We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location, perfect cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Buena Vista Beach Cottage Calibishie Dominica
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Buena Vista Beach Cottage Calibishie Dominica
Lounge Chairs Historic rocks view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Buena Vista Beach Cottage Calibishie Dominica
Lounge Chairs
Historic rocks view
Relax and live in paradise
The best vacation ever on the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish, Dominica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
scarr2769
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Perfect location, perfect cottage”
Reviewed 16 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The only thing better than the view and location were our hosts, Webster and Freda. Nothing was overlooked in that cottage. Calibishie provided us with the laid back atmosphere we were seeking. When we requested some guide services as we did not rent a car, our hosts provided that as well. We saw and learned so much about Dominica that we would not have known otherwise and felt that it enhanced our time there immensely. The restaurants provided great food and the breadman makes a stop each evening right near the cottage with great fresh bread and sweet buns making breakfast an event each day. The beaches within walking distance of the cottage from Pointe Baptiste and Red Rocks to the area right outside our cottage kept us engaged from the first moment to the last of our stay. Our only regret was leaving.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2017
Oh Sharon you guys are just wonderful. Freda and I are very grateful for your kind words and we are happy that you and John could share in the love and warmth of our hospitality. It was nice to see you buying your bread from the bus. You guys were so down to earth and we really appreciated that. Hope your family are safe especially your mom. Till we meet again. Thank you.
Webster and Freda.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul r
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice clean beach house in a sleepy village”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Very clean, well appointed beach house. Webster and Freda could not have been more considerate hosts. They even loaned us, without asking, a local mobile phone. When we had difficulty recharging it they bought a new one!
Buena Vista is indeed situated right on the beach. Few people visit Calibishie beach so it is like having your personal beach. Especially since the neighbor Olivia rakes it each morning.
Pelicans and Frigate birds are common and an Osprey visits the bay most days. The village of Calibishie is a quiet spot, consisting mainly of a Main Street. There is one bank, one ATM, three grocery stores and some rum shops. And two or three restaurants. You can walk to all these in five or ten minutes. Tiny barbecues open up in the evenings grilling chicken or sweetcorn. Then they may be closed for a few days, all very informal. Generally in Dominica people are very friendly

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2017
Hello Paul and Janette,
I trust that you are back safe. We really appreciate the review. You guys are wonderful people and are welcome anytime. Thanks for choosing Buena Vista beach cottage.

Webster and Freda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iainnoble
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“top notch”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in November 2015

brings the reality of 'on the beach', cant get much closer. well positioned villa on the edge of town, quiet with your own private beach with only 5 mins to the bars & shops. superb villa with great owners.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2017
thank you very much Iain. You guys are just wonderful. Much love to you and Kaz.

Webster and Freda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Its been such a pleasure having you and David enjoy our paradise. Thank you so much for such great reviews. Its a beautiful place and we really want everyone who visit to experience that warmth and relaxation. You are more than welcome anytime. Thanks for the kind words on the postcard you left with the special treats. Thanks again for choosing Buena vista beach cottage. Talk to you soon. Thanks Katrin and David

Much love from Freda and I
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linda J B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The beach cottage was great.”
Reviewed 25 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We spent 4 nights at Buena Vista Beach Cottage. Webster and Frida were very friendly and very helpful. We appreciated their advice. Everything at the cottage was spotless. It was nicely furnished and very roomy for a studio. We appreciated the well equipped kitchen since we cooked many of our meals. The view from the interior, from the balcony and from down on the beach was great. We enjoyed seeing the distinctive rocks off to our left , the view of the ocean and the frigate birds, pelicans, osprey, etc. fishing off 'our' reef. We also enjoyed seeing the bananaquits and Lesser Antilles bullfinches in the 'our' coconut and banana trees. We also liked the distant views of Guadaloupe and Marie-Galante islands - especially at night when their lights were on. Walking through the village of Calibishie Cove was pleasant. Everyone was very friendly, as they were all over Dominica. We liked the pride in country expressed by all of the people of Dominica that we met. Batibou Beach, which Frida recommended, and which we chose to walk down to, was a beautiful, sandy, palm lined treasure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Thank you Linda for staying with us at Buena Vista cottage. Freda and I were happy to have you all share our taste of paradise. Thanks for such pleasant reviews. Do enjoy the Christmas season.

Webster and Freda.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing