We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent rental, friendly staff, great place for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Superior Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Superior Cottage
Superior Living Area Superior Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Superior Cottage
Superior Living Area
Superior Bedroom
Superior Fireplace
Regular Cottage
Regular Cottage Living Area
Regular Cottage Bedroom
Suites
Suite Living Area
Suites Twin Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Stanhope, Prince Edward Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mjk_15
Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent rental, friendly staff, great place for family and friends”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Sandpiper Cottages in August 2012 and went back in 2013. The cottages are well kept and have all the amenities you would need. Keith was an exceptional host! He is always available to answer questions and to provide info on things to do in Brackley Beach. The cottage grounds include a games room, camp fire area, volleyball courts and bike rentals, which I recommend. The beach is a short walk away. There are also fishing tours and delicious seafood restaurants a short bike ride away. I was traveling with a group of friends (once for a wedding), the second time with a group of friends from Ottawa. I definitely plan to return! Thanks Keith!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: East coast hospitality!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myzee27
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
“Quiet Escape”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We recently spent a week at Sandpiper Cottages and were very satisfied with the accommodations. The owner (Keith) was very helpful and provided us with an upgrade to a three bedroom cottage (free of charge) from a two bedroom to accommodate our children who were expected to come by during the week.
We were disappointed with the news that our dog was not allowed on the provincial park beach, but Keith directed us to another public beach close by were we were able to take our dog on daily walks.
The drive into Charlottetown is only 30 minutes and Cavendish beach is only 20 minutes from the cottage. Stanhope beach is only five minutes walk from Sandpiper (no dogs allowed).
A little fishing port called Cove Head is about ten to fifteen minutes walk from the cottages and has a small (very busy) restaurant called Richards. If you go there you have to try the lobster roll platter. It is $14 but is stuffed with lobster on a toasted bun ... served with a generous portion of home made French fries.
The fish and chips is just as good ... if not better.
Make sure you bring some mosquito spray for when the sun goes down.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty M
Elmsdale, Canada
1 review
“Quaint, charming and at-home feel”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I traveled to PEI from NS with my husband, and daughter and found the cottages at Sandpiper to be very homey and quaint. My daughter has two dogs so it was difficult to find accommodations that allowed pets to stay. The owner (Keith) was extremely friendly and helpful, stopping by to see if we settled in or needed anything. There was a wonderful playground and games room for my grandchildren (visiting from another nearby cottage). The cottage was roomy and while (as a previous reviewer said) there are no chandeliers, it was comfortable and reasonably clean. I would definitely stay there again! Thank you Keith for making our stay enjoyable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious accommodations
Liked least: The mosquitos!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Another great vacation at Sandpiper”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My husband, teenaged son and I spent four weeks at Sandpiper again this year (our third year in a row) and would like to thank Keith, Penny and the staff for another great stay. Our three bedroom accommodations were clean and comfortable, and we once again enjoyed the Stanhope location - quiet, close to beaches, the golf course and other attractions. Keith even approached us as we were leaving to ask our opinion about some improvements he is planning for next year. We have already booked the same space for summer 2014 and look forward to returning to Sandpiper Cottages for an authentic PEI cottage, beach and golf vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellin...
New Ross, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“don't waste your money”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

These cottages and "suites" are close to the beach and in an easy to find location, but that is about all it has going for it.
Upon check in to our "suite" - which is nothing more than an old mobile home converted into 4 "suites" which I am positive wouldn't meet building codes or electrical requirements - we discovered it to be very dated and VERY dirty (finger prints on the windows, mats had not been cleaned and about a half inch of dust and dirt under most of the furniture even the compost bin had food from the last visitors in it).
The play ground area had several pieces of equipment, many which were broken or missing pieces. WiFi is advertised as being available but didn't work very well and cell phone service is terrible in this region of the island.
I'm game for camping but at $150 per night...it lacks services and is the dirtiest place I have ever stayed....a 2.5-3 Star rating is generous at best!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: it was very dirty and not well maintained
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$151
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing