We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel & Spa Wulfenia
Nearby Hotels
US$215
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gartnerkofel(Hermagor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Falkensteiner Hotel Sonnenalpe(Sonnenalpe Nassfeld)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
53
11
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
11
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor jacuzzigreat hotelski liftgmhousekeepingwhirpoolsnowtowelsskiing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Never in my life I've been treated the way the hotel manager Klaudia had treated us, a group of five women who hoped for a nice relaxing, stress-free get-together extended weekend. She openly told us she would always side with Austrians as she's a proud Austrian and not 'Your people" and called us eastern European cows. The heating in one of the rooms wasn't working and even though an engineer was sent in 4 times to fix it, he wasn't able to do it. A very nice and kind receptionist called Georgia, checked the radiators herself and confirmed the heating wasn't working, but the manager Klaudia, kept saying we lied about the heating as she went to the room herself and the room was warm. She actually went in without asking for a permission and according to one of the members of her staff, whom she regularly verbally abuses, she was deliberately stepping on our things and again reffered to us as 'Slavic cows'. We spoke to at least 10 people working there and they've all been fearful of her and they also confirmed what she openly told us, she treats better German speaking guests than other nationalities. We asked for an apology for the way she spoke to us in front of other guests in the spa area where she told me to be quiet while she was lecturing us about having soft drinks in the Spa area (she grabbed a bottle from my friend's hands while at the same time a group of German speaking guests were drinking alcohol in the hot tub). I started telling her this is not the way to speak to paying customers and she growled at me like some spinster headmistress in a Catholic school to be quiet while she talks. She refused to apologise for her discriminatory and despicable behaviour and threatened us with the police. She also said that 10 guys made a complaint about us about being too loud. I asked her would those be the guys who were diving in the pool and being overly loud and cheerful while drinking cocktails in the hot-tub. She obviously made that up. I have to say that all the staff are lovely, apart from her and the man and the woman who work there as massage therapists (David and Stanka) and are equally rude and appalling. All the waiters (especially Damir), barmen, engineers, cleaning ladies couldn't be more lovelier and helpful. If it wasn't for them I would never ever recommend this hotel. If there's any way you could avoid any contact with that reprehensible woman, I would recommend this otherwise lovely hotel; or else, if you're not German speaking, stay away from this hotel until they replace that horrible person. Someone like Georgia, who knows how to treat people with respect and dignity, especially people who spend there lots of money, would be nice to handle situations and manage the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mia201307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Best to choose room in superior standard, awesome swimming pool, outdoor jacuzzi where you can order drinks from, aroma showers and sounas. Breakfasts better than in some 5*hotels. Deffinitely worth comming back.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Karolina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We were in this hotel for 4 days. Ski lift is very close to the hotel and that is the main reason that we booked it. Stuff are very polite and always there to help. We had some problem with safe and they solve it quickly.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Antonija N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Wonderful place, nice hotel, accomodation and very good servises. We use very often sauna, swimming pool and outdoor whirpool. We must appreciate very good restaurant with willing personnel. Hotel is completely comfortable.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Iveta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We chose the hotel for two reasons. It is "adults only", so no screaming kids in the time of school holidays. Also, we had good previous experience with two hotels of the same management chain. Furthermore, we spent there a fine skiing week years ago, when the contemporary á la carte restaurant had two Michelin stars.

A major disaster under the new owner & management. We booked a junior suite for three, yet somebody forgot to mark that in their daily arrivals. We thus spent day one finding a proper room corresponding to our expectations and then getting the third set of bathrobe, slippers, towel set...

Mini bar was empty upon arrival and we realized following several failed attempts to get it filled, that basically hotel will gladly fill it with items of your specification. But you are then simultaneously presented the bill for the whole lot to sign on the spot... As if the management suspected the guest to try and cheat them on minibar items? Bad. To make it funny as well as unpleasant, the glasses that only came on day one with bottles ordered for mini bar misteriously disappeared on day two. My rather sad reminder at the reception that we still need glasses to use the filled mini bar resulted in zero effect. Three (3) hours later a truly angry protest at the reception resulted in glasses to reappear.

Bathrooms lacking any small toiletries. Four star hotel (or even ****S, depending on where you look and whom you listen to) not even up to a three star level? Bed reading lights sufficient not to miss your bed at night, but I have yet to see a person read a book using them. Idiocy. Somehow one gets the feeling the newly decorated rooms are half-finished. Wi-Fi free, but of utterly disastrous quality (speed, connectivity).

Want a snack in the late afternoon in the hotel bar? Not complimentary, mind you, as normal in winter in Austrian four and more star hotels. Just to have something and pay for it? No go, kitchen is busy preparing dinner.

Buffet breakfast acceptable, but nothing more; no sparkler. Halfboard dinner is a joke compared to those served ten years ago. The former spectacular beauty of a wine list replaced with a far shorter (well chosen!) assortment of Austrian, French, Italian and Spanish wines, but at unexcusably high markups of Russian or Turkish style.

Waiting for a drink in the hotel bar during daytime takes forever, both ordering and waiting for the goods. But then: you get your check with the goods and you are expected to pay/sign immediately... So that you do not run away, again?

Overall service level is highly disappointing. Several individuals try hard, some less hard, I had a feeling they are understaffed on account of obvious cost cutting. Complete disorganization and lack of communication among booking, reception, housekeeping and F&B from the first minute to the last. GM, who is responsible? A free bottle of champagne on ice in the room as an apology for the misery before departure? Of course not.

The point is: at a price tag of almost 500 EUR per day for three in a sadly underequipped junior suite, this is a disaster pure. Bring the hotel down, rebuild it and give it a direction. If you want the fanatic skier short of money and having very modest desires, coming from SLO, CRO, H, SK and CZ, then keep the style, reduce prices (as well as the ridiculous wine markups). If you want a more demanding and less fanatic hedonist from any of these, as well as similar Austrians, Germans and Italians that also used to come here in the past, then a serious upgrade in hotel philosophy and organization is required. First of all, a clear set of SOPs is mandatory!

And finally a word of advice to the banking owner beside the »free assessment report" (I could add some five more major faults): if you make your profits by simultanously cost cutting on supply side, and overcharging the Guest, the profits are no longer there in hotel business. Unless you invest in Lech, Cortina, St.Moritz, Kitz...

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank ZahtevniGost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews