We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shalini Villa

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
128 reviews
Pool
Seating area near pool
Seating area near pool
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Lounge area
Hallway
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 1
Unawatuna Beach
Blowhole near Tengalle
Sunset at Unawatuna
Paddy Fields near Unawatuna
Koggala Lake
Habaraduwa Beach
New Unawatuna Beach
Yoga
Breakfast
Coconuts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 128 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Explorer6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We are a family of 7, aged 65 to 2 yrs, and have returned from an amazing 11 day stay at Shalini Villa over the Christmas holidays. The villa was stunning. Each of the three large bedrooms we occupied had ensuite bathrooms and the spacious indoor and outdoor living areas were ideal for relaxing and enjoying the beautiful garden setting. The pool was well maintained and the trees surrounding it attracted birds and animals. The monkeys coming down each day to enjoy scraps of bread delighted all of us especially the grandchildren. Our hosts, Alison and Geeth could not have done more to make our first trip to Sri Lanka and stay in their beautiful villa more enjoyable. The housekeeper and chef, both of whom spoke English, happily helped us with any arrangements for trips we wanted to make or just give us advice on where to go and how much to pay for tuk- tuk fares etc. The chef prepared excellent dishes for us, both breakfast and evening meal with an occasional lunch. We hadn't intended to use his services as much as we did, but his cooking was so good we relished sampling the meals he prepared. He would simply give us the receipt for the ingredients he bought at the market and we paid him daily. The villa was located ten minutes walk to the beach and there were always tuk-tuks at the end of our lane for longer trips into Galle or to nearby beaches. We can't recommend Shalini Villa, our hosts and the beautiful country and its people highly enough. Many thanks Alison and Geeth and we look forward to another memorable stay at Shalini Villa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangpan
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay close to beach and town”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Great place to stay; a true oasis of tranquility yet only moments from the town and all it's restaurants and beaches

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, the helpful staff,
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lien2103
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay at this villa”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at this villa. Staff were super friendly and helpful and cooked us some nice meals. The beds were super comfortable and the house was spotless clean. All sites was just a small tuktuk drive away such as nice massages at The Sanctuary spa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingHa...
Hawkes Bay
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here with two teenage boys - the villa is really well set up for a family, great indoor outdoor living, very comfortable and spacious. The staff at the villa were really lovely and nothing was a problem to organise for us - we had a cooking class one night which was good fun and we had some really tasty meals cooked for us after a few busy days sightseeing. The villa is really well positioned, close enough to the beach but just tucked away enough so its really private and quite peaceful.
I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were provided with a full fact sheet, which was awesome
Liked least: didnt have a least experience
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionstm
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is the second occasion we have had the pleasure of staying at Shalini Villa. The first was for the birth of our grandson in Sri lanka over 4 years ago. On this second occasion we found the Villa was even better than the first occasion. It has been very well maintained with very comfortable beds. A pool now graces the yard which was fantastic for relaxing with our now 4 1/2 year old grandson. The staff were second to none, did not intrude and willing provided assistance and advice when requested. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this accommodation to anyone that wishes to stay at a clean, well maintained and enjoyable location.

It wsill be our destination the next occasion we visit Sri lanka.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, the pool and the relasing nooks that allowed peace of mind
Liked least: Nothing rally. It was most enjoyable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing