We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A brilliant cottage with great views over the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sue's Cottage

Wye Rapids Cottages - Symonds Yat West
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wye Rapids Cottages - Symonds Yat West
The Main Bedroom The Second Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Wye Rapids Cottages - Symonds Yat West
The Main Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Kitchen, fully equipped with everything you need
The Dining Room with french doors to small rear courtyard
Gardens - These are the beautiful original 1.5 acres of landscaped gardens of The Wye Rapids Hotel
The Main Bedroom Photo 1
The Main Bedroom Photo 2
View from Symonds Yat Rock
Cross the river on the hand pulled ferry, The Saracens Head or further upstream at Ye Old Ferrie Inn
View from the hand pulled ferry looking toward Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Take a walk from the door of the cottage  along the river to Biblins Bridge approx 1.5 miles
Enjoy a riverboat cruise along the River Wye
Canoeing, Symonds Yat - Hire a Canadian canoe and enjoy the river or a kayak and ride the Wye Rapids
The River Wye winds its way through Symonds Yat gorge and village, dividing it into East and West
View of Sue's Cottage looking down from the viewpoint at the top of Symonds Yat Rock
Doggy paddle!
View from Sue's Cottage across the River Wye to Symonds Yat East
Sue's Cottage, Wye Rapids, Symonds Yat West
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
steve r
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A brilliant cottage with great views over the River”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Spent January here. The cottage is extremely well equipped warm and comfortable.Parking outside on gravelled drive, secluded yet close to Monmouth, Ross on Wye and the Forest of Dean.
Will look to make this a regular winter retreat although in summer perfect for canoeing and long rural walks.
Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“What a gem”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016

The location is fantastic overlooking the river and pub opposite and just a short stroll to the woods where we went every day with our border collie taking a different route each time.
From the cottage we were able to explore many of the nearby counties, trying out the local pubs. Everywhere in the area was so dog friendly which meant we could include our dog in our outings.
The cottage itself had everything you need and was warm and comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah V
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage in lovely location ”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We went with our 9 year old son and dog and had a great few days. The cottage had everything you needed, very well equipped. It was lovely and clean and would definitely return. Communication with the owner was excellent, never had a problem contacting or getting a reply. The area is lovely for walking dogs (and children), you can walk along the river from the cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sohnia W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay at Sue's Cottage!”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Having found Sue's cottage on the internet. We decided to give it a visit.
The cottage is so well equiped it is like home from home. Even down to the chocolates as a welcome gift when we arrived.
All the local pubs and cafes are very dog friendly.
It was our first time in the area and it was a great experience.
We will be hopefully going back in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The walks, scenery and friendly atmosphere everywhere we went.
Liked least: The hills my husband walked me up LOL!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashley m
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ten out of ten, brilliant!”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great location, professionally managed, comprehensively and thoughtfully equipped with a wonderful landlady. I highly recommend it for anyone wanting to explore the area and is ideal for young families, it was perfect for us & our 2 children aged 10 & 9. The cottage is right at the very heart of Symonds Yat (west) and is literally 100 metres from the Saracens Head pub hand ferry. The Brecon Beacons are also close enough for a day trip. Its comfortable, clean, very quiet, with very comfortable mattresses, the internet is quick, and its well equipped with everything you need for self catering. Helpfully a whole host of everyday items were included.......detergent, laundry powder, cling film, foil, OS Maps, information about the local area etc.
The instructions were concise, you can arrive in antisocial hours due to the keys being left in a safe. The lovely market town of Monmouth is 10 minutes away and has everything you need, supermarket, butchers, delicatessen, pubs, cafes etc.
We canoed, cycled, walked, visited the National Show Caves, climbed Pen y fan in the Brecon Beacons etc. We highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its professionally managed,very well equipped and in a great location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing