We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
337
76
16
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
76
16
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine bar our honeymoon large bathroom day trip wine list spent two nights rented a car beautiful place turn down service our entire trip the entire staff can't wait to go back highlight of our trip return again bruschetta nearby restaurants beautiful grounds
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018

When my husband and I were planning our trip to Italy, a friend of his suggested we stay here. At first I wasn't interested as it was a bit far off from the other areas we visited. But he insisted that it was a must, so we went ahead with it and I am SO glad we did. This was the most relaxing day/night of our 9 day trip to Italy. The staff were all incredible. Upon check in, we explained that we had to leave very early in the morning to get back to Florence and they offered to pack a breakfast to go for us! Certainly something you'd never see in the states.

There isn't much to do at the hotel and that was one of the things we loved the most about it. We had good weather, but not quite warm enough to swim. However, we still laid by the pool for several hours just chatting and eventually took a nap right there. The views from the pol are incredible. You can see a town off in the distance, the rolling hills we grew to love in the region, and (of course!) a vineyard right next door.

Prior to our dinner reservation, we stopped by the wine shop that is on the property. We had a few glasses of wine and the service was incredible. We had a question about the olive oil that was on the bread we received with the wine and then were able to spend about 20 minutes sampling different olive oils. We even ended up buying one to bring home with us :)

The dinner was absolutely incredible. It is definitely a fine dining experience, but was priced much more reasonable than what we're used to in NYC. The service at the restaurant was top tier and our server was also incredibly knowledgeable about wine when we asked a few questions about what to order with our meal. We ate in the covered area outside and it rained a little, which actually ended up being pretty romantic! We were covered so didn't get wet, but it is so quiet there all you could hear was the sound of the rain - very serene.

The room itself was great. I saw some other reviewers complaining about the air conditioning but we did not have a problem. It was warm in the room when we first arrived, but we put the air on before going to the pool and it was perfect temperature by the time we got back. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very spacious (a real luxury when traveling in Europe!)

We're already trying to figure out when our next Italy trip will be, specifically so we can come here again and stay a little longer :)

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kayla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Hotel grounds are beautiful. The rooms — of which we saw two in our one night stay — are spacious, and both included bedroom, living room, large bathrooms, and great views. The restaurant is fine dining and fairly priced. Our waiter, Lorenzo, was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and attentive. Those are the pluses. Where the hotel fails is in the small details that make guests comfortable.

There is air conditioning in the room, but if you want open windows, forget about screens to keep out the bugs. If you enjoy bugs, not a problem; otherwise, don’t open your windows. Having screened windows is so inexpensive, it is bewildering why so many hotels in the area do not have them. There is no coffee machine in the rooms. The mattresses are like bricks. If you like a very firm mattress, you will be appreciative. If you like anything approaching soft or plush, you probably will not sleep. Lastly, the WiFi is awful — sporadic, weak signal, and slow. Which is why we had two rooms — when we could not get on the WiFi reliably in our first room with any of our 6 devices (phones, tablets, and laptops), the front desk came to help, and then they could not get on either, and — after the front desk person (who was very nice and helpful) claimed they’d never had this problem before, but she experienced the same exact problem in our room — we were moved to another room for a “better” signal. The signal was just as bad in the second room as in the first. If you consider WiFi a convenience that you like to have, or need to have, hope that you get a good LTE signal or you can forget your electronics. Some may consider the lack of a WiFi signal a plus. But in a fairly expensive hotel (330 - 440 euro per night for most rooms), that is not a discussion that should need to be had.

Bottom line: we might come back to the restaurant for a meal, but we would not stay here again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ahodkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We stayed here 3 weeks ago and it was the highlight of our trip to Italy. This place is amazing, laid back and just wonderful. We traveled the country side by day and spent two nights eating in the Osteria wine bar. The food in the wine bar was simple but off the charts delicious. Since it was late season the hotel was very quiet but the staff couldn't have been more gracious tending to our every need.
We ate in the formal dining room which is run by a separate business but it was also fantastic. We would definitely go back and wish we had had more than 3 nights here. Warmer weather would have made the swimming pool very inviting but wrong time of year.
If you want a quiet place to stay and relax this is it. A car a must however, it is a bit remote.

Room Tip: Any room would be great I am sure. This place is old, 1300's but Awesome
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We loved it so much that we altered our travel plans to be able to come back at the end of our vacation!
Sandra is a FANTASTIC HOST! She loves what she does and it shows throughout the property.
Sandra builds on excellence and she and her team exceed expectations.
Now lets talk about the setting! A 1300 historic hamlet in Tuscany that has been upscaled while keeping the integrity of the historical nature of the property.
The food in the Osteria was OFF THE CHARTS delicious...all homemade using what is cultivated on or near by the property. Sandra oversees the kitchen and her attention to detail is amazing! We preferred to dine in the Osteria rather than the formal dining room on the property (it is great but run by a separate entity)
Thank you for making our vacation so special.
Liz and Blaine

Room Tip: The first time a Superior Room the second time a 2 floor suite....Outstanding!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smeglio@alice.it, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Locanda dell'Amorosa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dearest Mr. and Mrs. Liz and Blaine,
we all loved to welcome you again!!
Thank you so much for you incredible letter yo left in my office at departure, and for the onderful TOP bottel of wine!!!
We all hope to be able to welcoming you soon, very soon again!
Everybody here hugs you and wish you all the best.
Kindest regards,
Sandra Meglio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Beautiful grounds. Looked like it popped out of a travel brochure, vineyards and rolling hills. Charming, well kept, scenic, rooms well kept and staff very polite and helpful. Loved the wine bar. We visited in October... the last week it was open before closing for the season, so it was very quiet. The restaurant was good, I believe it is run separately from the hotel. Can't say enough about this lovely place!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews