We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thank you so much”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Olu villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front terrasse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
front terrasse
part of the living room seen from the backyard door
details
details bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Corinne B
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank you so much”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Olu Villa for 5 nights and we just loved everything there. the minute we arrived we felt that we were at home and the house gardens everything there was just special waiting for us was Saraht and his wife and daughter ,they made us feel so welcome offering us drinks ans flowers. The house is just beautifully decorated very spacious and spotlessly clean. flowers everywhere, fruit basket fresh linnen towels cooking facilities you really have everything you need to feel at home.the gardens are perfect to relax and watch birds bats monkeys squirels ...the house is perfectly situated to go and explore Galle or go to the beah . Plenty of lovely restaurant arounds and any help you might want Nina the owner is there to help responding very quickly to any questions we had by email. Saraht her father in law comes every day to water the garden and his there to help too. Neron his son has a travel company and can organise trips airport pick up or just TukTuk rides to go to the beach or Galle. Thank you so so much Nina and all the family to make our stay so special I hope we come back to Olu Villa one day. Ben Corinne and Manon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and gardens
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
hello,

Thank you for a great review:) i really hope you come and stay with us again in the future! I will send you pictures of the new houses when they are finished. I also hope you had a great vacation travelling around Sri Lanka and fell in love with it just like i have:)

nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanneke K
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Welcome home”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Olu Villa the last 4 days of our 21 one day trip through Sri Lanka. It was like coming home. The house is tastefully decorated. The inlaws were more than welcoming and Galle (Unawatuna) is gorgeous. Sitting in the garden we saw monkeys and squirrel and beautiful butterflies. They created a little oases of rest! Oh and the mother in law cooked 6 different curries for us and now we know we're the saying 'keep calm and curry on' comes from. It was absolutely perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Hello Hanneke,

Thank you for your great review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. If you ever comeback let me know as we have a discount for repeat costumers:)

best regards,

nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subaquana...
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
“One of the true highlights of our holiday”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Everything about our short stay at Olu Villa was perfect. Such as the great welcome and being looked after by Sarath and his lovely family. The amazing location, gardens, local wildlife (monkeys in the trees!) and the villa itself. We have promised to go back and hope there will be some availability in a year's time! Our 3-year-old son still talks about Sarath and we all have some fantastic memories. What a shame we could only manage three nights here. Make sure to order the homecooked curries. It will be the best decision of your holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We all had such an amazing time here, and would recommend it to everyone. The family took care of us when we needed it, they came and cooked us delicious meals on the days we didn't feel like going out, took care of any minor issue or question, and had transport for us whenever we needed it. My wife and I rented a scooter for the days we were there and were able to get to the beach in about 5 minutes, or drive anywhere else. There are plenty of great restaurants and beaches all around. It's a great location to get to downtown Gaul to see the ramparts and the lighthouse. Our friends have an 18mo old, and he was completely safe to roam the property, and Sarath was like a great uncle to him. We couldn't have been happier with our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and nature around us.
Liked least: Not on the beach.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonb12340
Stebbing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This is a beautiful and peaceful villa.”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful and peaceful villa set in a quiet area and lovely gardens.
The house is very well equipped, spacious and comfortable, which is perfect for the climate. It is near the beach, Galle, and very good restaurants.
The host family kept the villa clean and were a great source of local information, also provided one of the best Sri Lankan meals we ate cooked by the host family themselves - a real treat!
The whole family, including 2 girls (19 and 16) loved the experience, did not want to leave and would come back - need I say more!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design and layout
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing