We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute dream getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pipers Cottage

Cosy cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy cottage
Hot tub! Large garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Cosy cottage
Hot tub!
Large garden
Breathtaking view
Bedroom
Stunning in the snow
Log burning fire
Garden with hot tub summer house
Lounge
Entrance Driveway
Kitchen
Twin Gallery Bedroom
Welcome Stone
Lounge
Garden in the snow
One of the stunning views from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newtonmore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kate D
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolute dream getaway”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 5 days over Easter, as a couple and packed the kids off with grandma. The cottage was a perfect base for our romantic break. The amenities in the cottage were brilliant, we were doing a lot of sightseeing but could have easily stayed in for the day and not been bored, with full sky tv and the hottub. Location wise, it is perfectly placed with breathtaking views all around, far enough out of the way for it to be very private, but only a 10 min drive to the village where there is a co-op for bits and bobs. We ate in most nights as the kitchen provides everything we needed, but found the information folder really useful recommending a lovely local bar/restaurant. There are little signs dotted around the cottage explaining how to work appliances etc, which actually was hugely helpful. Looking at the two single beds in the cottage, we have decided it would be suitable for our children (6 and 8)- although please bear in mind the stairs in the cottage are very steep, so any younger children or anyone with mobility difficulties- this might not be for you. Overall, a perfect break and we look forward to hopefully booking next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross I
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed 25 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Brilliant little cottage in the middle of the Cairngorms National Park. Fantastic views all around and all the comforts required for an excellent break away.

The location is fantastic for anyone wanting to spend time out of the rush of the city and day to day life - with close proximity to many great walking routes, the Laggan Wolftrax mountain bike trails, as well as other great activities. With the stunning views all around, it was hard to be disappointed wherever we went.

After a long day out in the hills, being able to come back to a hot tub that looks out across the picturesque mountain scape. Having the real log fire inside made it really comfortable to dry off afterwards in the comfort of the living room. All of the little things together just made this a wholly amazing experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding area was fantastic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We loved the authenticity of the cottage with the hot tub in the outhouse. We went to laggan bike trails which were great fun. We also visted the town of Newtonmore for dinner and had a lovely meal. All round relaxing trip and would happily return!

many thanks,

Sarah.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, a new favourite”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Pipers cottage is a little gem. My partner and I were really looking forward to getting a little break away after a very busy few weeks at work. The cottage did not disappoint. What a beautiful little property which has been done up really well. I have to take my hat off to the owners who have got it just right, the hot tub set up is fantastic having sky TV available in the tub area is genius. During the evening was it was idyllic, we sat in the hot tub whilst the snow fell which was stunning.

The real fire was a god send, we had that going full tilt from the afternoon through to late evening. The cold November air did take hold as there is no double glazing. This was not a problem as the snow made the stay even more enjoyable. The kitchen is small but fine for what we used it for, one thing I would say is the fridge doesn't keep things cold just cool. We kept the milk outside as it was colder out there.

It was so easy to get to the next town for some shopping (gin) and easy to get to Aviemore for the day. The Funicular railway was brilliant and would recommend it to everyone. We also took a nice walk round Loch an Eilein, again, this was stunning, the castle in the water was beautiful. The only thing I would say is make sure you have change for the car park. We didn’t realise you had to pay for parking.

Thank you so much! And really, what a hidden gem! We will be back and recommended it to all of our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark1975Q...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pipers Cottage stay relaxation at it's best!!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Myself and my wife stayed at pipers Cottage for 3 nights for my 40th birthday. Having such hectic lives I was looking for somewhere that was peaceful and secluded. I stumbled across Pipers Cottage by accident one night and booked it straight away. It did not disappoint. The mixture of old style cottage with mod cons such as wifi and sky TV was just perfect. The cottage was small but we'll equipped exactly what I was looking for. The extra large Hottub in the garden summer house next to the cottage was fantastic and visited that daily. The town of newtonmore was about a 10 minute drive from the cottage and has a decent sized coop for anything required. I would definitely recommend this to anyone especially for couples looking for a getaway although does have a couple of single beds and sofabed for kids or extra guests. All in all I will definitely be looking to go back. If you come across this don't hesitate or look elsewhere just book it!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful setting and Hot Tub
Liked least: The Rain!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing