We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place”
other travellers have booked this property
The Moat House Annan
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Moat House Annan
The Moat House Annan - Farmhouse Kitchen Dining area The Moat House Annan - Kitchen Table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The Moat House Annan
The Moat House Annan - Farmhouse Kitchen Dining area
The Moat House Annan - Kitchen Table
The Moat House Annan - Scooter
The Moat House Annan - Kitchen
The Moat House Annan - Bug
The Moat House Annan - Bedroom 1 (Downstairs)
The Moat House Annan - Downstairs Wetroom
The Moat House Annan - Feature Staircase
The Moat House Annan - Lift between ground and 1st floor
The Moat House Annan - Bedroom 2 (can be configured as two singles)
The Moat House Annan - Bedroom 3 (optional extra 2 persons in double sofabed)
The Moat House Annan - Bedroom 4 (can also be configured as a twin room)
The Moat House Annan - Bedroom 5
The Moat House Annan - Hoist
The Moat House Annan - Upstairs Wetroom
The Moat House Annan - Gecko
The Moat House Annan - Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Annan, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I have stayed at quite a few holiday cottages, but none of them where any where as nice as this place. Loads of room and great location in Annan.

We went mountain biking which 3 of 7 Stains courses are within 30 minutes.

Local curry house and pub were nice and less than 5 minute walk away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Great to hear that you had such a great time. We don't say it's a 5* Luxury self catering holiday cottage for nothing...!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkophil...
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Fantastic Can't Say More”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Moat House in Annan, Dumfries and Galloway is a huge wonderfully renovated property that has a chequered history. From run down former offices the current owners have made an amazing job of bringing the house back to life. We stayed in September for a long week end with our family. The house offers really comfortable accommodation and obviously having spotted a certain niche in the holiday home market the owners have catered for both the able bodied and not so able bodied even to the extent of installing a passenger lift.
Huge wet rooms on ground and upper floors are eminently suitable for anyone.
An enormous kitchen with a massive dining table is fully equipped to allow folk the opportunity to cook full scale meals if desired. Even doggy bowls are provided which is such a thoughtful touch.
Bedrooms are large and the beds can be configured to suit an individual’s needs such as using two singles to make a double. Each bedroom has its own TV.
There’s entertainment aplenty in the main sitting room including big screen TV, satellite box, WiFi, board games and even a piano if someone feels like tickling the ivories. There’s also a wealth of interesting books to browse through.
At the time of our stay work was still going on at the rear of the property in completing the patios and landscaping. That said there was still plenty of space to sit and enjoy the early autumn sunshine. Once that work has been completed many a happy hour could be spent relaxing with a glass or two of something and a good book.
The house is just a short walk away from the town centre’s main street with its array of shops, pubs and eating places. It is also close to the river and a walk along the river bank makes for a relaxing hour or so.
Another attraction which is worth a look is the Annadale Distillery. Still to produce bona fide whiskey but well on the way to doing so. It’s a short drive from the house or a reasonable walk.
The house can accommodate up to twelve people so it is clearly suited for a big party of friends or large family groups. We were eight in number plus our dog and we had acres of space.
On street parking is available immediately outside the front door so access for luggage etc is easy.
We certainly enjoyed our time there and can heartily recommend it. One would be hard pushed to find anything amiss. No expense seems to have been spared in bringing the Moat House to such a high standard. The owners deserve to do well.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Could not possibly put them in order. Everything was first class
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
Wow Carey! Thank you so much for such a glowing review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAB0D
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful!”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

A beautiful house, fresh and spacious, extremely well equipped with everything we could possibly need.
 
We came to celebrate a Diamond Wedding Anniversary. The Moat House has given us luxurious accommodation to enjoy, whilst catering to our many physical constraints and challenges. We haven't found anywhere else with such good disabled facilities, including commode chair, electric beds, fully accessible bathroom and wheelchair friendly terrain throughout. The great thing is that all this has been achieved at the same time as providing a holiday home feel that worked just as well for our 13 year old daughter and the dog! Thank you to Martin & Nick for going the extra mile to ensure everything was just right for us before we even arrived. It has been very reassuring to feel that we have been cared for throughout.
 
Our top 3 recommendations for things to do in the area are:
 
1) Del Amitri restaurant at the Powfoot Hotel. Wonderful food with views of the Solway Firth. Good access to restaurant once you get through the heavy front doors. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
 
2) Kirroughtree Visitor Centre. It's a long drive (1.5 hours) but well worth the effort. Nice coffee shop with 'one of the best disabled toilets in the world!'. There is a wheelchair friendly route through the trees to a hide teeming with wildlife. Our highlights were the acrobatic red squirrels and the rhythmic woodpeckers.
 
3) Sweetheart Abbey. Not far by main roads or take the scenic coastal route. Beautiful for afternoon tea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Thanks for your stunningly positive review Icabod. We set out to be the #1 place for a luxury holiday home for everyone including those with impaired mobility or disabilities and it looks like we've gone a long way to realise that... Having said that our dream of upping the stakes for the "Gold Standard" of disabled friendly holiday homes is constantly being reviewed and we are adapting to suggestions to make The Moat House even better as time goes on. Thank you for your custom and for helping to put The Moat House on the map.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing