We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Fabian K

Very bad !!!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Mar 2024
The worst hotel experience I have ever had in Sri Lanka !!! The accommodation was in very bad condition. Our room was very very dirty and moreover the air conditioning was broken. The restaurant is just disgusting. Finally we left after 1 night and did not get any refund. The price for the hotel is just ridiculous. 5 stars ?!? No it’s maximum 1 star or less 👎🏼👎🏼
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 322
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 175
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 521
0.5 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 935
R 1 956
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 242
  • ZenHotels.com
0.9 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 563
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 749
  • Trip.com
0.9 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 752
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 127
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 784
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 978
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 869
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 534
0.8 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 630
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 251
  • Trip.com
1.1 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Beachfront
The Elephant Pool at the Flower Garden Hotel
R 1 187
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 191
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 191
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Levels Unawatuna
Pool
Restaurant
R 684
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 684
  • eDreams
    R 684
1.3 km from Levels Unawatuna
Beachfront
Restaurant
Beach front View  Peacock Hotel Unawatuna Srilanka
R 828
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 828
  • eDreams
    R 828
  • Expedia.com
1.4 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 776
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 575
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 768
0.8 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Unawatuna
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
55
8
5
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
8
5
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jungle beach galle fort suite room a minute tuk tuk ride we loved our stay sri lankan breakfast boutique hotel netflix luxury jacuzzi maintenance toilet tv
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2024

The photos on the website are dated and prove that you can polish a turd!!

We were due to stay for 4 nights over the New Year but left after the first.

Plaster had come off the walls, the shower was filthy and although we had a view over the bay towards Galle, this was the only plus.

This was in the deluxe/superior suite at the top of the hotel.

When we left we were pushed out of the door.

Please do not waste your money on this place when there are so many other decent places around.

Room tip: We had a very early breakfast and asked for a packed breakfast. Its consisted of a banana, 1 slice of toast and a boiled egg!!
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2024 via mobile

When we arrived, were very disappointed to find the hotel very run down and in disrepair. The website is very out dated as are the reviews. The food was appalling. We pre ordered a break fast to go whale watching. One for us and our driver. Our driver was appalled also. ( 1 piece of toast, 1 egg and 1 destroyed banana). We asked out your operator to move us to an alternative which they agreed to. levels refused to give a refund for the days we did not use. I do not recommend you stay here. It is not worth the money or your heartache when you get there! (No lifts and the staff main when they carry your bag up to your room)

Room tip: Avoid this hotel altogether
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 304penelopet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2023

A little gem of a hotel, close to Unawatuna and Galle and within walking distance of Jungle Beach. Super-friendly staff always greeting you with a smile, large rooms, cosy pool area with sun beds in the shade. Lovely breakfast and good dinners. Only minus was long waiting times at dinner - maybe time for a smaller menu? We’ll definitely recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2023

Very nice area, the beach is very close. Feels quite local. Very comfy beds and nice pool area. The staff were incredibly sweet and always helpful and kind. The restaurant has nice food but we sometimes had to wait a long time for it. Lovely breakfast though!

Also the bathrooms were maybe not the best but still ok!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jet13265437109
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2023 via mobile

The website is very misleading as the hotel has become very outdated and is certainly not 4 star as the website suggests. Its no longer a modern and elegant boutique hotel but i can see that it once was.

The hotel are clearly struggling financially, the bathrooms are very tired and they do not offer services like laundry or spa as advertised. The bath is unusable as its very dirty and there is a leak when turned on. Wifi connection is probably the worst we have had in Sri lanka and there doesnt seem to be any English speaking TV channels. The staff try but are not experienced enough to provide a 4 star service so some things are left lacking. Cheaper products are used at breakfast and you cannot have a juice if you have fruit for example.

Also be aware that the hotel is a bit noisy at night from the staff running around and some guests have to walk past your window to get to their door (which they can see through!!). Our room was a good size and the hotel has a view is nice. The hotel is up a very steep hill so tuk tuk / transport required into the main town (tuk tuks do struggle a bit getting up the hill).

Overall very disappointing for the high price and false advertising on the website which sets the wrong expectations (for westerners particularly).

Room tip: Lower your expectations
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TavishGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews