We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Calibishie Sandbar(Calibishie)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Mainroad Suite(Calibishie)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jacoway Inn(Calibishie)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Calibishie Cove(Calibishie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calibishie Lodges(Calibishie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Lodges(Calibishie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
24
12
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
12
3
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdelicious dinnerlovely spotcocospiritguadeloupehostesskitchenettecookingislandroseau
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Liat standed us in Guadeloupe so we were unable to fulfill our booking. We made a point though to visit Veranda View and and chat with the Dutch lady who runs the place.

That visit made our frustration with Liat all the more painful as it is lovely and we would have really liked to stay there. Wonderful spot and breakfast on the beach would have been nice.

Try it.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trustjohnthefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Calibishie is a clean and quiet village. Veranda view is at the edge of town, right at the seafront. We were very pleased with the hospitality of Hermien, the owner. She does everything possible to make you feel welcome. Room was comfortable and clean. Two rooms have a kitchenette. Breakfast cooked by Coco was delicious. Dinner was cooked on request and the cooking was good. We hope to be back one day.

Room Tip: The room at ground floor has no kitchenette or balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ivo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

The view from the veranda is utterly enchanting - I cannot think of anywhere better for breakfast or for a lazy afternoon with a book. The house is literally beside the ocean.

The guest house is easy to find on the main road of the charming village of Calibishie - very convenient for airport and for exploring northern Dominica.

The owner is charming and well-informed, and will cook you a delicious dinner if you ask one day in advance. She also oversees the excellent cooked breakfasts (omelettes, fresh bread, local juices and local jams) that come with the price of the room. We had two days with early starts and we were given delicious breakfast sandwiches the night before, so that we could get up very early and start the day with a healthy meal.

Our room had a double bed, large bathroom, kettle and mugs, adaptor plug, and a small fridge. No air conditioning but the ceiling fan and open window kept us cool at night.

There is parking for a couple of vehicles on the property and easy street parking nearby. Small minivans that serve as local transport run very regularly.

Calibishie has a good choice of restaurants. Rainbow and Coral Reef are a couple of minutes walk and both served very good local food. Coral Reef has a small store and you can get cash with your ATM card when the local credit union is open (also just a few minutes walk).

Highly recommended as a base for exploring the north of the island. It's a bit of a drive to get to the south (about 1.5 hours to Roseau) but only about 30 minutes to Portsmouth.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank old-jogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Personal, comfortable place to stay right on beach with stunning views. You can enjoy breakfast at the veranda and watch different water birds catching fishes. Breakfast was good, though as a serious coffee lover I have to "complain" about instant coffee. Anyways, an excellent place to stay!

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Marra27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

My friend & I rented a cottage outside of the village. It was recommended by the landlord to visit Veranda View for breakfast. What a lovely spot at any time of the day. The owner was gracious and served a delicious breakfast. The veranda sits right at the waters edge so you can take in the beautiful blue waters. I dream about the view now that I'm back in winter weather.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews