We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place to recuperate and reflect.”
other travellers have booked this property
Push back the 14m of glass sliding doors, allowing the waters of Moreton Bay in
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Push back the 14m of glass sliding doors, allowing the waters of Moreton Bay in
180 degree panoramic views from the open plan rooms The open plan dining/lounge area captures specatcular Moreton Bay views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Push back the 14m of glass sliding doors, allowing the waters of Moreton Bay in
180 degree panoramic views from the open plan rooms
The open plan dining/lounge area captures specatcular Moreton Bay views
Waiter.... a table by the window please
The master bedroom sits on a mezzanine level and has its own private deck and view of the bay
Your private deck off the master bedroom - ideal for a light lunch away from the family
Drift off to sleep in the 2nd bedroom, awaken to a magical vista
Relax on the back deck with a good book
Watch the yachts and boats pass by
From the foreshore, across the bay and to the mountains beyond.... the view goes on
Panorama Shot taken from the deck at Sunset Waters
A local yacht is moored for the evening
Watch the setting sun..... while relaxing on the deck
Serenity over the mainland
The ever-changing colours of the night sky
Even on a rainy night.... the view from the deck at sunset, is still spectacular
Sunset Waters from the street
A delightful tropical garden to enjoy
The garden at Sunset Waters
Dalpura, Macleay's sandy swimming beach; ideal for the family
Fishing at Daplura Beach at sunset
Kayaks and boats - a typical day on Moreton Bay
Sunset Waters is the pot of gold at the rainbow's end
A local barge transports cars to and from Macelay, as well as the other Southern Moreton Bay Islands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Macleay Island, Redland City, Brisbane Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rosyrambl...
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A place to recuperate and reflect.”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in January 2012

A great trip by ferry to the island, very unusual. Great location on the island and wonderful views to wake up to.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Water and views. Peace and quieet
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2014
Hi Celie,
I remember that you stayed at Sunset Waters a few years ago, taking your mum away for the weekend... how fantastic! I'm truly glad that you enjoyed your time with her and thanks for your review of our holiday home. We'd love to welcome you back, we've had some truly spectacular sunsets recently .... and know that you would love them too. Deb
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chitaqua
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A "Layback" Experience”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Our QLD visit was prompted by the arrival of our second grandchild. After the first week of intense "grand-parenting", we opted to spend the second week of our QLD visit at "Sunset Waters" on Macleay Island. Organising the Barge there and back was straight forward although in my opinion pricy, especially if you intend going on and off the island more than once during your stay. The owners of Sunset Waters were very helpful and comprehensive in details regarding the rental and associated activity. Any questions or concerns were dealt with efficiently and thoroughly. Strong on personal service. Upon arrival our liaison met us at the door and showed us the rental highlighting the Bistro Voucher and bottle of wine which were greatly appreciated as part of the package. It was a lovely location and we were both suitably impressed. The Rental was modern, clean, tastefully appointed, with great views. The Kitchen was supplied with Coffee and Tea basics to get past the first couple of days....A longer stay will necessitate a visit to the island stores and bakeries. We found these to be okay but not outstanding especially in the fresh fruit and veg lines. Comfortable beds and seats, but if as "senior citizens" I was to offer a recommendation I would consider the installation of some "grab rails" in the shower areas as the tiled floors could prove slippery if careless or if you have issues with balance. It was a relaxed week with friendly islanders with a highlight being the meals we had at the RSL Bistro as recommend by our hosts. The only thing we did not enjoy was the humidity on the hotter days as we were unaccustomed to it especially when wanting to sit outside in the afternoons. Its all to do with the timing of the visit I guess. For the other "half", it appears she was more susceptible to attracting Bugs that "nipped" despite taking all suggested preventions whilst I escaped relatively unscathed. That aside I have no problem in recommending this rental if looking for a holiday to chill out.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Customer Service, Ambience, RSL Bistro, Friendly Islanders
Liked least: Humidity on hot days, and being unable to sit outside at sunset due to biting insects despite preventative measures.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Hi Big Ted,
Congratulations again on the arrival of your new grandchild and after a week of intensive grand parenting, I'm sure the tranquility of Macleay was "just what you needed".
It's unfortunate that the weather was extremely hot and humid while you stayed, but guests have found by turning the ceiling fans on, opening the louvre windows and sliding back the glass stacker doors (keeping the fly screens closed), then the island breezes help cool the place rapidly... of course, the air conditioner is also effective should you require it. Unfortunately, February is always a hot, humid month in Qld.
Thanks for the suggestion re the grab rails in the shower; its a pity that you didn't mention this to our housekeeper Elaine, as she would have offered you a large rubber mat for the shower base. We don't leave this permanently in the shower; but I will make a note in the Guests Compendium at Sunset Waters, so if any other guests are worried about slipping; they can get the mat out of the linen cupboard and pop it in the shower.... thanks for pointing this out.
The food at Club Macleay is wonderful and I'm pleased you enjoyed the voucher we gave you, to dine there.
In closing, thanks for your kind words about the week you spent at Sunset Waters.. we are glad you enjoyed the ambiance, the views, the house itself and the locals... we would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimrater
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Welcome Home”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Sunset Waters deserves a top rating - the owners have thought of absolutely everything to make your stay special. From the first contact you are sent copious notes about the property, directions and things to do on the island, these are just a few of the subjects covered. We didn't have good weather so we were grateful to be comfortable and have a good selection of books and games to entertain us. Being an island of mangrove forests, mosquitos are a problem but once again the owners are aware of your needs and supply candles etc. In between the squalls we managed to have a visit to Pat's park which is a lovely little beach area with spotless barbeques - we had the folding chairs provided from the house. We live on acreage so it was strange to hear the neighbours chatting on their decks next door, fortunately the Sunset Waters deck is private and has the added bonus of a seat down at the water's edge. Macleay Island is reached by car or people ferry which takes 40 minutes from Redland Bay, lots of residents commute each day from there and also Island hop around Moreton Bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The House
Liked least: The Island
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2013
Hi Helen,
It was lovely to hear back from you re your stay at Sunset Waters.
Im sorry that the weather was unpleasant, however sometimes its a chance to unwind and relax for a few days. You said you enjoyed the CD's games, books etc also making good use of the folding chairs stored in our holiday home, taking them to Pat's Park for a picnic.
Im glad you turned the "negative" of the bad weather, into a "positive"; and enjoyed your few days of R & R.
I truly hope that you managed to capture a few fabulous sunsets from the back deck at Sunset Waters! Thanks also for posting your thoughts on the Trip Advisor website.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 10 February 2012 for a stay in November 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing