We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, location, location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
South Gorley, Fordingbridge, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annmarie7...
Worcestershire UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just sitting down with a cuppa on our return from a wonderful week hidden away in the lovely Endymion. We did a lot of research before booking this hide away. We were looking for somewhere in the heart of the forest, a short walk from a pub and a back to basic feel - all boxes ticked and then some in the end. The cottage is cute, rustic, cosy and situated within the forest with walks at the door step - our threes dogs have been well and truly exercised! We can highly recommend High Corner Inn and the Red Shoot, had lovely meals at both pubs. We also found the New Forest Inn in the centre of the forest and that was lovely too. The beaches were only a short drive away and most dog friendly at this time of the year. It really is paradise for dogs. Steve and Judy were very welcoming and friendly - something we really appreciated. The biggest compliment we can make is that we cannot wait to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahtoyo...
1 review
“Lovely location, disappointing accommodation”
Reviewed 28 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Location of our stay was in a lovely part of the New Forest, however on arrival we immediately thought that we had paid way over the top for what was on offer.

The 'cabin' felt similar to staying in a b&q shed and was grubby.

We left a day early as was unable to get the shower to work and no contact was made with the owner during our stay.

On return we contacted Sykes Cottages with whom we made the booking and told them of our experience especially shower facilities not working. They contacted the owner who denied anything was wrong. I had take a video of the shower not working which clearly showed the issue however it was still denied.

I feel annoyed that we had to cut short our holiday and wasted money on this booking. My recommendation would be to avoid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawnwith5...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location, shame about the cottage”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Great location just a shame about the cleanliness of the cottage and the crockery etc. Very dark inside and all rather grubby & 'tired. Lots of cobwebs & spiders. Could be made into a wonderful romantic getaway with some money spending on the interior. New pillows etc would certainly help. Finding snails climbing up the bathroom walls was not the best experience. The bed settee couldn't be used properly as not really enough space to put up safely. Cooking facilities very basic. On a positive note the bottle of wine & flowers were a nice gesture. The pictures on the website are also out of date. High Corner pub (just a short walk/drive away) do a wonderful Sunday lunch carvery and good evening meals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Needed a good thorough clean & updating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbie c
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very relaxing stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This charming little chalet was set in a quiet part of the new forest..an ideal location if you want to drop off the map.we were left some provisions to get us started along with flowers on the table & a bottle of wine.there was a woodburner to keep the chalet cosy in the evening along with a plentiful supply of wood.a bbq where they even left a supply of charcoal..we took our two dogs that were welcome as there was an enclosed garden.we sat and watched various colourful birds on the feeders in the late afternoon including a pair of woodpeckers.a pub that did food & had a large was a 10 minute walk down the lane.thoroughly recommended relaxing break & we shall be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace & quiet
Liked least: having to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula W
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic location!”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This cabin in right in the forest and a great place to stay for a break. We stayed for a week with our 2 dogs and loved it. Yes, it is small, but it is a cabin so that's to be expected - if you read the property details your expectations should be set correctly. Kitchen facilities are limited but there is a barbecue (coal was also provided!). There are 2 pubs within walking distance - 1 about 8 mins and the other 45 mins - both of which welcome dogs and have a good selection of food and drink. The owners dogs were out in the garden but were very friendly and at no time attempted to get into our part of the garden.
Before we left we were already discussing when we could come back again, fantastic week and can't wait for our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Kitchen facility
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing