We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Honeymug, Branton

The front of Honeymug
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Honeymug
Indoor heated pool Honeymug lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The front of Honeymug
Indoor heated pool
Honeymug lounge
Honeymug lounge
Kitchen and dining area
Kitchen and dining area
Master bedroom with kingsize bed
En-suite to master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Second twin room
Family bathroom
Hot tub!
Well-equipped gym
Mini-golf with tennis court and trampoline in the background
Games room with table-tennis, pool, air-hockey, table football, TV and comfy sofas
A view towards the lake
Children's adventure play area
Communal garden area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Powburn, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JTennick
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful break”
Reviewed 18 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

I took my 4 kids, aged 8 to 15, down for the first week in July and had a really super break. Everything was fantastically easy and as expected. The cottage is one of a little cluster but felt private and safe. Other people were very friendly and helpful. I had to ask where the pool was initially as I got cold feet wandering up a wee path in the wooded area next to someone else’s garden, but once found it seemed obvious! There’s also a games room with air hockey and ping pong etc; the weather was so amazing we didn’t need it much. My youngest two loved the mini golf around the tennis court and my oldest two enjoyed the tennis. There’s also a great wee footy ouch for a kick around - ideal during the world cup! We looked everywhere for croquet mallets and gave up in the end.... but there’s a course. And the pool is just terrific tho v v hot if you’re not in it! We were free the only ones in it - hope we didn’t scare everyone off ;-) The house was clean, tidy and most thoughtfully stocked, even down to food basics and home made marmalade. The only suggestion I’d make is upgrade the duvets - they were like washed pillows and lumped up within the outer sack inside the linen - the kids called me a few times to sort them out. But overall absolutely lovely base with lots to do round about. Plus only about 45m from Newcastle by car. Thoroughly recommended! Thanks. Jane

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2018
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback Jane - delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, it sounds like your family had a great time. We have now replaced all of the duvets in the cottage - you're quite right that they were in poor condidtion. I hope we can welcome you all back again soon! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alisondes...
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place for families”
Reviewed 29 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great cottage with brilliant facilities to suit all the family - on site indoor swimming pool, gym, tennis courts, trampoline, play ground, pool table, table tennis etc etc, plenty to keep the kids entertained! Set beside a lake in a beautiful part of Northumberland - quiet village location with lots of local walks. The cottage is about a 25 minute drive from Alnwick and a further 10 minutes to the beach. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this cottage to friends and we’ll no doubt be back ourselves. The owner responded promptly to queries and couldn’t have been more helpful, booking was very straight forward.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks so much for taking the time to leave feedback. I hope we can welcome you back soon :) John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We can’t fault our stay! Everything was perfect; the cottage, leisure facilities, location and even the welcome basket was a lovely touch.
We will be rebooking soon!
Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us :) John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
1 review
“Honeymug cottage”
Reviewed 16 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Stayed hear for Two nights to celebrate a friends birthday, had a fantastic time, cottage was very clean, comfortable beds, lovely living area, the whole place is really nice, we loved to pool and jacuzzi, and went for a walk down the lake, would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing few days away,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2018
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback and I hope we can welcome you again soon! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolwhit...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Honeymug Cottage”
Reviewed 12 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I have just returned from spending two nights at Cozy Retreats Honeymug Cottage at Powburn.
The cottage was booked for 6 ppl and we went there for a girly suprise weekend for my lovely friend's 50th Birthday.
When we arrived and opened the front door we seen two twin rooms a bathroom and a double bedroom with en suite,all of which were decorated to the highest quality.All of us had smiles on our faces and i knew instantly i had booked the right place for us.
We proceeded upstairs to the living room where we all thought it had the WOW Factor,it was very spacious with two comfy setees two comfy chairs a log fire, television, dvd player and cd player and plenty of books and games.The kitchen was well equiped with a fridge and freezer dishwasher oven, hob,microwave and every kind of cutlery you can think of.
There was a welcome basket on the big table in the kitchen which was every much appreciated and added that extra touch.
We all went to the lovely heated swimming pool, jaccuzzi,sauna and steam room where it was relaxing,invigorating and we had great fun, again all of the highest quality.
We also spent time at the lake and had a great time.
The little added touches at Honeymug Cottage made this a fantastic place to stay.
I would love to come back and stay here again.
Thankyou Mr and Mrs Rook for a fantastic stay.
Kind Regards Mrs C White

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2018
Thanks for your kind words Carol and for taking the time to leave feedback. I hope we can welcome you again soon! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing