We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Pump House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chrisbD93...
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Symonds Yat is a beautiful location for a break and the Old Pump House is a fantastic place to stay. Everything at The Old Pump House was brilliant and very clean and it was extremely well equipped. We enjoyed the lovely garden with views of the river. We would highly recommend The Old Pump House for a relaxing break and will definitely be returning.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jabberlot
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for relaxation.”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a week away from it all and The Old Pump House definitely offers that, although there are pubs, food and activities close by if that is what you prefer.
The views are superb in every direction, forest walking is literally a few steps from the door and the river runs at the end of the garden. Our dogs loved it too! The actual Pump House is extremely well thought out and provides everything you could ever need.
We were very fortunate with the weather too and there was even a meteor shower on our last night.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thanks for you review, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydMazieG...
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We love staying at the Pump House. It is like our second home. Our dogs enjoying staying there too. Lots of lovely walks, plenty of fishing too. Fantastic!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter6020...
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always an excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My sister and I have stayed here three times and it's always been an excellent holiday home. On the ground floor there is an large combined lounge and kitchen plus plus a small cloakroom. On the first floor there are two bedrooms one with a double bed and the other with 2 single beds. There is also a bathroom. Outside there is a large garden sloping down to towards the river. Alongside the house is a large parking area. Symonds Yat is a beautiful part of the country.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W12400
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to Stay.”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I had not been to Symonds Yat since my younger days but glad we decided to stay at the Old Pump House. It was the perfect place to stay. A credit to the owners Malcolm & Sue who painstakingly built the Old Pump House to a high standard for guests to stay and enjoy.
Possitioned over looking the Rapids and down a quiet lane next to the woods it was ideal to either sit it in the garden and watch the wildlife and watch the canoes going down the rapids or to step out the door and walk miles, away from any roads which was perfect with the dogs.
We will return.
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the Old Pump House. Convenient for eating out at the pubs but peaceful for a relaxing time away.
Liked least: None it was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing