benützen möchten. Wir bitten um Verständnis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Hanging on a small ledge the Elferhütte is a ok place for a simlpe lunch or a cup of coffee. You just want to load up on carbs so don't be looking for the fancy stuff. Strait forward and no thrills. Fantasitc view overlooking Meiders and Fulpmes. Recommended as a ok place to take a break and relax.

Thank Finn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fritz H, Inhaber at Elferhuette Wanderzentrum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018
Google Translation

Danke für den Besuch und den lieben Eintrag.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elferhuette Wanderzentrum also viewed

Neustift im Stubaital, Tirol
Neustift im Stubaital, Tirol
 
Neustift im Stubaital, Tirol
Neustift im Stubaital, Tirol
 
Neustift im Stubaital, Tirol
Neustift im Stubaital, Tirol
 

Been to Elferhuette Wanderzentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing