We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Catherine N
Frederick, South Dakota, United States

Ahhh Beach

Review of Claro de Luna
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Feb 2014
What a nice place this is. Small, quaint, outside of town. The beach is spectacular and provides great swimming and surf. There is a small pool there as well if you don't want the ocean. The breakfast was simple and delicious. Best of all, was the staff!!! Everyone was helpful, friendly and professional. Very impressed. The motel is just so nice with the rooms upstairs and living and eating area on main level.

It is hot there in the summer and they have no AC. There was one ceiling fan which didn't quite cool us off. When we put another fan in the room it made a huge difference.

It does take some effort to get here. We flew to Piura from Lima. Took a bus from Piura to Mancora (3 hours or so) Tuk Tuk to motel. BUT to get to this beautiful place and hang at the beach for a week, it was worth it.

From the motel you can walk to a few different restaurants located on the beach. We also took a tuk tuk back to town a couple of nights for dinner. Food was good in all locations. tuk tuk's go by the hotel all the time, so getting around is easy. But after being in Mancora town an evening or two, staying at the motel was a whole lot better option. Town is busy busy busy and full of tourist shops, restaurants and bars. for us a little of that and a lot of beach is what we like!

I would come back here again. loved it!
Date of stay: January 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Claro de Luna
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.3 km from Claro de Luna
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 10 606
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Claro de Luna
Free Wifi
Free parking
Piscina y inmueble
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 910
  • Booking.com
2.5 km from Claro de Luna
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 235
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 768
1.7 km from Claro de Luna
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
3.5 km from Claro de Luna
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 952
  • Booking.com
3.2 km from Claro de Luna
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 427
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Claro de Luna
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.6 km from Claro de Luna
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 1 271
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 506
2.5 km from Claro de Luna
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Mancora
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
139
16
0
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
139
16
0
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were group of couples and stayed here for a few days after doing the Inca Trail. Very nice staff, great food and beverages. Comfortable, clean hotel on a nice part of an otherwise pretty rocky beach. A very relaxing experience, which was exactly what we were looking for. We ended up enjoying our time relaxing at the hotel over exploring the town, which was close, but not too close. The food was excellent and we ate at the hotel often, trying all of the various sea food options. Definitely recommend.

Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Claro de Luna is a very well run small hotel in a good location whose owners and staff do their best to make you feel welcome. It sits on a great stretch of wide beach just outside Mancora town and has the advantage unlike others that every evening you can watch the sun set.

The atmosphere at the hotel is relaxed and friendly. Whilst the hotel only provides a buffet breakfast they have a bar which serves cocktails and drinks though out the day. They do recommend other beach side establishments where you can eat or others in Mancora town which we found helpful.

Bearing in mind the hotel is located next to the beach I was impressed at the efforts they made to maintain the hotel's cleanliness. For example every morning they re-fill their small swimming pool in the early hours just to make sure their guests have the best possible stay. We were aware of this as we also stayed at another beach hotel in Mancora who didn't do this, the difference is very noticeable.

I liked the honesty of the owners too. When booking they pointed out the 18% sales tax that foreigners do not have to pay. This was not the case at the other hotel where we stayed where we had to haggle to get this taken off our bill!

There is also a house adjoining the hotel that the owners rent out to larger groups with a beautiful garden. We may consider this the next time we return to Mancora.

So if you would like a relaxed stay in Mancora with excellent service then I cannot think of a better place to recommend.

Room tip: If travelling with a family ask for the top floor as there is a double room with an adjoining bedroom with bunk beds.
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here in October of 2013 after spending a week doing more active things around Peru (hiking, camping, white water rafting, etc.). I had picked Claro de Luna based on the many favorable reviews I read online, and it did not disappoint!

The hotel is located in Las Pocitas, which is a few km from downtown Mancora. It was actually really nice being a bit off the beaten path. The beach was pretty uninhabited, which I would imagine is not the case closer to town. I had read reviews about other hotels in the area, saying that there are rocks in the ocean that make it difficult to swim. This was not the case with Claro de Luna! The beach directly in front of the hotel was rock-free, which made it great for swimming and body surfing. The hotel provided chairs and cabanas on the beach.

The hotel itself was really charming. There were only a handful of rooms, which kept everything feeling really cozy. I liked the fact that the place wasn't swarming with other guests. The main lobby opened up into a shared living room, dining area, bar, and then... pool & beach. I loved the open floor plan of the main part of the hotel. It was so relaxing. The rooms were pretty simple and sparse, but they were clean, and who comes here to hang out in the room anyway? We had room #10, which was the only room with an ocean view. It was so relaxing to fall asleep to the sound of waves lapping up on the beach each night!

Before our trip, I was a little nervous about the weather since it was going to be the "off-season," but we had fantastic weather... loads of sun, wonderfully warm ocean water to swim in. The sun is STRONG! I came with a tan (and tan easily), and slathered on SPF 45 about 10x/day and STILL got a lot of sun. Be careful! Oh! It was also cool that we got to see whales migrating south on two of the three days we were there. Apparently September is the best month for this, but we lucked out and saw a few stragglers in mid-October :) The beach was very, very windy... not sure if that was a random thing, a seasonal thing, or if it's always like that. It wasn't terrible, but a few times we had to move back up to the pool area because the wind blew the sand around too much to tolerate.

What really made this hotel a winner was the owner and staff. The owner, Ricardo (although I think his son, Latauro, might be the "main" owner - he was away when we were there), was so, so nice and helpful. He was a very relaxed guy (I never saw him with shoes on), and very accommodating. The guys that work at the bar were very sweet and also very helpful. One guy - Rolando - was always smiling every time I saw him. My husband and I nicknamed him "smiley."

My only complaint about our stay here was that, since we were there during the off-season, the restaurant was closed except for breakfast. This was disappointing, as we were really looking forward to the convenience of an on-site restaurant (and had read really good things about the restaurant online!). It wasn't so bad walking to nearby restaurants, but it was annoying that they didn't even have snacks at all to enjoy with our poolside Pisco sours. I think they should at least have some chips & dip or something handy, but oh well. If having an on-site restaurant is important to you, I would recommend inquiring about theirs before booking.

Room tip: Room #10 has an ocean view
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 159jessieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel. The owner, Ricardo, could not have been nicer. We just returned to Cuenca yesterday after spending four days at Claro de Luna. All of his staff are excellent and they will do anything possible to make your stay enjoyable. We were a group of 3 couples traveling together from Cuenca, Ecuador.

Some things you may want to consider:
1) From previous reviews, we were expecting a great restaurant. Now, they only serve a breakfast buffet, which was very good. But if you want to eat lunch or dinner, you will have to walk down the beach to other hotels that still have full service restaurants. That was a disappointment because we just really wanted to kick back and stay at the hotel. But there are two good hotel restaurants within walking distance on the beach...just wash your feet off before you enter them.

2) If you are older or have any kind of physical limitations, the only transport into Mancora is by a "tuk-tuk" such as one finds in Asia; a motorcycle with a seat across the back. The road the hotel sits on is extremely pock-marked and bumpy. So going into town is not a good experience if you have a bad back, for example. The only evening we went in, Ricardo was kind enough to drive us in his SUV...so sweet...but we were forced to take a tuk-tuk back. If this is an issue for you, you may want to consider staying at another hotel that has a full time restaurant.

3) This lovely hotel is "out" from town, on the quiet part of the beach. It's away from night life and the fishing harbor. So for us, this was wonderful! The sand is beautiful, the weather was
sunny and not too hot. When the vendors or horse back riding people come up to you, if you are on the beach, you can wave them away and they won't hassle you anymore...unlike in other countries. Everyone was lovely and kind. Knowing a little Spanish is helpful but not necessary as Ricardo speaks English and he has a google translator.

4) Because we went in the off season (October) and because we are not Peruvian citizens, we got a $10 (USD) per night discount on our rooms. That was a nice surprise.

5) The number 1 rated restaurant in town was closed the night we went in (Tuesday) so we tried the Thai restaurant, called TAO, which is across the street and down a bit. It was VERY good. Be careful after dark with your belongings, especially if you are women traveling alone
or a young woman traveling alone. The local guys hanging around the main drag can get a bit aggressive towards women. But that can happen anywhere in the world, right?

So you will really like this hotel and it's staff and cleanliness. Room #1 is on the first floor, in the back and we had our own private veranda. We couldn't see the ocean but could easily hear it all of the time. Great way to fall asleep.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Wow this was the perfect place to end our holiday in Peru. The couple who own the hotel could not be more helpful, from translating the amazing specials board to printing boarding pass's. the hotel has a homely family feel right on the beach with sunsets to die for. Meals were excellent as we're the cocktails, we simply didn't move for 5 days its that good.

Date of stay: August 2013
1  Thank StuartG782
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews