We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great find!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ripple Cottage

Front of the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the property
Looking down the lane, cottage is past The Wrinkled Stocking Tea Room The Cottage Lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Front of the property
Looking down the lane, cottage is past The Wrinkled Stocking Tea Room
The Cottage Lane
The welcome heart
Our warm & cozy living room
Enjoy the comforts of the front room
The visitors book
A fully equipped kitchen and dining table
Downstairs window over looking the river
The welcome notice board
The relaxing bathroom awaits
Enjoy a relaxing bath
Looking from the bedroom into the bathroom
The utility with washer, ironing board, iron and airer.
Just in case you forget ....
The Yorkshire Saying goes....
King size bed with towels provided
Dressing table with double windows overlooking the river
We also have two single beds upon request
Who knows what the weather is going to be like ..
You've got to love a duck in wellies ....
Memorial Park, Holmfirth
Victora Park, Holmfirth
Daisy Lane Holmfirth
Oil Can Cafe Hepworth, Holmfirth
Peninnes - within walking distance
Digley Resevoir Holmfirth
Looking from Rocher into Holmfirth
Welcome to Holmfirth
The Stunning Views just a walk/drive away
The oldest building in Holmfirth dates back to 1600 has been a jail, mortuary & even a fire station
The cobbles up to Daisy Lane Books
The view from Victoria Park
Lovely picture taken from Victoria Park
The view from behind the church looking onto Hollowgate
Castle Hill is a place to visit ...views all around
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
geoffwick...
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Neither my wife nor I knew the "Last of the Summer Wine" significance of Holmfirth when we booked Ripple cottage for a New Year getaway. The town is lovely, but most of all we have fallen in love with the cottage after only one night. It's so well appointed but sweet and cosy, and Lynette, the owner, is friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Hi Geoff, I'm so glad you both had a lovely stay and enjoyed Holmfirth. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes Lynette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george g
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

As we could not find the cottage, we called Lynette and she met us in the town centre and showed us the way. Everything was ready for us with all of the little extras already in place {tea coffee milk etc} all additional to what we had expected. Another bonus for me was the fact that we have a large Rover 75 estate car and reading the previous reviews I was ready to look for an alterative parking area. However Lynette showed me how we could park in the car port at the cottage and stayed to guide me into the space. This was a great help as we did not need to use the car during our stay, so did not have to worry about car parking restrictions. Nothing is to much trouble for Lynette or Jay and they are so nice and helpful and we were made to feel so welcome. As massive Last of Summer Wine fans, to stay in Holmfirth in such a comfortable cottage with a perfect location, proved a massive bonus for us. We had a wonderful long weekend. I could not find any fault with this cottage and hope at sometime to return. Thank you so much Lynette and Jay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace in the evenings at the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for the kind review. Hope you see you both again soon. We have lovely sunny weather in Holmfirth at the moment so dont leave it too long
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan k
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage fabulous location”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cottage s located virtually next door to Compos cottage and Nora Batty's house and is just a minutes walk from the shops, pubs and restaurants. The owners were helpful and pleasant to deal with. The cottage was clean and well appointed and ideal for our weekend break. We found everyone very friendly in the shops and restaurants. This cottage is high recommended and is in a brilliant location. Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: parking
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thank you Sue for the kind review. Hope you come back soon. We have the Holmfirth Food Festival in September which is always a great weekend
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkmicha...
kirkmichael
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Ripple Cottage and had a great weekend in Holmfirth- we were met at the door by Lynett's lovely Mum with the key- inside we found Tea/Coffee/Milk/Cereal and Fresh Flowers which is a lovely thoughtful touch-the house is in a great central location but down a very pretty and very quiet lane a 1 minute walk to the centre which has a large selection of shops/bars/good restaurants- outside the house is traditional stone and inside is ultra modern with every convenience available- open plan Living/Dining Room and Kitchen[all very well equipped] and a large bedroom with a big comfy bed and huge bathroom with bath and shower upstairs- all light/airy and spacious- every thing was spotlessly clean with plenty of towels and extra pillows if required- the house is beautifully and tastefully decorated with some lovely personal touches- right next to the river we fell asleep to the sound of running water and woke to the same plus ducks- outside was every bit as good with a wrought iron table and chairs and a hanging basket and flowering plant pots- it is obvious that this house is very well looked after and cared for and is a real home from home- also it was obvious that Lynette was on hand and close by should you have any problems which may be reassuring to people staying- our car was way too big for the carport but we had no problems with parking at all over the 3 days and got a spot very close to the house-we have stayed in many self catering properties and this was one of the best- not sure that any more could be done as we thought it was perfect and we would not hesitate to recommend a stay here and we look forward to a return visit- Thank you Lynette

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house overall and the location
Liked least: Leaving on Monday Morning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review Fiona. Im so glad you enjoyed the cottage - we do put alot of thought into it. I hope to see you again soon either in Holmfirth or sunny Scotland. Lynette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard S
2 reviews
“Could be better”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Holmfirth is a good location to use as a base for exploring other parts of Yorkshire. It will only take you a few hours to look around the town itself which is full of places to eat and a good selection of charity shops. If you're interested in Last of the Summer Wine, there's also a bus tour you can take. If you want to buy and cook your own food, there's a Sainsbury's in the town, and a Morrison's a few miles away.

On arrival, we couldn't find the cottage so we had to call Lynnette, one of the owners, who kindly met us at Compo's Cafe and we followed her into town. If you stay here, look for the Elephant & Castle pub, drive over the small one-way bridge just past the pub, then take a sharp left down the lane past the row of wheelie bins. You'll see the Cottage half way down the lane on your right.

As others have said, Ripple Cottage is set overlooking a duck filled river and does have private parking in a small enclosed car port. If you have a larger car - say a saloon or hatchback, you are unlikely to get it in as there's not much room to manoeuvre between the entrance and the stone wall next to the river. You can't park outside the house either, as you will block access for other houses in the lane. There might be parking available elsewhere in town so check this first if you do have a larger car. I managed to get my Nissan Note in to the parking space with some effort. Also, be warned that there are a family of birds living in the roof of that parking space so you'll have a lot of bird poop to clean off your car windscreen each morning. I recommend bringing an old sheet or towel with you to cover the car each night!

The house only has one entrance door leading in to the lounge, so we were a little concerned about getting out if there had been a fire in the lounge. The only other means of escape would be the bedroom windows which, although they do open (they are sash windows), were very stiff and not easy to open. If there had been an emergency at the front of the house we'd have been stuck.

The lounge area is open-plan with the kitchen which has almost everything you need if you're dining in. The only thing missing was a freezer - it just has a fridge with no freezer compartment. There's nice large TV in the lounge with freesat and a DVD player, along with a good selection of DVDs. There was supposed to be Wi-Fi but it wasn't working when we were there. The owners tried to fix it and an engineer was supposed to call on our second day, but it never worked - perhaps it's working now. In the lounge area, they have a 2 seater sofa bed which would be handy if there's more than two in your party.

The bedroom was very large with a huge bed (actually it's two singles pushed together). It has a heavy winter duvet which was really too much for the recent warm humid nights. It would have been nice if there'd been some lighter sheets available as an alternative but there wasn't so we had to remove the duvet and just use the cover instead. Note that the floor in bedroom is very creaky so you will disturb your partner if you get up during the night.

The bathroom has quite a low ceiling for some reason, so when you're standing in the bath to shower, your head almost hits the ceiling. If you're 6 foot tall or more, you'll have to duck when showering.

If this was my house, I would fix the bedroom floorboards and make sure there was a light at the top of the stairs - (No bulb there when we stayed). Cheap and easy fixes. I would also think about evacuation in the event of a fire. If the bedroom windows are meant to be the means of escape - make sure they are easier to open.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view over the river
Liked least: Parking the car
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Afternoon Gerard, Many thanks for your review of our cottage and Im sorry to read that there were some elements of your stay you were unhappy with. If i can just address some of your issues:
1] Regarding the bed in the master bedroom. This is not two single beds pushed together but infact a Kingsize zip and link which is used in many hotels. This is used to help us accomodate couples and single stays.
2] I'm sorry you were too hot with the heavy duvet but if you had contacted me i could have allocated a light weight duvet for you.
3] The creaking floorboard in the bedroom. We will endeavour to rectify this problem.
4] Low ceiling in the bathroom. The cottage is an old weavers cottage and low ceilings are the norm within the area. The cottage has recently undergone renovation but as the property is an underdwelling we are unable to raise the ceiling.
5] Lack of freezer. We dont have a freezer within the property. We have found due to the excellant choice of restaurants and cafe's most of our guests do eat out. We may consider installing a freezer if required.
6] Parking. There is a car port available with the cottage that is suitable for a small to medium vehicle. But failing that there is plenty of parking available in Holmefirth. If guests do have an issue with parking their vehicle we do offer them parking at our property across the road from the cottage. With regards to the birds living in the carport. Yes there is a family of birds who nest their every year and we are reluctant to move them. But we will inform future guest of the possibility of bird poop on their cars and will offer them a sheet to use if required.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;