We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Saaliha P
Johannesburg, South Africa

A little piece of heaven on earth!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Nov 2020via mobile
Brenton on Sea and Brenton Haven resort is my happy place. I am sitting on the deck of unit 31 after having just taken in a breathtaking sunset on the beach just a short walk away.

This is our second visit here and as soon as i leave.. i yearn to come back.
We started our stay in suite 2 which is a 1 bedroom suite above the restaurant. It is a beautiful, clean, modern unit with an open plan that is designed to give you the best views from all rooms.
We then extended our stay and were given unit 31, a 3 bedroom villa, at the same rate as the suite which is a welcomed gracious gesture on the part of management.
The 3 bedroom villa is absolutely amazing. A fully equipped kitchen with the same clean, modern furnishings. 3 en suite bedrooms, each with their own showers and an extra guest toilet downstairs point to the extra touches of consideration.

The best part is the deck that offers panoramic views of the unspoilt beach. Absolutely heavenly.

The staff are friendly and even though this is a fully self catering resort, the cafe offers delicious pastries and quiche for breakfast and/or lunch. The on site Butterfly Blue restaurant opens from Thursdays to Sundays and offers delicious fresh food, we had the line fish and hake and both were perfect. Ofcourse the views are amazing, try to go at sunset and book a table on the deck.

I cant wait to be back again.
Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Resort
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 394
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.1 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sunset on Brenton-On-Sea Beach
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • StayForLong
1.8 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
3.4 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.0 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 2 241
  • Booking.com
0.0 km from Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Brenton-on-Sea
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
171
55
20
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
55
20
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering coffee shop excellent quality luxury suite staff were fantastic garden route wonderful beach spectacular views knysna town wonderful place gym apartment blu units butterfly facilities accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

Thank you for an AWESOME stay! The facilities are amazing with the best view. We made use of the pool and the gym. Staff is very friendly and welcoming! Butterfly Blue Restaurant has the best hake. We are going back in Jan 2021! Cannot wait!! Happy place!!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank simonev167
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2020

We spent 3 nights at Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort during our South Africa trip. The hotel is located directly on the beach of Brenton-on-Sea and about 15 minutes by car from Knysna. Each suite offers a well equipped kitchen, a spacious living room and several bedrooms. We ourselves stayed in suite 4 directly above the main building. The large terrace offered a fantastic view of the miles long beach. The beds were also very comfortable. The gym is a bit outdated, but still offers a wide range of equipment. We could also enjoy the heated pool every day. The hotel's own restaurant was very good and therefore recommendable. The self-catering approach offered many advantages (e.g. the very cheap washing of the clothes) but unfortunately also a disadvantage that takes getting used to (e.g. cleaning only every three days (otherwise for an extra charge), no hand soap). The always helpful and very friendly staff should be emphasized.

We enjoyed our days extremely in the resort and therefore I can highly recommend Brenton Haven!

Room tip: Suite 4 offers a fantastic view
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights towards the end of our Garden Route tour to chill out. Whilst located about a 20min drive away from Knysna, the views were stunning, accommodation excellent, staff friendly and helpful. If you don't want to drive into Knysna, the resort can arrange a taxi at reasonable rates.The superb location offers direct access to the long, sweeping, quiet and clean beach of Brenton Bay. There is also a local bar/ restaurant within 3 mins walk of the resort if you fancy a change from the hotel food and bar, although these are very good in their own right.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Doonhamer2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2020

Unfortunately we could only stay for one night but what we experienced was very good. Our "rooms" were perfect. The resort is located absolute fantastic with a nice view over the sea (not really from our room). The pool was very small and very warm. In this area improvement would be good for such a large resort. Diner in the Butterfly Blu restaurant was very good. Also improvement on the cocktail side. All over we can recommend the resort.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BinEinKoenigFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2020

I last tried to eat here several years ago and had a horrible experience.
Wow! What a change!
We stayed for two nights and have a fantastic time.
Alison at reception was exceptionally helpful and the waiting staff who's names I have forgotten treated us like royalty.
We shall be back...

Room tip: The suites in the main nbuilding have a great view
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewwN7584NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews