We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most hospitable hosts ever (and we rent...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Quinta da Barcoica

Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Exterior Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Exterior
Exterior
Entrance
Gateway
Swimming pool
Swimming pool
Exterior
Playground
Hall
Living room
Dining room
Kitchen
green bedroom - ground floor
Green bathroom- ground floor
red room - ground floor
blue room - ground floor
bathroom
Exterior
Garden
living room - 1st floor (more than 8 guests)
double room - 1st floor (more than 8 guests)
double room 2 - 1st floor (more than 8 guests)
bathroom - 1st floor (more than 8 guests)
children room - 1st floor (more than 8 guests)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ferreira do Zezere, Santarem District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jebpasiek...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most hospitable hosts ever (and we rent European properties on a near-annual basis).”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014

We loved this property! We stayed here for two weeks in late September/early October of 2014, for a combined business/holiday trip. Senhor Castro and his daughter Rita were so helpful. The house was spotless, stately and well-appointed. How we loved returning to this place after a day of appointments or touring. It's also situated in the near centre of Portugal, very close to the major highway system and accessible to the Beira, Alentejo, Dao and Douro wine regions (our business is wine importation into Canada) and Lisbon. As a central base of operations, this house worked beautifully for us. But it wasn't all work: we also easily visited Almourol Castle and the astonishing Mosteiro da Batalha and Convento do Cristo in Tomar. Amazing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the house, its stately appeal and cleanliness
Liked least: The beds were a little bit firm - personal taste
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobbitett...
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A truly magnificent house!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We booked this holiday home as it was large enough for our group, close to Tomar and had good reviews. We were not disappointed! the house is splendid and feels like a palace with its large hallway, sweeping staircase and endless rooms. We had use of 4 bedrooms, all with ensuites downs stairs as well as lounge, dining room and kitchen/diner. There were more rooms upstairs for larger groups. It was immaculate in detail and cleanliness and the owner was very helpful on our arrival explaining everything. The pool is fenced which was ideal for the toddler travelling with us and we also had access to smaller paddling pool, swings, slide and other recreational toys which were brilliant to use in the stunning gardens. There are two gorgeous Labradors kept in kennels in the grounds, who are tended by the groundsman daily but if you choose they can roam the estate. They were very friendly and really enjoyed our company as we did theirs. Although it is rural, you are only ten minutes drive from a small town with restaurants and supermarkets and twenty minutes drive form the beautiful historical city of Tomar. Our only regret is that we just booked a week as we would have liked to stay longer in this lovely house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of house and facilities for all guest
Liked least: Flies, which managed to get in despite keeping doors closed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bufo_Spod...
Petaluma, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Grand property, private, tranquil - exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed 24 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We are a family of four with with two kids ages 14 and 11, and we stayed here one week. The property is located in a small community in the countryside with lovely rolling hills of red earth containing vineyards and olive orchards all around. The house is large with very nice furnishings and contains many impressive architectural details. Modern and well-equipped kitchen too. The grounds are expansive and impeccably maintained, and there are impressive views in all directions. The pool was nicely sized (I estimate about 10X5 meters) and sparkling clean. There was good cell phone reception on the property. There was no broadband internet access.

Jorge the owner speaks excellent english and was very easy to work with. He greeted us personally on arrival, and was most helpful, kind, and accommodating throughout. Just a phone call away if needed.

The location is somewhat remote. The closest town with shopping and restaurants was Ferreire do Zezere which was about a 10 or 15 minute drive away. We made nice day trips to Tomar, Conimbriga/Luzo, Foz Do Arelho/Obidos. This involved a bit of driving at times, but the roads are quite good and generally uncrowded. The house and the pool were always a welcomed feature on return.

In summary, this property had the combination of features we seek in a vacation home, and we considered it a great value and great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2012 for a stay in August 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation was better than we expected
Liked least: It isn't near the coast
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing