We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Frangipani house

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
carmel558
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 21 January 2018 for a stay in November 2017

What a delightful house. Met all our needs.
Set in paddy fields surrounded by jungle.
The birdlife is incredible,bring your binoculars!
Ranil,the house manager ensured our 4 night stay was special,suggested places to visit and cooked us amazing meals.
Great house,lovely setting.
Highly recommend a visit

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2018
Thanks very much for your comments Carmel it was great to hear that you had enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Read this listing closely!”
Reviewed 19 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We arrived anticipating a wonderful 4 night stay. It was after dark, all the lights were on and there are no screens or glass in the windows- that is apparently what Plantation style means. The house was full of mosquitos and other bugs, there is no air-conditioning. Ranil told us that one bathroom "wasn't working", but he would fix it in the morning. I never figured out what the problem was, but the bathroom smelled like a sewer, so the adjacent bedroom was not inhabitable. One person went to town to find a room, the rest of us plugged the holes in the mosquito netting with toilet paper and tried to sleep. We discovered in the morning that the only shower with hot water was in the unusable bathroom. One shower was outdoors and when we attempted to use it, the water came out the handle, not the showerhead. After removing the spiderwebs from the third shower with the broom we found laying out the front door, we were able to take cold showers. We waited for Ranil to come cook breakfast at 8, he arrived at 9:30. The breakfast was delicious! By this time we had found other accommodations nearby at a fraction of the price. Our guide overheard Ranil telling someone that the bathroom had been that way for days. The yard had debris scattered about. The great room had two potted plants and one chair in it. I contacted the owner about the unacceptable state of her rental and requested a refund. She replied that Ranil said everything was fine. I requested a refund a second time and she never replied.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2018
I was very sorry to hear that the house had not met your expectations. I have discussed the issues you raised with Ranil my house keeper. He assured me that the problem with the bathroom had been addressed. The problem had been caused by recent heavy rains, common in Sri Lanka, as are mosquitoes and bugs. However, I do appreciate your comments, as without feedback from guests I would not be able to improve standards. I was disappointed to learn that you had made the decision to leave early and then request a refund. As per TripAdvisor policy, refunds are given when guests experience no access to the property. As the house was available and habitable and you chose to leave, a refund will not be granted on this occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lquig66
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

On arriving at frangipani house, I knew I had made the right choice. The house is well appointed and fully equipped with everything I needed for my stay. I received a very warm welcome from house mananger Ranil and Bobby the dog!
The house looks out onto the paddy fields, and is only a 10minute tuk tuk ride to the town of fort galle and unawatana beach.
If you want a relaxing holiday in peaceful surroundings but close to the town and beaches this is the place for you.
Would highly recommend it and looking forward to my return visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Thanks very much for your positive feedback Lorna, I will pass on your compliments to Ranil. Please visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaraER R
Doha, Qatar
1 review
“Great time in a lovely house”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We were two families with young children who shared the entire house. The house was perfect for our needs with comfortable beds and ensuite bathrooms. The decoration was in keeping to its surroundings and there were plenty of spaces to relax or run around whilst watching the peacocks in the paddy fields below.
Ranil looked after us during our stay and cooked for us every night. The food was delicious and we looked forward to our fresh fruit breakfasts and our Sri Lankan dinners. He even bought us hoppers on request for the kids. He arranged our tuk tuks for the beach trips and recommended a great surfing place for the kids to try out proper surf boards.
It was a lovely week as the house is well located and this means Galle, beaches, turtles, spice gardens are all within easy reach but in the evening you can return home to peace and quiet.
Thanks so much for a lovely stay. The kids miss Ranil and Bobby, the German Shepherd who went on evening walks with us every day, a lot. Thanks Ranil for making my birthday special with the yummy cake and lovely flowers.
It's a thumbs up from all of us. We will be back and telling everyone about Frangipani house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: decor, host, location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thanks so much for your positive feedback and kind comments Kara. It was great to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your satisfaction. I will certainly pass on your compliments to Ranil. We would love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahJ946...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Return visit - just as we remembered!!”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We first found Frangipani House and Ranil on our first trip to Sri Lanka a year ago. Because we had such a great stay we returned on our subsequent visit. It was as we remembered but better. Ranil is a brilliant host - will organise a tuk tuk if you need it, take you shopping for your food (choosing your fish and vegetables from the market is so much better than the supermarket), cook for you, and generally take care of everything. He also organised our trip to Yala, and suggested accomodation - so helpful. I'm so pleased we returned and have seen the improvements to the villa - and when the swimming pool is complete it'll be even better. Thank you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ranil!!
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your positive feedback Sarah and your kind comments. I will pass on your compliments to Ranil.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing