We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little haven of peace and tranquility”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
South Gorley, Fordingbridge, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma C
rotherham
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“quaint little cottage”
Reviewed 31 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed for a week and feel it was more suited for a long weekend. Although we both loved the charm of the cottage I don't feel we would particularly return. The forest location is great really quiet, however from the photos shown we assumed we would be away from other properties, we weren't we were in the same yard as the owners who had two noisy dogs. I am frightened of alsations and found it intimidating. They also had a number of cars on the from including a souped up Peugeot that came growling up the path at times. Three of the table lights didn't work and we only saw the owner once and we were desperate for more wood so ended up buying candles to use instead of getting bulbs. The kitchen was small with no oven so cooking was a pain. It was fine for the short time we spent inside and the owner was lovely but personal preference we wouldn't go back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review regarding Endymion.

We’re sorry that the presence of the owner’s dogs made you feel uncomfortable however we do aim to make this clear through the notes included in the property description.

We hope that this did not spoil your holiday and are really pleased to hear that you found the cottage charming, thought the owner was lovely and enjoyed the tranquil forest location.

We hope to have you book with us again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui S
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic cottage, quiet location in the New Forest”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in a lovely little rustic cabin in the New Forest. Located in a quiet area of the owners garden.
Very relaxing and tranquil. Walks on the doorstep. Very dog friendly.
Pub within walking distance, serving good food.
Sadly, we found when lighting the woodburner, we were unable to relax infront of the fire. The front of the woodburner did not have glass that you could see through, and so we were not able to see the flame. This was a shame, as this was one of the main reasons we rented the cabin.
We also found that the en-suite shower room had a strong odour from the damp. Only having an electric wall heater, which we found very warm, but not enough to stop the damp smell.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, ideal if you have dogs. Privacy.
Liked least: Odour in shower room. Not being able to see the fire within the woodburner.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aoj2res
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No privacy, owners always snooping around and knocking on the door!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The place was truly beautiful, the forest amazing with animals running free.
But the cottage was right next to owners house who were always snooping around, knocking on our door and rudely threw us out at 9.55 am ( 10 am is usually the leaving hour).
Won't repeat or recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Com cônjuge/parceiro
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Não.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alipalm
Norwich, England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pretty basic log cabin in owner's garden - you will need a 4x4 to access it easily”
Reviewed 11 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Have to say I was a little disappointed with this property. Yes it is tucked away in some fantastic countryside with some great walks right on the doorstep but in reality it is a small wooden cabin which can only be easily accessed with a 4x4 vehicle as it is reached in either direction for at least a mile along a rough, potholed forest track (in fairness to the owner he was improving the worse of the ruts near the cabin when we were there).
Although the owner has made some nice little homely touches the kitchen is tiny and along with the bathroom just about adequate but nothing special.
Although there is a woodburner it is cracked and in need of replacement so is not very efficient at heating up the property which, due to its construction, is very draughty in cold weather.
The property looked as if it could do with a bit of a facelift and some new furniture - the dining table and chairs are very wobbly.

It's a good base if you are looking for somewhere within easy reach of Ringwood/Christchurch/Beaulieu etc, all of which are an easy drive away, or you like walking/have dogs and don't intend doing much cooking and are only going to return to the cabin to sleep.

Oh, and if it's important to you to have a decent mobile signal/broadband access this property is not for you! Mobile signal very patchy, only worked on and off nearby and not in the cabin.

There are a great couple of pubs within walking distance, both of which are very friendly, welcome muddy boots/paws and serve great value food. The Red Shoot is about 25 mins walk from Endymion, High Corner Inn about 15 mins away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Access to property, property in need of a facelift/better heating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard
Reviewed 5 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing