We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Andre H
Cape Town, South Africa

Wonderful Views close to a wonderful beach

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Feb 2022
We visited Brenton Haven from 22-24 Feb 2022 & stayed in room/suite 3 . The booking & check in process was easy & efficient. Front desk staff were always friendly. The best part about this resort is definately the views & hearing the waves all night long. From the Resort Reception it is around 200m down a walkway & you on a lovely beach , clean & nice soft sand. There are public restrooms which were always clean. The beach was safe & very seldom free of a few people. One is able to swim , to the right of Castle Rock but I suggest being wary of the cross currents if you not an able swimmer.

The room was really modern , clean & had everything we needed. There was an outside covered braai which we used a few times with seating to eat outdoors. Only gripe & reason for 4 rating was the smell from the bath/basin drains which was attended to promptly but not completely sorted out.

There are 2 restaurants on site , 1 where you can have breakfast that opens at 8am & the other opens later & stays open a bit later as well . We did not dine at either but they were popular with external guests as well.

The Resort also has a pool & gym on site , gym is quite big & has all the basic necessities for a good workout.

Had a very good experience & loved the setting & proximity to the beach . About 6km outside of Knysna town
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owen O'Reilly, General Manager at Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort, responded to this review
Responded 04 Mar 2022
Hi Andre,

Thank you for the review, we appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 397
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 397
0.7 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free parking
Pool
The Resort
R 1 500
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 500
0.2 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.8 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sunset on Brenton-On-Sea Beach
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • StayForLong
1.8 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
3.4 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.0 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 313
  • eDreams
0.0 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Brenton-on-Sea
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
171
55
20
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
55
20
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering coffee shop excellent quality luxury suite staff were fantastic garden route wonderful beach spectacular views knysna town wonderful place gym apartment blu units butterfly facilities accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2022

Brenton Haven has spectacular views, the rooms extremely comfortable, and the staff most professional and helpful. It is an absolute pleasure to stay here. The staff go out of their way to be of assistance.

Date of stay: January 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owen O'Reilly, General Manager at Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2022

Hi Elzabe,

Thank you for the lovely review, I have shared with our team. Our staff are one of our biggest assets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2022

This is the most wonderful place, the food, the rooms, the staff all gets a ten. We felt like queens and kings. Super friendly staff with sea views to die for. Our rooms was so neat and clean. The food in the restaurant was amazing.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T5628GAguestg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owen O'Reilly, General Manager at Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2022

Thank you for the wonderful review, the team appreciates it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2022 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay. Staff extremely helpful and friendly (Nkosi and the maintenance guy). Units are beautiful and well maintained.
Accomodation highly recommended.

Restaurant staff however not as welcoming and when we wanted to eat dinner we had to find out that you had to book in advance.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MarrilizeSmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owen O'Reilly, General Manager at Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2022

Thank you for the review, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2022 via mobile

WOW! Absolutely amazing! Reservation staff (Pricila & Nkosi) you guys made our stay so memorable, THANK YOU! We had such an amazing 3 days, we ended up extending our stay to 4 nights! Waves for days!! From now on, we’ll only stay at Brenton on Sea when we come to the Garden Route for our annual holiday.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank celest_m2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owen O'Reilly, General Manager at Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2022

Good Day, thank you for the wonderful review. I have shared with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2022

We had a wonderful 5 night stay, the suite was very clean, staff friendly, food offering in the restaurant and the coffee shop good. The overall experience was superb! As hotel owners ourselves we appreciated all the hard work of the staff to give such a good offering - well done!

Room tip: fantastic views
Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank greytontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owen O'Reilly, General Manager at Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2022

Good Day, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews