We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TavishGirl
East Sussex

False advertising and high price

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Dec 2023via mobile
The website is very misleading as the hotel has become very outdated and is certainly not 4 star as the website suggests. Its no longer a modern and elegant boutique hotel but i can see that it once was.

The hotel are clearly struggling financially, the bathrooms are very tired and they do not offer services like laundry or spa as advertised. The bath is unusable as its very dirty and there is a leak when turned on. Wifi connection is probably the worst we have had in Sri lanka and there doesnt seem to be any English speaking TV channels. The staff try but are not experienced enough to provide a 4 star service so some things are left lacking. Cheaper products are used at breakfast and you cannot have a juice if you have fruit for example.

Also be aware that the hotel is a bit noisy at night from the staff running around and some guests have to walk past your window to get to their door (which they can see through!!). Our room was a good size and the hotel has a view is nice. The hotel is up a very steep hill so tuk tuk / transport required into the main town (tuk tuks do struggle a bit getting up the hill).

Overall very disappointing for the high price and false advertising on the website which sets the wrong expectations (for westerners particularly).
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Lower your expectations
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 246
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 349
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 053
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 053
1.1 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 171
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 171
1.9 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 374
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.8 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 251
R 4 079
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
2.5 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Elephant Pool at the Flower Garden Hotel
R 1 185
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 185
1.0 km from Levels Unawatuna
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 076
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 393
0.8 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 779
  • eDreams
3.0 km from Levels Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Unawatuna
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
55
8
5
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
8
5
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jungle beach galle fort suite room a minute tuk tuk ride we loved our stay sri lankan breakfast boutique hotel netflix luxury jacuzzi maintenance toilet tv
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2023

The photos are very outdated and do not match the current condition of the rooms or public areas of the hotel. It is obvious that several years ago it was a very modern, chic, and comfortable place to stay, but renovations and updates are desperately needed.

Our suite had a large bathtub that was too dirty to use, the lock/keys for our door would regularly get stuck and be difficult to open or lock, the cabanas surrounding the pool had dirty linens, our bathroom sink had a leak and the bathroom had a serious ant problem. The worst problem was the air conditioner which stopped working 5 times during our 4-day stay making it difficult to sleep or relax in our room. Again, all of these issues happened in our suite which was supposed to be the best or one of the best rooms at the property.

On the positive side, the staff was great and tried to accommodate us the best they could. Every time the air conditioner broke someone would come to fix it, but the fix would only last a short time before the AC unit broke again. The staff in the restaurant were great, very attentive and the food was good. We can’t say anything negative about the staff, they were very helpful to us, but the hotel needs to do some renovations/updates to be rated as highly as they are on and the photos on the website are very misleading

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kalani w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2023

Went with the whole family and had a great time! Staff are the kindest and most amazing people. The food was absolutely worth it plus there was a beautiful view from every room. Amazing hotel and amazing people. Definitely worth the trip!

Room tip: Try the Sri Lanka food is possible! Some of the best meals I’ve had!
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2023

Best in the town. Proving a cozy atmosphere that made us feel right at home. Hotel staff was outstanding. Highly recommend this place to anyone looking for comfortable welcoming and centrally located accommodation.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Dilina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2023

Booked this venue for a one night stay. We booked a Deluxe room and surprisingly they offered an upgrade for us to their Suite room. Thanks a lot for that. Check-in process was quick and easy. The suit room was nice with all amenities, facing sea side and pool.

Ordered some Ala-carte dishes and it was also very nice and well presented. The famous Galle jungle beach is about 10-15 minutes away from this property. Pool area is also quite nice. Staff is attentive. That's the goods.

I would like to suggest some improvements as well. For the price tag, we felt that the food portions were not enough even though it it super delicious. Please consider that. Also the privacy is a concern when it comes to suit rooms because the common balcony area continues up the rooms and a maintenance room is also located nearby. The beautiful view has no value if we have to put down the curtains/shades down every time a person walking near the room. Not pointing fingers but taking it out for improvements.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kasunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2023 via mobile

Fantastic views and location. Quiet in the morning and you get a nice breeze. Comfortable rooms and friendly service, good food and excellent hideout for people to get away from the city.

Make sure you get the special BBQ arranged and if you know Kevin, you will get an excellent service, over and above the usual.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Anton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews