We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant Christmas market!! ”

Christmas and Medieval Market
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Wow.... this is what I call a proper market!!!

It was a market recommended and we gave it a try and got the train over before we went to the airport.

This market has everything?!?!
Animal nativity
Fairgrounds rides
Lights
Churches
And a totally awesome medieval market!! There is knife making, book binding, leather, so many handmade traditions ooooh and lots of warm beer :)

Never been to anything like this before, every stall holder I spoke to said to come at night as the place is lit up with flames and shows are on.

Gutted I only had time to visit here in the day but I will definitely be coming back in the evening next year xx

Date of experience: December 2017
4  Thank gailysnaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"medieval market"
in 20 reviews
"ferris wheel"
in 6 reviews
"mulled wine"
in 5 reviews
"in december"
in 5 reviews
"great fun"
in 4 reviews
"for sale"
in 4 reviews
"axe throwing"
in 3 reviews
"medieval style"
in 3 reviews
"bread"
in 3 reviews
"perfect backdrop"
in 3 reviews
"sausage"
in 2 reviews
"medieval times"
in 2 reviews
"open fire"
in 2 reviews
"different types"
in 2 reviews
"my favorite"
in 2 reviews
"step back in time"
in 2 reviews
"fire eaters"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017

It was fun, lively, very medieval! We had a blast here. There is a stage and a short play began while we were there.. The performers played medieval characters and supposedly it was very funny because those peeps that understand German, were laughing hysterically. We really liked this market and its uniqueness. The location of the market is great too, in the middle of old beautiful architecture. The town of Esslingen is very beautiful with a walking trail up a hill is nearby where you get a great view of the marker.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank LifeisBeautiful1626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Planning ourGerman Christmas trip was nerve wracking. We wanted to make sure we get the whole experience and don’t miss out. We opted for Stuttgart as it’s boastin the oldes and largest market and a added bonus the Esslingen medieval Christmas market and Ludwigsburg baroque markets are both a short train ride away.

Today we ventured to Esslingen and boy o boy we’re we delighted. Despite to light rain it was a joyful fun and wonderful experience. This market top the lot! Best spirit and atmosphere by far! Ludwigsburg had the best food though but this one was very special. The surroundings helps and it’s a dream!

Will return just to experience it all over again. Love love love!!!

Date of experience: December 2017
4  Thank MaddieH3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

awesome atmosphere and fun time. I visited this market at evening time and had a ball, great fun visiting all of the vendors and having gluhwein and traditional snacks!

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank 87RITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Very enjoyable got me in the mood for Christmas Visited markets as we sailed down the Danube to Vienna, Austria. Food on the Emarald Star was excellent as was the staff .
Would be a wonderful Summer cruise as well.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Mary Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christmas and Medieval Market also viewed

Esslingen am Neckar, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Bad Urach, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Christmas and Medieval Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing