We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
13
11
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
11
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillwell equipped kitchengrocery storean amazing viewcruise shipianbasementboatskmbedroomtownroadfjordnorway
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Went more than beyond to make sure we had a lovely time. Very considerate, friendly, helpful and always had time for friendly local chat. Would spend time looking for the best deals for you if you were go anywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shebee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUNHEIM A, reception at Lunheim Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Wow !!
You are too kind.
We live here and we are inquisitive by nature.
We too travel to far away places and travel and eat as the locals do when we are abroad.
We know that it is difficult to find the local paths in Geiranger when there is 1- 4 metres of snow on the ground and we know that the sightseeing boats and buses and ferries are not running in the winter.
We have chosen to invest in hiking maps, some high quality snowshoes, and a few windproof jackets and skiing trousers. We have this gear so that our guests can safely make their way to winter viewpoints on foot without getting cold.
The bonus of a snowshoe walk is that you get the ultimate winter views of the Seven Sisters and of the Geirangerfjord valley and the Dalsnibba peak.

Welcome back sometime

Ian D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Actually we haven't spend the night at Lunheims, since the owner told us rudely to leave. It came after we asked him (kindly) if he had a room with a view to the fjord (the room that he offered viewed the road). We asked what was wrong, why did he respond that way. He did not answer, except repeatedly commanding us to leave the place immediately.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank danair2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2109Ian, Director of Sales at Lunheim Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

This is not a review.
This is a policy statement

Our Summer rates, Autumn rates, and Winter rates are published on several websites so it is easy to send an email to post@lunheim-geiranger.no and book very good accomodation here at LUNHEIM ACCOMODATION in Geiranger, Norway.

We do of course welcome Autumn travelers Most of our September guests have been pleasantly surprised with the comfort,the standard of our accomodation , the hospitality, and the fantastic colorage and pristine silence of the Geiranger fjord and mountains which can be experienced at ease in our secluded garden.

We are aware that bargaining is an integral part of some Cultures We have however no great patience with those few Middle East tourists who walk in the door and request high standard accomodation ar dirt low prices.
This couple became greatly offended when we would not enter into discussions on prices with them . I simply asked them to go elsewhere and haggle, and they now vent their irritation on sites like Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

I have stayed here four nights. Spacious room. Good bed. Shared kitchen that is well equiped. Inger and Ian are great hosts, always there to help or to make useful suggestions if you ask them to do. And the view must be one of the best in Geiranger. Somewhat higher up the mountain resulting in a spectacular view of the Geiranger fjord. And the fjord is different every day or even every part of the day due to the weather, the position of the sun, the boats and cruise-ship(s).

Room Tip: There are only five rooms. Some have a view on the flord, some on the mountain. Outside and in the kitche you have view on the fjord anyway
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Falco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2109Ian, reception at Lunheim Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for your precise and positive comments.

ian D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

If you do not have a car this accommodation is not really suitable as has not been mentioned it is that it is a fair way out of town 3.2km up a steep hill (270 vertical metres) along a busy road or 2km along a path which is quite difficult to find. Lunheim advertised a free shuttle but this may not always be available at a time that is convenient. I noted that other negative reviews have been responded to very strongly by the owner, maybe consider these before booking.

Room Tip: The bottom apartment is in three separate rooms
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank indepenenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2109Ian, Reception,cooly, and general dogsbody at Lunheim Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Good evening from Lunheim in Geiranger (290 metres above sea level ), and thank you for your comments.

We drove you down to the harbour area at the agreed time of 11:00 FOR FREE.
You were leaving by Hurtigruten at 13:00 so you had plenty of time for an early lunch.

We do actually strive to supply incoming and outgoing guests with 6 alternative shuttles, normally from 11:00 to 21:00.
Most guests are satisfied with the transport we provide, whilst others seem to think that they are entitled to a free taxi service at all hours of the day.
Perhaps you should take a taxi next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Geiranger is beautiful town and great place to visit. Some of the things we like about Lunheim was that it has share kitchen which looks over the beautiful valley and fjord. Our room was clean and comfortable. Lunheim is one of the accommodation that is less expensive than others, but at the same time there are others accommodations similarly priced as Lunheim in Geiranger.

Some of the things we didn’t like about Lunheim was that the room was upstairs and had to carry luggage up. I don’t know if Lunheim had paved driveway before, but the time we got there the driveway was loose gravel and the owner had us wear slippers every time we get in and out, so the gravel don’t get in the house. Breakfast is not included and we didn’t realize it’s a fixed charge. I and my wife had one boiled egg each and one small cup of yogurt each for breakfast and 4 oz venison meat night we arrived. For these we were charge 600 NOK which is the most expensive eggs I had to pay for in Norway. There are many food options in the city and the hotel next door have good food for normal prices.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2109Ian, Front Office Manager at Lunheim Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Good evening Mr And Madame Amin
Your review is unfortunately not the whole truth.
Whilst I do understand that one tends to forget the small day to day details after such a long holiday, I fear that the aim of your review is be scathing rather than descriptive. Our notes show that you were given a meal on arrival on the evening of 24/05 ,two breakfasts next day, a light evening meal of venison on May 25th, and two breakfasts on May 26th.
You paid the bill of NOK 600,- in cash just before check out on May 26th, and it was not until later that I saw that we had forgotten to bill you NOK 300,- for the venison dinner.
You now claim to have been charged NOK 600,- for a few boiled eggs and some yoghurt and I refute that claim as preposterous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews