We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Four visits to Azure Heights in eight years...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mochlos, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Kathleen0...
Philadelphia
2 reviews
“Four visits to Azure Heights in eight years -- and planning for a fifth!”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Located in serene eastern Crete, Azure Heights is stunning, spacious, private and peaceful. This area of eastern Crete offers quiet beaches and tavernas on the sea, archeological sites, hiking trails and snorkling. The owners of Azure Heights, Annie and Pete, live in the ground-floor apartment. They are gracious, warm and kind, offering a wealth of information on the best hikes, tavernas, drives and beaches. Guests occupy the entire second floor with three terraces and a private entrance. We hiked every morning on nearby trails. We drove down the road to the seaside tavernas in Mochlos. We took a day trip to the Kato Zakros gorge, with its phenomenal sea views and archeological site. We have enjoyed our stays at Azure Heights so much that we are returning next year, and can't recommend it enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
What a wonderful review. We are delighted and when guests want to return, that is the bottom line... and something we hope our other guests want to do so too! We are particularly pleased because these guests come all the way from the U.S.A to stay here...that is a great compliment! Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo, Portugal
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
What a wonderful review....thank you! Lovely guests, lovely family...we hope to see more of them in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ziggyzm0
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We almost never give the maximum score for a rental but here, it really deserves it.

On our arrival, besides the warm welcome of Anne and Pete, we found a beautiful house, wonderfully located and perfectly equipped. The fridge was full of good fresh produce and a Raki carafe was available on the kitchen worktop.

Throughout our stay, we enjoyed the 3 terraces which each have their advantage (view, sun, shade, wind shelter). The infinity pool is very nice and the sun loungers are plentiful.
The bedding, though a bit hard to our taste, is of quality, like the rest of the amenities. Nothing is missing except maybe a dishwasher.
Note also, in the worry of being completely objective, a bit weak wifi signal usable only in the living room and the lower bedroom.

Anne and Pete are really charming persons and always listening in case of questioning or problem (but there is never a problem). Their very discreet presence is not obtrusively disturbing, on the contrary! Their pets are a real plus and still brighten the life in and around the house.
The day of departure, the farewells were moving and some even shed a few tears, a sign of a real beautiful encounter.

Azure-Heights is definitely a little piece of paradise. Hope the house will be available the next time we return to this beautiful part of the island.

Nathalie, Anne, Jean & Bruno

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
It was a beautiful encounter....such charming guests who we were sad to see go. They were busy bees exploring, walking and filling their days with enthusiasm. We are always thrilled that our guests do bother to see the beauty of Eastern Crete which we love so much. We hope their return is sooner than later as they are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Idyllic mountain retreat”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed here for three nights last week and cannot recommend it highly enough. Anne's hospitality was warm and friendly. Our late night arrival meant that the welcome pack (including bread, butter, eggs, beer, wine and raki!) was very welcome. The location is very tranquil and we loved our afternoon by the pool watching the birds of prey soar below us. Although we didn't cook, the kitchen was extremely well equipped.Mochlos is a very pretty and laid back resort where (on Anne's recommendation) we enjoyed a lovely meal and had the unexpected treat of listening to three local (and completely untouristy) Greek musicians. Go!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
The stay for three nights was just not long enough to have this delightful family here. They embraced everything with great enthusiasm, were game for anything and put their all into enjoying their short visit. I was sad to see them go onto another place on the south coast as it really was too short a time.....they were a tonic and as I mentioned before, delightful!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim C
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“An idyllic retreat”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Having discovered the area around Mochlos in 2010, we consider ourselves extremely lucky to have found Azure Heights in 2011. We have returned every year since and always look forward to visiting our little paradise. We have stayed here with family, friends or sometimes just the two of us. The apartment is ideally suited to 2 people, but is also fantastic for 4 people, as there is a separate double en suite bedroom downstairs. From the moment, you arrive you feel completely relaxed. The fridge is always well stocked, the place is meticulously clean, beautiful crisp bed linen - all home comforts are catered for. Words cannot describe the majestic mountain views, but wow! You can sit for hours on one of the 3 spacious patios and just gaze and be mesmerised by the view. The pool is also a favourite place to keep cool and bob around and admire the scenery. You are surrounded by olive groves and have a view to the nearby mountain village of Sfaka. It is possible to walk into Sfaka and have a drink or a snack at a local kafenion and the village taverna will welcome you with mezze and some very tasty food. There are a number of local tavernas a short drive away, so plenty to choose from. Mochlos is a quaint old village by the sea, just a 10-15 minute drive down the mountain. Here you will find a great selection of tavernas and a couple of bars. Also, there is a small supermarket and a just a few tasteful gift shops. It is very unspoilt, so picturesque and very friendly. You can get a little boat across to Mochlos Island to see the archaeological site from Minoan times. Tholos is a beach around a 20 minute drive away and swimming here is a dream. You can also go on a boat trip from a little jetty with two lovely brothers who will suggest some stunning areas to sail to and have a dip. Azure Heights is a place you can stay for pure relaxation - just "fly and flop", but also, there is plenty to explore and we always do a mixture of the two. There are colourful and bustling markets, archaeological sites, beautiful and remote beaches, pretty mountain villages and so much more. So, if you fancy a jaunt, there are many options (too many to mention here), with the knowledge that you can return to you comfortable "home" in the evening and chill out and do a spot of star gazing. Your hosts, Anne and Pete are so friendly and helpful and will ensure that your stay is memorable and advise on any activities. Anne is a yoga teacher and a masseuse, so you can take advantage of her skills. Pete is a professional pianist and never fails to impress us with his musical knowledge. They are on hand, but unobtrusive and your space is very private. I must mention their rescue animals, two dogs and two cats. We do not have any pets at home, but we really enjoy seeing the animals around the place and for us, they enhance the holiday. All in all, this place offers something for everyone and if you want a real taste of Crete, this the place to come. Prices are also much cheaper in this area as it is away from the more touristic areas which makes it great value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Idyllic location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
What an amazing review.....think I shall have to get this charming guest to rewrite my blurb on my site as my efforts to say certain things certainly do not match her skills! Indeed these guests have returned every year since 2011 and it is always a great pleasure to see them and have them stay....and we look forward very much to their return this year. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;