We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
RaspberryBon89
London, United Kingdom

Lovely family trip, although the beach wasn't the best

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 09 May 2024via mobile
Lovely little hotel. The stars here were the attentive, friendly and accommodating staff. They were lovely! The food was quite nice too, but sometimes the portions were a bit too big and food went to waste. Since the hotel is small, there arent anh buffets, but a la carte meals and set menus.

The pool was clean, and our 4 year old son had a lovely time in it. The whole hotel needs a mild refurbish, with replacing bits in the bathrooms and dining areas. The only con is the lack of beach area. Perhaps because the hotel is located in a bay, the tiny strip of sand was dirty and not child friendly. However, the sandy area near the sun beds made up for this. Overall, a lovely, relaxed stay. I would recommend this hotel more to solo, couple, and adult travellers, although small families will enjoy a few days too! Make sure to look out for Spicy and Chai- the hotels resident dogs, if you are a dog lover.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Better for solo, couple and adult travellers, due to lack of space and beach facilities.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vinodh de silva, Owner at CoCoBay Unawatuna, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and wish you all a warm welcome back to the COCO BAY.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 395
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.0 km from CoCoBay Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 529
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from CoCoBay Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Elephant Pool at the Flower Garden Hotel
R 1 188
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 188
1.6 km from CoCoBay Unawatuna
Pool
Restaurant
R 1 775
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from CoCoBay Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 499
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from CoCoBay Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 3 084
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 354
1.9 km from CoCoBay Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 576
  • Algotels
2.0 km from CoCoBay Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
Nor Lanka Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 500
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from CoCoBay Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 519
  • Priceline
2.6 km from CoCoBay Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 634
  • Hotels.com
3.2 km from CoCoBay Unawatuna
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Unawatuna
Reviews (1 227)
Filter reviews
1 228 results
Traveller rating
952
208
48
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
952
208
48
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coco bay private beach galle fort aqua romance room sri lanka tuk tuk jacuzzi bath set menu boutique hotel our honeymoon small hotel every evening restaurant staff seafood breakfast and dinner stayed here for nights sea view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1 228 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2024

I spent one night in this beach front hotel, I am really satisfied with their service. hotel is conveniently located closer to the southern highway Pinnaduwa exit and the staff was very good. rooms were spacious and my two kids loved it. overall a pleasant experience. recommended. will be surely going back.

Room tip: closer to the highway exit.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 380amilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vinodh de silva, Owner at CoCoBay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are delighted your family enjoyed your stay with us and wish you all a warm welcome back to the COCO BAY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2024

The hotel has the best beach and the best kitchen around Unawatuna and Galle. If you want to have a nice dinner, it doesn't make much sense to search for another place.

It's a very quiet place. Staff here is super friendly. Me and my wife wanted to have a little walk under a tropical rain one evening and a very nice lady gave us her own umbrella. Everybody likes to crack some jokes.

You can go walking both to Galle (through Dewata beach) or to Unawatuna (through jungle road). Highly recommend visiting Roomassala lover's palace. If you want to visit other places, it's very easy to catch a tuktuk near the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Мачульскис С
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vinodh de silva, Owner at CoCoBay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are delighted you both enjoyed your stay and wish you a warm welcome back to the COCO BAY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2024 via mobile

This is my 5th visit in 3 years, love the place, the atmosphere, the food and the service. From the time you arrive at the front desk until you check out, you are treated with importance. The rooms are well pointed, the staff courteous. The food is prepared to suit your pallet

Room tip: Best avoid the rainy seasons, as the hotel is located on a bay, the weather can get a bit dicey during the monsoon period
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rameshjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vinodh de silva, Owner at CoCoBay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It is always a pleasure to host you and your friends at the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you all back to COCO BAY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2024

We had an amazing time at Cocobay!

The room was quite spacious and clean and had a nice balcony with a good seaview. The bathroom was also well maintained and clean. The jacuzzi was a nice addition to relax in the evening.

The hotel is placed right on the beachfront where the sea is at waist level for about a 100m. It's very beautiful and a great experience.

The restaurant has indoor and outdoor dining (outdoor is especially nice for dinner, with the sounds of the sea). The variety of food in the set menu was exceptional and each dish was delicious 😋. The portion sizes are quite large as well. All the restaurant staff were very polite and attentive.
Special thanks to Upul for truly exceptional service and hospitality.

Would definitely recommend Cocobay to anyone and hope to stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhagya_k_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vinodh de silva, Owner at CoCoBay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and wish you all a warm welcome back to the COCO BAY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2024

We had a fantastic five days here with three children. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, staff were incredibly friendly and made us all feel really welcome, and the food was excellent. Their curries are seriously good! The staff really couldn't have been more helpful and cheerful- they took time to chat to us and the children. The beach is really clean and a lovely space to play some ball games as well as obviously swimming in the really warm sea! We loved our time and were really sad to leave!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vinodh de silva, Owner at CoCoBay Unawatuna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are delighted your family enjoyed the stay and wish you all a warm welcome back to the COCO BAY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews