We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great owners, great location for quiet relaxation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wark Farm Hayloft

The Hayloft in summer. Entrance is by the left hand door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hayloft in summer. Entrance is by the left hand door.
The sitting area, with well stocked bookcase. Looking through kitchen area to bedroom and bathroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
The Hayloft in summer. Entrance is by the left hand door.
The sitting area, with well stocked bookcase.
Looking through kitchen area to bedroom and bathroom.
Sitting area with dining table beyond.
Dining table with space for four.
Sunshine coming in on morning coffee.
Bathroom with shower, interesting sink which made its way from Barbados.
Shower, hot water supplied by the farms biofuel boiler.
Looking through to east facing bedroom. There are blackout blinds for sleepers sensitive to the sun.
Bedroom, which can be set up with twin or double beds.
Morning sunshine on the yard and Hayloft.
Looking to the hills out of the bathroom window.
Sunset over the hills to the west with the farms Hebridean sheep in front.
Springtime cowslips in the wild flower meadow which can be seen from the Hayloft kitchen window.
The farm pond, a gentle stroll away from the Hayloft.
Success on the farm pond.
The Hayloft, also showing flowering green roof on the adjacent timber building.
The farms Belted Galloways having a look at the Hayloft, across the yard.
Sorting through the farm's lambs in the springtime.
New arrival to the farm's herd of Belties.
Year old Belties on a warm day, taking advantage of the facilities provided in the wetland.
Summertime at the Hayloft and the rose going full steam ahead.
Part of the farms flock of pigeons (or doo's as they are called round here).
Gathering the ewes in through the wetland, home of snipe, lapwing, duck and curlew.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alford, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dan17Hem
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great owners, great location for quiet relaxation”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at the hayloft for 11 nights whilst working for BT in the local area, although I only used the hayloft for evenings, it was perfect after a hard day at work to relax and settle down for a good nights sleep. the bed is amazing, probably the best mattress I have ever slept on. the hayloft was clean and well presented, I had a really warm and homely feel, whilst still being quite fresh and modern. the only slight down side was the lack of a TV, but after bit of tinkering with the broadband connection and WIFI, I was able to watch TV via my laptop. shame I had to work everyday through out my stay, but would definitely consider returning for a more leisure based stay in the future. finally I cannot commend the owners enough, great to talk to, very interesting and insightful couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: no television
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandJD
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just what we needed for relaxing and enjoying the unspoilt Aberdeenshire countryside. The Hayloft is the perfect country retreat, attractive, comfortable and clean with everything we needed to make our stay a throughly enjoyable experience. Thank you Lauren.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
777Fletch
Bathurst, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxed”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This property is located in rural Aberdeenshire, about 15 minutes from the village of Alford. Great location for walking and experiencing the surrounding area. We were looking for a quiet place to relax for a few days before heading back to Australia, and this met our needs nicely.

The farm is a working farm and we were concerned with access should the snows come, they did come and we had no trouble. The farm has a lot of local produce (which we did not realise).

The owners were very helpful and had a pleasant stay.

The property was hard to find even though we had detailed directions from the owner, but more our fault I suspect.

WiFi was a little inconsistent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Would like to have had a TV
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauraarat...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We really couldn't fault our stay here. Communication ahead of time was really clear, straightforward and accommodating of our requests. The place itself is really well presented, clean and cosy. It is well equipped and we cooked delicious meals in the kitchen using produce from the farm. The views are stunning too and lots to explore in the surrounding area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sootob
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very peaceful stay”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spacious, comfortable & well appointed, the two of us enjoyed our weeks stay at Wark Farm. Located away from the road up a private lane it is very quiet even though it is a working farm, Most of the property is on the first floor above the farm office with just a utility room on the ground floor. The bed was large & comfortable and the built-in wardrobe provided plenty of storage space. The bathroom was also well sized with a good shower. The large main room also contains the kitchen so makes for a sociable stay.
The farm produced food is recommended and the property was well located for touring the local area. The farm collies are friendly and enjoy playing with sticks.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful countryside. Spacious and well decorated. Wark Farm produce.
Liked least: A TV, and maybe a microwave would be good.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$74
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing