We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“There perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shalini Villa

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
126 reviews
Pool
Seating area near pool
Seating area near pool
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Lounge area
Hallway
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 1
Unawatuna Beach
Blowhole near Tengalle
Sunset at Unawatuna
Paddy Fields near Unawatuna
Koggala Lake
Habaraduwa Beach
New Unawatuna Beach
Yoga
Breakfast
Coconuts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 126 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
hannah170...
Reading, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There perfect retreat”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had the most amazing time. The villa is beautiful, we couldn’t believe how big it was- the photos are stunning but in reality it's even bigger and more beautiful!

We loved exploring first thing then it felt like we were coming back to a hidden retreat to relax after.

We were so impressed with the chef- he cooked for us every day and his food was delicious- better than anything we had at any restaurants the rest of the stay. So so good- we had curries each day and he took the time to explain what they were and show us pictures of the vegetables we hadn’t heard of.
But he was much more than a chef- our boys really took a shine to him, our three year old especially kept asking for him to join us on days out and they have been talking about him lots since :-)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandraV46...
Tadworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, idyllic villa in tranquil surroundings”
Reviewed 10 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The villa was beautiful. Inside and out. Monkeys, beautiful birds in the garden, and a cute water monitor one day! The chef is fantastic - you pay only for the ingredients, and the standard of food is amazing, as is the treatment by the staff.

5 mins walk to the beach....and to lots of restaurants, cafes and bars.

The sanctuary spa is excellent! Villa is very close and easy to get to Galle.

The owners were excellent too - pre, post and during our visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UaeMark
UAE
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful well-located villa with pleasant garden, pool and verandah”
Reviewed 25 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed Shalini and the surrounding area so much that we made a return trip in October 2016. Quite simply, it is a great place to kick back and relax. You can do as much or as little as you like. We spent several days simply enjoying the villa and pool while the helpful, accommodating staff did the shopping and prepared the meals we agreed with them. Alison and Geeth provided useful local information ahead of time and made the airport pick-up arrangements. We thoroughly recommend Shalini.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollycwar...
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a place like no other! My 3rd time staying here.The most beautiful surroundings and helpful friendly people I have met.
You feel really able to rest as you take time in the garden, delight in the monkeys and the birds by the pool. A good night sleep in wonderful bedrooms. Feel taken care of by most kind and helpful staff & owners who can't do enough for you.
The opportunity to taste life in an oasis and then step out the door and after a short walk you are at the beach. Enjoy a swim in the amazing ocean & have a meal in a local restaurant. If you have never been before you must and this is the best place to stay in Unawatuna!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We are a family of 7, aged 65 to 2 yrs, and have returned from an amazing 11 day stay at Shalini Villa over the Christmas holidays. The villa was stunning. Each of the three large bedrooms we occupied had ensuite bathrooms and the spacious indoor and outdoor living areas were ideal for relaxing and enjoying the beautiful garden setting. The pool was well maintained and the trees surrounding it attracted birds and animals. The monkeys coming down each day to enjoy scraps of bread delighted all of us especially the grandchildren. Our hosts, Alison and Geeth could not have done more to make our first trip to Sri Lanka and stay in their beautiful villa more enjoyable. The housekeeper and chef, both of whom spoke English, happily helped us with any arrangements for trips we wanted to make or just give us advice on where to go and how much to pay for tuk- tuk fares etc. The chef prepared excellent dishes for us, both breakfast and evening meal with an occasional lunch. We hadn't intended to use his services as much as we did, but his cooking was so good we relished sampling the meals he prepared. He would simply give us the receipt for the ingredients he bought at the market and we paid him daily. The villa was located ten minutes walk to the beach and there were always tuk-tuks at the end of our lane for longer trips into Galle or to nearby beaches. We can't recommend Shalini Villa, our hosts and the beautiful country and its people highly enough. Many thanks Alison and Geeth and we look forward to another memorable stay at Shalini Villa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing