We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 18:00
Review Highlights
Awesome Chateau built in 1675

Wonderful old Chateau built in 1675. Large complex with beautiful grounds. A visit to some of the... read more

Reviewed 9 November 2022
696kathyv
Worth a visit

Worth a visit if you are in Vernon. It was about a 30 minute walk from the town up hill but going... read more

Reviewed 7 May 2022
Sarah T
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Read all 304 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Vernon
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
104
134
44
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
104
134
44
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour worth a visit plenty of parking any questions beautiful grounds stables rooms horses french
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2024

We walked to the chateau from Vernon. It took us a little over half an hour. We were fortunate that there was only the 2 of us and a couple from the Netherlands on our tour so the guide spoke English. She was apologetic about her English but she was actually really good, very knowledgable and enthusiastic. The chateau is beautiful. You only get to see a small part of the interior as the house is still inhabited but the owner. We spent a lot of time exploring the grounds which are a mix of parkland, gardens, wooded areas and some parts have been allowed to grow wilder. The bird song was amazing. This was a lovely peaceful spot and we were very glad to have made the visit.

Date of experience: April 2024
Thank lynb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2023

Went for a heritage weekend visit. Excellent value for 5 euros. Interesting guided tour for 30 minutes, extensive grounds, refreshments served.

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank Azalel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2022

Wonderful old Chateau built in 1675. Large complex with beautiful grounds. A visit to some of the rooms showed how beautiful everything was decorated. The stables were awesome and the grounds very nice. It's a shame the pool area wasn't filled and working as it would have added so much. The water area for the horses was very different with a slanted walk into it for them to cool off. A very nice experience.

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank 696kathyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2022

Worth a visit if you are in Vernon. It was about a 30 minute walk from the town up hill but going back the walk was a lot nicer. There is plenty of parking if you are driving though. Definitely research beforehand of the times of the tours as you are only allowed in on a guided tour. The guided tour was in French and our French is quite bad so we did get a laminated guide in English and the tour guide made us feel welcome and was always making sure he asked if we had any questions.

He did advise us of what room we were in at the time but what I would say they have clearly changed the order of the way they do the tour so it would make it a lot easier if they reprinted the guide in order. You do have to make sure you give the guide back at the end.

A lot of the building has been restored but in keeping with the original chateau. The gardens aren't as spectular as they look in the photos but they are still worth a look and I would definitely recommend the chateau.

Date of experience: April 2022
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2021

Loved the house and grounds. Unbelievably excellent tour guide. I would have enjoyed it more if the obnoxious family with two toddlers didn't take the entire time to speak to their uninterested and oblivious children, take phone calls and make it very difficult for these modestly French speaking Americans to hear our guide at a mile a minute. Our true criticism of the guide is that she didn't stop the family's behavior or ask them to leave the tour.

Interesting 17th century home of local rich people one of whose daughters married Napoleon's brother. Wonderful grounds, fountains and manor house. All in the a walled property in the middle of a French city.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank O8923PUwilliame
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews