We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Magdagalo
Los Angeles, California

Love it!

Review of Punta del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 03 Mar 2011
I enjoyed my stay, it is a beautiful place. The service was good, friendly personnel.
Ms Zambrano was very professional and cordial.
I am planning on going back.
Love it.
Date of stay: February 2011
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 152
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 152
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 150
  • eDreams
    R 1 152
1.8 km from Punta del Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Piscina y inmueble
R 1 831
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 831
  • Vio.com
    R 1 633
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 684
2.0 km from Punta del Mar
Pool
Beachfront
R 1 034
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 034
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 033
  • Vio.com
    R 1 033
1.8 km from Punta del Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 789
R 1 626
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 789
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 788
  • Booking.com
3.0 km from Punta del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 210
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 210
  • Vio.com
    R 795
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 209
1.2 km from Punta del Mar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 820
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 731
  • Hotels.com
    R 731
  • Vio.com
    R 819
2.7 km from Punta del Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 293
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
No fees just great deals
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
2.1 km from Punta del Mar
Free parking
Pool
R 1 919
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 785
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 726
  • Priceline
    R 1 785
0.5 km from Punta del Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 710
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 3 932
  • Priceline
    R 3 932
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 394
3.5 km from Punta del Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 605
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 605
  • Vio.com
    R 287
3.1 km from Punta del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Mancora
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
33
47
19
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
33
47
19
11
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We stayed at Punta del Mar over New Years holiday and were very disappointed because many Trip Advisor reviews were good. Our room was very basic - poor lighting, only one night stand reading lamp, no table, no chairs, Direct TV only work sporatically, no waste basket in the room, very poor mattress, etc. The bathroom was not cleaned properly and we were given only two thin bath towels.
The breakfast included in the rate was poor and the menu for other meals a joke. No towels were available at the pool and there were no lounge chairs on the beach which is a standard for many hotels in Mancora.
A positive is the location on a nice part of Las Positas beach and not far from the pueblo Mancora.
If you are looking for a 3 star hostal, this is it.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilverLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Last July my girlfriend and me went to Mancora for a week.Book on Punta del Mar Hotel. Accomodations and clean of the rooms are good.Try the restaurant of the Hotel served good food,try Lomo Saltado and Shrimp Causa,reasonable portions and the prices not far from the restaurants in town.Carina was very helpfull and the staff also.Only Carina the Hotel Supervisor speak English .
We try different spots for Lunch and Dinner.La Bajadita served Main Courses,Sandwichs and desserts,very good and affordable prices.Pescaderia Lama,reserved my thumbs up, for seafood Creole style was the best,The Sudados,Ceviches and Seafood Rissoto was the best I had in years.
Chan Chan Italian was a good option for home made pasta and Pizzas,very friendly and attentive staff.
For a nice end of the day Mancora Surf Club Bar located in the Main Street,hosted by Jaime and girlfriend Niove,the spot to be always really cold beers,the Pisco Sours and Mojitos are the best in Mancora.Great music and ambiance.Don't miss this spot.
We'll return next year for 2 weeks,thanks Mancora for a great week.

Thank Cesar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2008

I agree with the previous review. This place was a great value for being right on the beach. My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in the beginning of May. We also got the deluxe room and were really pleased with it. The regular rooms look a little stuffy and dark, although that could be because there was a large group of teenagers occupying them at the time. The balcony with a hammock is great for watching the sunset. The pool is also really nice. The best out of the pool areas that we observed while walking up and down the beach.

The beach was fairly clean and really nice to walk on at low tide. During high tide, it practically disappears. There are lots of tidal pools to explore at low tide and there were a lot of people, including families, walking around as well. We didn´t go in the water there because the large rocks in the water seemed kind of dangerous to us.

The food at the hotel is not great and it´s overpriced, yet we ended up eating breakfast and lunch there almost every day because of the convenience. It was also easy to get into town. it costs 3 soles for an auto-rickshaw and there is a wide selection of restaurants there. There was also a mini fridge in the room if you want to keep food.

I would definitely say that this is one of the better deals on the beach after seeing that many of the higher priced places looked pretty much the same as this one. The service was friendly and efficient, for the most part. Although, I agree with the last reviewer, I got the impression that they didn´t speak much English.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkg224
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2008

My fiance and I spent four nights from March 4-7at Punta del Mar, which is located a couple of kilometers down a dirt road, south of Mancora. It's not easy to find, but it is definitely worth checking it out if you're going to be in the area. We paid about $55 a night for a "deluxe" room that was on the second floor facing the beach, with a nice balcony and hammock, and large tub. We thought it was going to be a jacuzzi tub, but it didn't have any jets -- it was just large enough for two people. I felt like it was definitely worth the price and much nicer than the other cheap hostels in Mancora.

Our room was cleaned daily, there was great water pressure in the shower, and we never ran out of hot water once. There was a nice ceiling fan in the room, as well as a small TV hooked up to DirecTV, which we didn't have to pay extra for. The sheets were clean, and I felt like they did a really good job keeping our room and the property neat, tidy and clean. There was a bit of a bug problem, but only due to the fact that there was a small space between the bottom of the front door and the floor, and Mancora has a beetle problem. These large beetles come out en masse at night, and if you touch them or try to move them, they will spray you with a strange-smelling scent that's hard to wash off. The room wasn't infested with these beetles, by any means, but we did catch a couple of them sneaking in under the door at night, and solved that problem by putting a towel in front of the door at night to block the gap.

The hotel pool was not too chlorine-y, was really clean, and was a nice, warm temperature. There was a hot tub area on the side of the pool that confused us because while it looked like a hot tub (it was round, had seats and jets in the walls), it didn't seem to be any warmer than the pool and it was connected to the rest of the pool so the water would mix anyway. I think the pool was built as an infinity pool (the kind that has water flowing over the edge so it looks like the water just ends, instead of there being a pool wall), but the water level was low and so water wasn't flowing over the side like it should have been.

The staff was extremely friendly, although I don't think they spoke much English. We speak Spanish (so I can't evaluate the staff's English very well), but we were the only non-Latino people at the hotel, which was pretty full. I think they cater mostly to Peruvians.

The hotel has a restaurant, but after we ate dinner and breakfast there, it was quickly apparent why there were so few diners at the restaurant. The food is overpriced and not very good, although it's certainly edible. A better bet is to go to one of the neighboring hotels in Las Pocitas, many of which have fabulous restaurants, or else go into Mancora to eat. If you do go into Mancora, do yourself a favor and pay one of the moto-taxi drivers 3 soles (about $1 currently) to take you into Mancora. There are always moto-taxi drivers passing along the dirt road in front of the hotel, so it's easy to flag one down. Walking along the beach from Las Pocitas to Mancora isn't a good idea -- we found this out when we tried to do it and ended up having to walk through the water several times due to high water, and then ran into the local fishery where the boats are docked, and there was no real easy way to get through it and to the other side of the beach. Closer to Mancora the beach is full of litter and dead animals (we saw a couple of blue-footed boobies that had expired), and just generally smells bad. In other words, it's not a pleasant walk and is not recommended.

The beach in front of Punta del Mar was pretty clean, although it was somewhat rocky so we had to be careful where we swam and look out for rocks. There weren't many people on the beach, probably because most people go to Mancora where the beach isn't so rocky.

If you stay at Punta del Mar, get the deluxe room, which is only about $10 or $15 more than the standard room. The standard rooms are located right next to the pool and don't have balconies or large tubs. They're also right in front of some large speakers that blast American 80's music until about 9 or 10pm, so the more expensive rooms are quieter, too, due to their better location.

Date of stay: March 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariposita_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2023 via mobile
Google Translation

Room tip: Ver otras opciones con tiempo
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews