We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 578)
Filter reviews
1 578 results
Traveller rating
718
523
203
78
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
718
523
203
78
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view superior room piano player pool area hotel guests cliff top beautiful beach lovely hotel half board rock formations direct access bar prices bed and breakfast visited this hotel superb location great facilities every evening
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 1 578 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2017

I had previously reviewed this hotel as very good after staying September last year. I was so impressed that I rebooked directly with the hotel for this coming September. I wasn't made aware of any changes to accessing facilities when making this booking and when I heard that the hotel was no longer offering free facilities on the beach (Direct access to beach where hotel sun loungers where available to guests as stated on hotel web page) I sent a enquiry to the hotel and posted the question here on trip advisor... are sun loungers no longer free of charge. You would think a company who's main business is hospitality would invest its interests in customer care and be prepared to immediately answer any customer concerns. However I have still to have my enquiry answered...shocking customer service. Lack of response makes it quite obvious that changes have been made to facilities available at Pestana Alvor Praia, but the hotel is unwilling to openly notify customers to this fact to avoid adverse publicity. The reduction of added value of the facilities at this hotel is less of a concern that the hotel's refusal to answer this customer query. For this reason I will be looking at other beach hotels (other than Pestana) in the Portimao area (Orient, Algarve Casino, Bella Vista...) with a view to cancelling my reservation (and any future patronage) with Pestana

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
13  Thank EuroCiaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvorPraiaHtl, Manager at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Mr. EuroCiaran,

Thank you for your feedback. All clients’ opinions are very valuable for management to understand and measure customers satisfaction and your comments will be analyze. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to have an opportunity in the future to welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards Tiago Pais - Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

A look at the reviews mainly gives really positive vibes. However there is much merit in Nora's all be it a bit harsh 1+* star review of 5 days ago.
The numbering of floors at most Pestana hotels is ridiculous as they begin from the lowest level. For us less clever souls that would be lower ground floor -1 and -2. This leaves the reception which is actually on the ground floor as floor two. I know, go figure. Hence much confusion and guests trying to puzzle out where the hell they were.

We had a superior double with sea views. Sea views were fantastic, room at best fairly ordinary. Describing as luxury is real poetic license. No coffee or tea facilities in the room was a fairly big gripe with the British guests.

The bar is souless. Only when live music is on is there anything remotely approaching an atmosphere. Expensive with zero ambiance is not a winning combination. BTW watch your feet. I have never seen more changes in level or ponds to walk into. (Sober)

It should be noted that at this time of the year it is a predominately elderly audience. Families look like they just landed from Mars and have found a planet where only old people live. Fairly unusual to be described as a youngster when you're in your late fifties and look every day of it.

Everything positive about the location, beaches and staff is true.The staff really are the hotels outstanding feature.

But in summary it's never a five star experience.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank SurreyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvorPraiaHtl, Gestor at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear “SurreyMac”,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments and views. All clients’ feedback are very valuable for management to understand and measure customers satisfaction.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that you will return.
Kind regards
Tiago Pais - Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days in May 2017 based on a friends recommendation. Beautiful location right on the beach. Staff are very attentive and breakfast were fabulous. Ideal quiet spot and is wheelchair accessible.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvorPraiaHtl, Gestor at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Mrs. Eileen S.,
Thank you for your nice review, it is very rewarding to receive such comments from our guests. We shared it with our team and they are all very proud of your comments.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that you will return.
Kind regards
Tiago Pais - Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We have enjoyed coming to this hotel since 2007, always for two weeks and during the months of April or May when the weather suits us best for our activities. Our review is mainly about the excellent staff, with whom the hotel would not run so efficiently. From the moment we had our taxi door opened by a charming young lady, in the most elegant uniform, we felt this is truly a 5* welcome. We were swiftly checked in at Reception by Ana, who spoke beautiful English and dealt with us very efficiently, and then offered us a refreshing chilled welcome drink. All the staff at Reception, too many to name individually, continued to to be very helpful and very swift in attending to our requests for extra hangers, iron and ironing board and taxis when required. Monica, Guest Relations, made us very welcome, was charming, very efficient and extremely professional in her position, speaking perfect English she would not pass us by without stopping for a chat.

We had half board, with the Restaurant overlooking the gardens, pool and the sea which was a delight to dine in, with the tables beautifully laid. The buffet meals were first class with many choices and some traditional Portuguese dishes. Philipe, the Restaurant Manager was very attentive, a pleasure to talk to and ensured that we enjoyed our meals and this goes for all his staff, some of them giving us much needed Portuguese lessons at breakfast!! The wine list has many good wines which we enjoyed over our very leisurely dinner each night. We know Philipe will do very well in his new position and speaks perfect English which is very useful in a restaurant.

We enjoyed our stay in the refurbished hotel and always book a Super Seaview room, on the higher floors, for the wonderful view, walking through the gardens to the beach was a delight or you can use the lift. The bedroom and bathroom were kept immaculate with lovely smelling toiletries replenished daily. Towels changed twice a day, if you wanted. We did like the separate bath and separate shower cubicle.

In the late afternoons we would enjoy a game of tennis on the very well maintained clay tennis courts, well worth the charge of 18 euros per hour.

Alvor is a charming small town, good for birdwatching on the estuary, the boardwalk along the beach into town is very perfect for working off the calories and not getting sand in your shoes. We can't comment on the pool etc, which looked inviting, as we don't ever sit on sun beds!!!!

It is worth venturing into Portimao, not far away by bus or taxi, a busy working town, with nice restaurants for lunch along the waterfront, nice views but quite touristy though and better still those up side streets where you could be the only tourist along with office workers, families and the likes enjoying traditional food and local wine, away from the British voice!!!!!! Heaven......

And last but not least......we must mention.......Frederico, the Manager who runs a very good hotel, passing through the restaurant, checking on things he would pass the time of day with you.

A hotel we are always happy to return to.......until the next time........greetings from sunny Scotland.

Room Tip: Pay extra for Superior Seaview Rooms
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvorPraiaHtl, Gestor at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear Mrs. Barbara G.,
We would like to thank you for your wonderful review on our hotel and staff, we hope you keep coming back, we will always aim for the highest level of customer service in order to make your two weeks of vacation feel like “heaven”.
On behalf of the Pestana Alvor Praia, we would like to personally thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Kind regards
Tiago Pais - Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

I am currently staying at this hotel with my mum and 18 month old daughter. This hotel needs honest reviews as I'm so shocked and annoyed having booked here relying on disingenuous reviews posted on trip advisor recently. Since arriving here on Friday it's just been so disappointing except for the location which is fantastic for picture perfect beach location. We upgraded to a sea view suite (extra €64 per night on the garden view suite originally booked) then the towels are thread barren as are the bath robes and beach towels(all are literally fit for the bin); we are still waiting for a kettle and extra towels to be brought to the suite, which in the normal use of the term is not what one would expect-there is absolutely no luxury here; it is simply a bedroom at the back (no sea view) with a long room with a sea view balcony which contains a couch, table and chairs and a tv-no tea/coffee facilities or even a stocked mini bar in the empty fridge-It's a sorry sight. I'm still waiting for something to be brought to the room to place my daughters clothes on as the wardrobe in the bedroom is too tight for 3 people. Communication is lacking throughout the entire hotel-we had to work out the system with access to the beach by asking people in nearby restaurant the first night and as for the sun beds on the beach (today as we lay on the beds just by the entrance gate to the hotel we were told that we had to pay €8/day as the hotel had just relinquished these this year so guests must now pay for sunbeds on the beach of a supposed 5 star hotel that sells rooms on the basis of its beach location) it doesn't get better than that. From a security perspective, the hotel needs to light up the entrance from the beach at night-it's so dangerous and only for the bright moon this week we couldn't see where we were going. The cleaning service to the rooms is nothing short of the minimum-the sand which came back in with us yesterday from the beach is still here tonight -come on guys pull up your socks.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
19  Thank Nora20153012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvorPraiaHtl, Gestor at Pestana Alvor Praia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Mrs. Nora,
Thank you for sharing your views about our resort. We regret that we were unable to address your negative experiences properly whilst you were still with us. Admittedly there are rare moments when the expectation of our guests is not met or indeed exceeded. I have shared your experience with the management team to work on the service flaw.
On behalf of us all at the Pestana Alvor Praia, we regret that could not turn your experience around before you left.
Thank you once again for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We aim to improve and we look forward to serving you better in the future.
Kind regards,
Tiago Pais - Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews