We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
3
6
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
6
5
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a night during a trip through Europe (last minute booking as it was on a way to another destination and break was needed).
First of all - this is not a hotel! It’s a glorified B&B!
There’s no one available at the reception most of the time and never at check out and you cannot order water or anything to your room. You pay upfront and you leave the keys on the reception counter when leaving. There is also no bar here as Some websites would suggest.
Rooms are very basic. We had suite for 239EUR a night and this was tiny and super impractical.
On one bright side the air con in the room worked well and bed was okay.
Breakfast was very basic - some cold salami, cheese etc. Food runs out fast when busy and you have to ask for the plates to be filled again. Service very slow.
The worst part was after we left - hotel charged my card with 100 EUR without even letting me know after departure. When I noticed this was gone from my card I tried calling hotel repeatedly to find out what this was for - to no avail! I had to contact my bank and dispute the charge as this was not authorised. No form of communication was received from the hotel at all.
Few days later i received an. Email from booking.com (who I booked this through) telling me I owed the hotel 100 EUR for damages and that I need to contact them immediately to pay this, however the hotel already charged this amount to my card fee days earlier.
I tried phoning the hotel again until Finally someone answered the phone and informed me that the charge was for cleaning!
We travelled with small dogs who are extremely well trained and used to frequent hotel stays so the only thing they could have left behind was some hair. We did pay hotel the dog charge of 18EUR per dog prior to our stay and this should have covered any extra cleaning associated with dogs stays, but the hotel clearly feels that once they get hold of someone’s card details they can charge what they want and not even tell them about this.
We travel frequently and have stayed
at many 5 star hotels in England and many other countries and have literally never come across such issue. If you allow dogs and incorporate dog charge it means you are happy to clean whatever they leave behind and it’s all paid for!
It seems that the hotel is banking on the fact that most people Staying will never return as it’s such a tourist hotspot and just want to make most of it.
Scammers! I’d say think twice before you stay at this b&b and definitely do not bring dogs with you! Or just pay in cash!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mattF5796ZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinteregger-Hotels, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Eden Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear "mattF5796ZD",

many thanks for your feedback and your time linked with it.

We regret that you could enjoy your stay with us so little. With pleasure we would like to assure you that our 4-legged friends are welcome at any time at our Retro Chique Hotel Eden Park. However, the costs of the overnight stay of pets is covered so far, that the rooms are left in good condition. Of course, normally the cleaning is included in the cleaning fee, but unfortunately, we were unable to release your room on your departure day, so we were forced to charge an additional cleaning fee. We understand your displeasure, but we also would like to point out that we of course also put a bill on Booking.com and we also explained the situation by phone. Please excuse the inconvenience if you feel deceived - this was by no means our intention.

We would be glad if you give us a second chance and contact us at office@edenpark.at, so that we can clear any misunderstandings.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Hofmayer, Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

What makes this place above average-- the host, Marianne, is very sweet and extremely accommodating. The views are gorgeous and I enjoyed sitting on the balcony, gazing at them. The location is good, just a short walk down the hill into the center of Velden.

What could be improved-- when my boyfriend and I stayed there, it was about 100 degrees and humid in Velden. The fact that there was no air conditioning was disappointing and made staying in the room during the day uncomfortable and sleeping there at night difficult. Secondly, I really wish there were top sheets on the bed. I don't know if it was an Austrian thing, but there's just the fitted sheet on the mattress and then a small, but thick comforter. The comforter didn't seem to have a duvet cover on it so I wonder how they wash it between guests' stays.... Hmmm not something I wanted to think too much about.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mnmargulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mit Balkon und Seeblick
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinteregger-Hotels, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Eden Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews