We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Larissa S

lovely stay!

Review of Selina Mancora
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Nov 2023via mobile
My stay at Selina was amazing. The nice views, good parties. My room had a really nice view over the ocean and the pool area. If you want to get sleep at night, take earplugs music is loud! Overall lovely stay. Some of the stuff could be more friendly…
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Selina Management Global, Other at Selina Mancora, responded to this review
Responded 21 Nov 2023
Hi Larissa,

We are thrilled that you had a great experience at Selina! Your valuable feedback is highly appreciated, and we will continue to enhance our services as we expand. Thank you for taking the time to contribute towards making Selina an outstanding destination for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thanks & Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 153
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 157
  • eDreams
    R 1 153
0.6 km from Selina Mancora
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 787
R 1 625
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 787
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 787
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Selina Mancora
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 036
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    R 1 036
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Selina Mancora
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 704
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 3 937
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 390
4.6 km from Selina Mancora
Free Wifi
Free parking
La Posada de Mancora
R 346
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 347
0.5 km from Selina Mancora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Piscina y inmueble
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 828
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 677
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Selina Mancora
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 821
  • Hotels.com
    R 730
  • Vio.com
1.6 km from Selina Mancora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 788
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 725
  • Vio.com
0.7 km from Selina Mancora
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 301
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
3.2 km from Selina Mancora
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 606
  • Vio.com
2.1 km from Selina Mancora
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Mancora
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
154
112
37
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
154
112
37
25
14
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2023

The bathrooms are spotlessly clean. The first thing that can make or break our stay for my wife. The rooms follow suit. The cleanliness is only surpassed by the staff.

And the beach is fantastic, along with the food quality - excellent - a little short on variety, but that is OK>

Would we stay again? Yes, and that affirms our best recommendation.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wayne154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Selina Management Global, Other at Selina Mancora, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2023

We greatly appreciate your comments! We are delighted to know that your experience was exceptional and we welcome you with open arms in our Selina family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2023 via mobile

I found my stay at Selina frustrating. Upon arrival we discovered that breakfast was not added to the room. The receptionist could not assist as it was a booking issue with the website. After some investigations I realised that having added the website offer with breakfast to the order, but taking some time to make the decision, Selina consequently sent me an email urging me to make the booking with an extra small discount code. Great I thought. So I made the booking, adding this code. However, not all was what it seemed. The special offer code took away the breakfast, which meant it wasn’t an extra discount at all, it would have cost more after taking breakfast. So the price I paid on check-in was more expensive than was still currently on the website taking breakfast.

No problem I thought, surely customer services would rectify this, due to the fact they had initiated the issue with their email. Obviously a big chain like this would just, at minimum, ask me to pay the 50 PEN different to get the package intended. Wishful thinking on my part.
After a back and forth email exchange, taking nearly a week, due to the replies sometimes taking days, the result was nothing can be done or changed. I was, in the end, offered some free points on the app, that you can use towards a stay at a Selina. Awesome. However, again not all was as it seemed. I tried to take an extra day to extend this trip with the given points, only to be told I couldn’t use it at this Selina for one day. The app mandated a two day stay. Again I asked if customer services could override this, taking into account I’d just paid for 6 days. Answer; no. They suggested I travel 800km to a different Selina I could use it at, that allows one night. Having already advised I was leaving for home to the UK one day later, obviously this suggestion was not viable.

I think the thing that finished me off mentally was after leaving the room on the last day, then handing in the key, having a just a few hours to kill, I headed to the pool (before scheduled to take the bus) with my dirty towel from the room in hand. We were then approached to say we could not use our dirty towel to dry off from the pool, unless we paid for it again and the supervisor asked to take it. Nice one Selina.

So the end result of a very simple initial problem of not including breakfast, ultimately resulted in us choosing to spend around $500 US on alcohol and meals outside of Selina, as it seemed the only power we had to express our dissatisfaction. The actual cost of the breakfast was not the issue and was negligible, it was the principle of the matter; of a large company who should have customer service at its core, not having any flexibility to guarantee customer satisfaction for a basic issue and in the end cost them quite a lot of lost revenue.

Just when you think it’s all over, the chaos of Selina customer services strikes again. Having given up on an extra night and just heading home , whilst in the bus station at 17:00, I foolishly checked the app again, and would you believe it it showed I could now choose one night for free at Mancora on the cheep cylinder room.
Obviously they have a policy where they don’t want to sell one Friday night, and they the hold out for bookings taking the entire weekend it seems, but at 17:00 they seem to lift that restriction. So I could have stayed after all, if I waited until 17:00 to book if I had been iformed correctly, as the place was not busy, so this was always going to be the case. Nice one again Selina customer services.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PJW1980PJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Selina Management Global, Other at Selina Mancora, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2023
Google Translation

Lamentamos mucho tu experiencia en nuestro hotel y trabajaremos en mejorar cada una de tus observaciones. Esperamos brindarte un mejor servicio próximamente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2022

They place is amazing great facilities! We came here 3 days to spend our money to enjoy the food and drinks. The only thing that was really annoying where the dogs that kept liking our legs, touching our stuff and putting there noses literally in our food. The staff and the owners of the doga are not focused on this problem. They constantly see us correcting the animals.

Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank 830socialm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2022

Great place to relax during the day. If you looking to relax at night the music will draw you out of your room. Great place for couples and people looking to have a great time. I wouldn’t really recommend for famliy or people who do not appreciate the party vibe. Lots of great staff Alejandra at the front desk is very helpful if you need anything. Cynthia Can hook you up with fun activities like acro yoga, Paddleboard, and many other activities. At night you can find Johnny boy making some dance moves and serving up delicious cocktail. All the other staff are great as well, always with good vibes.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Imesterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ginniva Bozo, Other at Selina Mancora, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2022
Google Translation

Gracias por tus comentarios y bienvenido a nuestra familia selina!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2022

First, let me start by saying this review is more directed toward the management of the hotel and not the staff. The staff were great, friendly and attentive to. If it wasn't for them the hotel will get a lesser rating. Check-in was poor compare to other hotels. After a 4 hour flight delay, missed connection and a long car drive to the hotel, all we wanted is to check in right away and relax. The check in was close to hour long with providing constant information, filling out paperwork and downloading their apps for each family member including for a minor. Need to speed up the check in process. The room was not prepared for a family of four. We had constant problem with door scanner and we were provided with one key card that we could be charged if lost. Even 2 star hotels provide you with 2 key cards. Food and drink were good. Although a ridiculous policy of management is to pay 'right away' after ordering anything small or big. This is problematic for foreign travelers when they have to constantly charge their credit card if they don't have cash on hand for every small transaction (e.g. one drink or a candy bar). I didn't see any ATM machines on site either. How about charging it to our room? Ask for a credit card and/or ID to leave an account open? I get it that Mancora is filled with the young, energetic, and free-spirited backpackers - which means their using up their communion money for their travel expense- but how about catering to other demographics? Like family, older crowds, or business people that can provide more revenue to the hotel. Also not to turn the hotel into a nightclub a majority of the nights. Don't get me wrong I did have a good time one night but then it got tiring. Music is TOO LOUD and no way to get away from it. We had a 5am start next morning, and music didn't die down until 2:30am. Selina management should consider broadcasting on their website that this place turn into a night club on some nights because its TOO LOUD!

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbinzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Selina Management, Other at Selina Mancora, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2022
Google Translation

hola gracias por tu opinion ! trabajaremos para mejorar en los puntos mencionados !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews