We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic place to stay. Read on...”
other travellers have booked this property
Dusk at Moonwater and the fireflies are out!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dusk at Moonwater and the fireflies are out!
Moonwater House Welcome to Moonwater!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Dusk at Moonwater and the fireflies are out!
Moonwater House
Welcome to Moonwater!
The layout of Moonwater (for more information go to  Facebook Moonwater54
Wijaya Beach - 5 mins away
The gorgeous sunset at Unawatuna Beach - 5 mins from Moonwater
5 Bedrooms, sleeps 10 very comfortably
Relax by the Moonwater Pool
Welcome to Moonwater!  De-stress, disconnect and re-connect with the things that matter...
Double Bedroom
The view from inside the Moonwater Yoga Shala
The Moonwater Staff Team are on hand 24/7
Review August 2016
Moonwater Seafood BBQ by the pool
Twin bedroom
Looking for Monkeys!
Moonwater House
Fully equipped kitchen
The Moonwater Pool under the banana and king coconut trees.
King Coconut reflection on the pool
Welcome to Moonwater - your tropical home from home in beautiful Sri Lanka
The big Buddha fountain by the yoga pavilion
The Morning Room next to the kitchen, over looking the pool and outside entertaining area.
Moonwater Bananas!
Mrs Chandrani, our Housekeeper extraordinaire!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DrJamesTi...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A fantastic place to stay. Read on...”
Reviewed 14 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

It is difficult in words to summarise how great a week we had in February 2018 at Moonwater 54.

The villa
House itself is fantastic private villa with lovely rooms, living spaces, pool and surroundings. The staff who live there are amazing, nothing is too much for them, from preparing breakfast including European and local dishes each morning. The staff can also prepared and cook evening meals such as Sri Lankan curries and amazing seafood BBQs. They will also clean and prepare your room each day as well as in the evening. They are also always on hand to arrange any trips, transfers or local tuk tuks/taxis to any of the many local beaches. I cannot speak highly enough of them.

The area
The area itself is a mixture of town, coastline and jungle with many lovely bars and restaurants within a few minutes of the villa. There are 3 lovely beaches to choose from and a particular highlight is the turtle beach where you can hire a snorkel and head out into the natural warm sea water pool to see fish and giant wild turtles. Amazing. Further afield a short 20 minute taxi will take you to weligama also known as ‘surfers paradise’ where there are more beaches and culture to explore. At the villa you are only 15 mins by Tuk Tuk from Galle which is worth a visit. There is an old hospital converted into bars and restaurants as well as a fort, lighthouse and many small streets of shops to explore.

All in all an amazing place to stay and spend time with friends and family. I will definitely be heading back in the future!

Dr James Tinning
Manchester, UK

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
britishco...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, relaxing house for family of 10”
Reviewed 27 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

A family of 10, of various ages, had a wonderful time over Christmas at Moonwater.
Our welcome was extremely warm, the staff made us feel so at home.
The house is comfortable with plenty of room to be together--or to escape!
We had extremely tasty breakfasts and dinners provided and cooked by the staff---a perfect introduction to Sri Lanka cooking. We ate outside in the garden most of the time. The whole experience was lovely.
Dilusha, the property manger, managed very capable staff. Cooking, cleaning, calling tuc-tucs, etc. were all done efficiently and without fuss. They were particularly kind and considerate to the children (5yrs to 10yrs).
The pool was a great success--and the monkeys added interest and excitement.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastender...
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dr”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this villa more than 4 months prior to a stay and all confirmed. Rudely emailed two months later, an automated request to change our dates to a week later. Funnily enough, when you've booked a trip for 8 people and purchased flights, your dates are pretty fixed and can't be changed! Turns out they already had a booking and hadn't realised?! But when they notified us, there was only two months to go and given it was over a busy holiday period it has been a huge AND expensive challenge to find an alternative as most of the villas have been booked in the mean time.
Unprofessional and disorganised - be wary of booking this villa. Ended up having to spend more money, could have been avoided if they had known what bookings they had and I had booked elsewhere in good time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2017
Thank you for providing feedback about your experience during the booking process to stay at Moonwater.

We were sorry that a genuine oversight had been made and had contacted you immediately the double-booking was identified. The automated response came directly from AirBnB as soon as we notified them as we had not had a double booking before; we were actually in the process of writing directly to you to explain the situation and to offer you the following week as an alternative, with a 50% discount on the total cost of the holiday, by way of apologising for the oversight. We really are not that heartless and are always professional and courteous with our guests, doing what we can to help assist with personal requests and holiday details prior to arrival. In your case, it was a genuine mistake which we sincerely apologised for and offered you the best alternative solution we could along with a generous discount for the inconvenience caused. We are human, mistakes happen and yet we continue to do the very best we can, working hard to ensure that all of our guests continue to have a wonderful time at Moonwater.

We do respect your comments and will continue to maintain the highest standards during the booking process.

With best wishes,

Team Moonwater.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bekefiant...
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home is not just a slogan”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Two families: 4 adults with 3 children: age 2, 3 and 4 stayed for 10 days in the villa. We have not used serviced villas before but regularly stayed in various types of resorts so we were not sure how it would work out. I can say that Moonwater was the perfect place for us as it provided almost everything we needed with full intimacy. The location of the villa worked well for us. It is really a 5-6 min tuk-tuk ride from the beaches and around 15 mins from Galle. The villa could have accommodated 2-4 more people comfortably. The space in the villa is generous, the interior is beautiful. It is not a modern luxury building but an authentic house with harmonious design. The pool was also perfect: just the right size and depth. Having the breakfasts outside in the mornings was fantastic!
If you read some older reviews there are some mentions of not enough water pressure or fridge capacity. I can say that we did not experience any problems with these, probably they have been upgraded in the meantime. The hygiene of the pool is taken care of by professionals, every 2nd day.
Having staff on site was great. Chandrani and her husband were always available but at the same time invisible and never disturbing. Their commitment and attitude to work and their genuine, warm personalities were something we rarely experienced before. They kept the house safe and clean, as mosquito free as possible, prepared the breakfasts and helped with everything. Dear Both, thank you for taking care of us so well!
As most people with small kids: you relax best if the kids enjoy themselves. Again, the villa was a great hit with our small ones: big enough to have fun and run around but small enough to always keep an eye on them. The monkeys on the trees were a special hit.
If I was to find points for improvement: we did not use the on-site chef service as we found the price uncompetitive vs the restaurants in the beach. The other one is that the small rain canals in the garden could have some sort of cover to avoid ankle injuries. We luckily did not have any but our smallest one stepped into them a few times.
All in all, we had an exceptional time in Moonwater and we do hope to come back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely words and your recommendation. We are happy that you enjoyed the best that Moonwater has to offer and would be delighted to welcome you all back anytime! It is our genuine intention that all of our guests experience the peace and tranquillity that Moonwater offers and that your stay with us is as relaxing as possible; the team at Moonwater work hard to ensure that happens and we shall indeed pass on your best wishes. We look forward to welcoming you all once again to your Sri Lankan tropical 'home from home.
Best wishes,
The Moonwater Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan S
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice tucked away villa”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is a lovely retreat to spend some time in while exploring Galle and the surrounding area.
The rooms are great and each room has AC but the main living space only has fans due to the open nature of the space.
The staff at the hotel are really nice and friendly. They were very playful with out 2 year old which is always very appreciated.
The food was OK. Not the best and not the worst. Considering we didn't spend a ton of time at the villa there was no issue with this. After all you are a tuck tuck away from plenty of places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Hello Bryan, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences whilst staying at Moonwater. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and would welcome you back at any time. Best wishes, The Moonwater Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing