We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our wedding”
other travellers have booked this property
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Elm kitchen Elm twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Elm kitchen
Elm twin bedroom
Summer outside Clover cottage
Brooks bedroom en suite
Brooks lounge
Brooks kitchen
Autumn garden outside Clover cottage
View from Flax cottage
Games/Function room
Games/Function room
Flax cottage lounge
Clover cottage
Barley cottage
Barley kitchen area
Barnwell Logo
Games Room set up for function
Our new fishing lake
Nearby Mt.Stewart gardens in spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Greyabbey, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maps12704
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our wedding”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We held our wedding and ceremony at Barnwell Farm Cottages on Saturday 10th June 2017.
We hired all 7 cottages for 2 nights for our guests.
The owners and on site managers could not have been more helpful.
All cottages and surroundings are beautiful and very comfy.

We had a dreadful experience with the marquee we hired (from a completely seperate company) and had to rearrange all our plans as it collapsed in the night and we then decorated the games room to hold our ceremony and it turned out really lovely.
Outside the games room we had a bbq company set up for dinner and had hay bales scattered round for seating in the courtyard.

Thanks to Barnwell we had a lovely weekend and we were blessed with sunshine all afternoon.

Emma and Ryan xo

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coalpoint...
newcastlensw
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and comfy cottages, great base for local golf!”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were a group of 4 couples and needed a base for a primarily golfing week in County Down. We rented two cottages (Elm and Brooks) with two couples in each and had a fabulous time. The cottages were clean and comfortable, and the location was good for us, as we needed to drive to a variety of golf courses anyway. (Not so good if you want to walk, although bicycles would, I think, be OK.) We cooked for the whole group most nights, in Elm, and found we had all the cooking and dining facilities we needed ( and onsite manager David and his wife Sarah were very friendly and accommodating when we transferred a few dishes etc between cottages!) We needed the laundry - which has a cost, but not too much. Didn't really use the games room. Wifi was good - which was essential for our group. There are a couple of short walks around the farm, which were nice enough but a little unkempt, and only a couple of km long.
A very nice touch was the folder explaining the history of the cottages and the deliberate retention / inclusion of some of the original features - it seemed to us that the renovations were done with sensitivity and care, and the result is charming.
A final bright spot for our group was the offer from the owner, Michael, of some discounted golf vouchers for a local course. which we were very happy to use.
Overall, the cottages are very nice and, at the price we paid, were a 5 star experience.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a pleasure !”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned having spent two brilliant nights at this beautiful spot. Had the pleasure of sharing with family and friends while attending my son's wedding in nearby Orange Tree House in Greyabbey. Cannot praise these cottages too highly. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Glorious setting. Booked all seven cottages and we had a ball. Special mention goes out to Manager David and his wife Sarah for being such fabulous hosts. Nothing too much trouble for them as they go that extra mile to please their guests. Also a big thank you to owners Michael and Vi for stopping by and making sure everything was going well. I would highly recommend this complex to anyone. Look forward to returning some day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith L
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wedding guests”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed her whilst visiting Northern Ireland for a friends wedding , lovely cottages I had an elderly relative with me we had the cottage for the disabled , good wet room tidy and clean cottage but not that comfortable location is remote and peaceful no wifi in the cottage had to go to the games room all the time which wasn't great

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wifi acess
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
We have up graded the wi fi signal recently with an outside booster so the as well as the games room all 7 cottages have a good wi fi signal inside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
choosyham...
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a very comfortable week in Elm which is the largest of the seven self catering units on this site. Despite being part of a complex the situation ws very priovate. It really was like borrowing someones home with lovely spacious rooms and good quality furnishings. Constant hot water and central heating (necessary in a N Ireland summer) are included in the price. The large dining kitchen was a wonderful focal point for our party of adults. A very friendly laid back welcome made for a relaxing holiday.
Free wifi was good, but we had no reception in the house and had to go to the games room. The TV really could do with updating - I could not read the tennis scores from my armchair!
Make sure to try out Harrisons Restaurant at the end of the lane with its magnificent views, and tune in to the eating culture of N Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of accommodation
Liked least: The TV set
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
We have recently up graded all the TV,s. We now have bigger screens in all the seven cottages,with Freeview, free Sky channels and DVD players linked in to all TV.s We are working on a comprehensive DVD library that will replace the 280+VHS video tapes that proved to be a very popular service we provided free to our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing