We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Linda J
Shanklin, United Kingdom

Excellent small hotel in stunning surroundings.

Review of Villa Baywatch
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Feb 2024
The Villa Baywatch is a very small hotel set in the most spectacular gardens. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and an ensuite with shower. They are equipped with tea & coffee making facilities and a fridge. The area is very quiet, a short walk to Jungle Beach and a tuktuk ride to Unawatatuna. There is also a small but essential swimming pool. The staff are lovely and the breakfast is excellent. There's a very small restaurant close by, Speak to Anushka for tuktuk rides. We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. This is somewhere I'll remember for all the right reasons.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: The walk to Jungle Beach is very uneven, so a good pair of sandals is essential. Spend some time...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 870
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Villa Baywatch
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 394
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Villa Baywatch
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 529
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Villa Baywatch
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 774
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Villa Baywatch
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Elephant Pool at the Flower Garden Hotel
R 1 187
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 187
1.1 km from Villa Baywatch
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 511
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Villa Baywatch
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 3 084
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 372
0.8 km from Villa Baywatch
Free Wifi
Free parking
Nor Lanka Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 510
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Villa Baywatch
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 564
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Villa Baywatch
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 722
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from Villa Baywatch
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Unawatuna
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
32
11
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
32
11
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2021 via mobile

Villa Baywatch has a very chilled and calming atmosphere which is the perfect environment to relax. The freshly prepared food was excellent as well!

Plenty of good views of the sea and the Galle town. The jungle beach is a short walk away and a trekking path leads to Unawatuna beach.

Our hosts were very warm and made us feel at home. It is a great place to get away and relax.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Escape47777830159
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2019

Villa Baywatch is located in the the perfect setting - on the legendary Rumassala hillock - with a spectacular 180 degree view of the ocean and a constant, soothing breeze. The villa itself has a homely ambiance with great service and food. The ensuite rooms are large, well appointed and very comfortable. A short trek down the hill takes you to the splendid Jungle Beach, perfect for swimming and snorkelling.

It's a true hidden gem in Galle. My two night stay was luxurious, peaceful and adventurous. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality, Villa Baywatch.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SharminiDNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VillaBaywatch, Owner at Villa Baywatch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2019

Thank you madam for your kind words. Such words inspire us to provide a better service to our guests. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2019

The initial from the Villa is amazing. The staff were amazing and also Foods had an authentic Srilankan taste.The beach is a must travel destination in that area. Will love to go again. Thank You Baywatch

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank PVikki_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VillaBaywatch, Owner at Villa Baywatch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2019

Thank you sir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2019

I had the opportunity to stay in this beautiful place, fabulous food, friendly owner and excellent staff. Could recommend this for a weekend getaway! Walking distance to a beautiful Jungle beach! Sea view balcony and the swimming pool is so relaxing!

Room tip: Sea view balcony
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HashendraF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VillaBaywatch, Owner at Villa Baywatch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2019

Thank you very much sir for expressing your experience of our villa through a review which will no doubt help us to promote ourselves. Hope that you could visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019

A few friends and I had the opportunity to stay one night at this beautiful place. From the moment we stepped in we were all mesmerised by the views it offered. The rooms all colour coded were comfortably furnished. One room upstairs had the luxury of a spacious balcony overlooking the bay. The highlight of the place is the patio with overhanging creepers with a stunning view of the bay and the Galle city in the distance. A short walk down takes you to the famous Jungle Beach with a sandy coves and shady trees. The staff was extremely courteous and attended to our every need with a smile. We had a super dinner of prawns, calamary and baked fish with roasted potatoes and corn cobs and a typical Sri Lankan breakfast of string hoppers, spicy pol sambol and chicken curry. A quick visit to the sea and then lazed in the pool followed by Lunch which was a super crab curry with rice and accompaniments. One night was too short to stay and have plans to visit again for more. All in all it was a superb break and a welcome de-stress for us all.

Room tip: Upstair room with the balcony gives a stunning view of the bay. Downstairs are 2 interconnecting rooms ideal for a family.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siraj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VillaBaywatch, Owner at Villa Baywatch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2019

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your detailed review. It is very nice to see our beloved guests leave our villa with a smile of content. Your motivational words encourage and motivate us to perform better. We hope you would have time to visit us again. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews