We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
vanderh0rst
London, United Kingdom

One of the best histels we’ve ever stayed in

Review of AquamarInn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Nov 2019via mobile
We stayed at AquamarInn for a few nights in November 2019. I honestly can say it was one of the best hostels that we’ve stayed in on our trip in South America so far. I always look at the pros and cons of each place, and in this case I found it really hard to even come up with any cons. Anyway, see below for my thoughts.

Pros:
Great location. Close enough to the centre but far enough away to be tranquil. Very close to the beach as well
Huge rooms. We had a triple to ourselves and it was one of the biggest we’d stayed in
Room and shared bathroom were both very clean. Shower was very hot
Mosquito nets above all beds
Breakfast was nice and filling
Staff very attentive and friendly. Always willing to help
Compound is secure without feeling like a prison. Very relaxing and plenty of covered areas to chill out, out of the sun
Little touches make the difference, like welcoming you personally at 0445 in the morning when you arrive off the night bus through to mosquito coils burning in the shared bathrooms to keep the bugs at bay
Beers and water available to buy at decent prices
Communication before we arrived (via email) was excellent
Price was good and included breakfast

Cons (and I’m scraping the barrel here for some improvement suggestions...):
No swimming pool (but we knew that when we booked so not their fault)
Breakfast was the same each day (3 mornings) which I can imagine would get repetitive if you stayed longer but as I said, it was big and filling, and included in the price, so literally a minor, minor point
No free drinking water provided

As usual, I ask myself at the end of each stay, would we stay again? Categorically yes - we loved this place and would heartily recommend it to anyone looking for a tranquil place to relax for a few days. Our thanks for the management for making our stay so pleasant.


Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    R 1 626
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from AquamarInn
Free Wifi
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.3 km from AquamarInn
Free Wifi
Pool
Piscina y inmueble
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 685
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from AquamarInn
Pool
Beachfront
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from AquamarInn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.3 km from AquamarInn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.1 km from AquamarInn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • travelup.com
5.7 km from AquamarInn
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.4 km from AquamarInn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 186
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from AquamarInn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 173
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from AquamarInn
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Mancora
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
77
12
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
12
5
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

This hotel has everything you need. The owners are extremely nice and friendly, you feel like home as soon as you walk in. The place is beautiful, the room is the cleanest ever seen in SA so far, breakfast is lovely and the attention to details is incredible.
We supposed to stay only one night but we extended to 4 nights!
Wonderful, thank you so much!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank susannaf943
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2019 via mobile

We visit the hotel for new year's eve and we found a small paradise for relax in Mancora. The guests are a very nice russian family that make you feel as home ❤. The best place if you want to relax and feel safe nearby the beautiful beaches of Mancora.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chabe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Just finished a stay here and have a great time. Astoundingly when we turned up at 5am they greeted us by name, lead us straight to our room with no fuss or questions and we checked in properly in the morning! Exceptional service.

Breakfast had best bread of Peru and nice eggs.

I had an interview via Skype back in UK (530am :S) and the internet was fast and uninterrupted, I've also been able to watch YouTube which is not the same for most of my time in Peru!

All in all I can't recommend enough although my one bit of feedback would be it would be great to have a specific room to leave luggage with a lock etc but to be fair the hostess did look after our passports in her house to keep them safe!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jameswJ1041VJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We spent a few really pleasant nights here.
We had the room with shared bathroom, which was always clean since it was cleaned several times a day. Our own room was also very spacious and comfortable.
There is a big court where you can relax and enjoy the sun.
The beach is also not too far away.
Breakfast was a lot so you do not leave the table hungry.
And the owners were really really nice.
We can just recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGO99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This is a lovely spot, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Mancora.

We have just spent 4 great nights here and really can't fault the place.

We arrived super early on our check in day, and the lovely hosts allowed us to enter our room early. We were told to chill out and sleep and registration formalities could take place later, a nice touch.

The rooms are spacious, the beds comfy and the showers hot. Breakfast is simple but ample, and the staff are very helpful and courteous. The wifi strength is excellent, too.

The walk into Mancora is around 10 minutes so you are not far away from the bars and restaurants on offer. There is a kitchen for use in the property too.

Our overnight bus left at 10pm, but the hosts allowed us to keep our bags stored there and to relax in the gardens, use the wifi and enjoy the sunshine.

Thanks for a great stay!

Room tip: We stayed in a room on the right hand side of the property as you enter, which have private bathrooms.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pasta85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews