We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Girlie Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ford Cottage

Ford Cottage Holmfirth surrounded by beautiful open countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ford Cottage Holmfirth surrounded by beautiful open countryside
Ford Cottage Holmfirth private enclosed garden Garden with seating and dawn till dusk lighting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Ford Cottage Holmfirth surrounded by beautiful open countryside
Ford Cottage Holmfirth private enclosed garden
Garden with seating and dawn till dusk lighting
Why not walk to nearby Digley resevoir, stunning in all seasons
Holme Moss through the clouds awaiting the Tour de France, about 2 miles away from Ford Cottage
Well equipped kitchen and there is a washer and dryer in the integral garage
Dining room - comfortable dining for 8 people plus window seat and 'comfy' chair
Log burning stove in the dining room
Entrance porch with Yorkshire settle
The cottage has views of this countryside from all the windows
Lounge with Smart TV
Window seat and log burning stove in the lounge
Relax with a book from the well stocked bookcase
Feel snug in comfort and style
Dream location for photographers, bird watchers, walkers, cyclists, poets .....
Hallway leading to the 4 bedrooms
Master bedroom with walk in wardrobe and en suite wet room
Master bedroom en suite wet room
Large double room with Smart TV
Fantastic views from the double room
Family bathroom with bath and separate shower
Full sized bunks each with individual adjustable reading lights
Dog shower in the garage - also suitable for bikes, wellies and plenty of drying space in the garage
Local blacksmith custom made gates lead into the garden with seating and shady areas.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SonSon18
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Girlie Getaway”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Wow, I would not have thought a place like this was possible. My friends and I had a lovely long weekend, what a wonderful place to relax and catch up. Cottage was amazing, clean and spacious, everything you could want and more.
Thank you to the owners for the treats left.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space and the calm
Liked least: bath tub was dirty
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glesgagal...
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house with pub as neighbour”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a luxury cottage with top end fittings and quality furniture. It even has a dog/boot shower in the garage. The sitting room was very cosy and great concern had been shown in providing games, books and magazines for guests. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen had been well designed and kitted out. I would advise taking time (before meals are required) to acquaint yourself with the Neff kitchen however, as it takes a bit of getting used to.
The garden is well positioned to benefit from daily sunshine, although a couple of loungers would have made life easier for the elderly family members. A downstairs toilet would also be very much welcomed for the same reason.
From a location point of view-it is the only cottage I have ever been to that is right next to a pub. This was not a problem however and we all ate there on one evening, with the kids popping in on their own too. It was well reviewed by a number of people on the cottage website, and the food was good, but not fabulous - rather well fired chips and fish batter for my liking and service was a bit slow. The owners are very welcoming however and it is a pleasant place to sit.
Altogether a good visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely large table in dining room which we used for a family anniversary meal.
Liked least: Location meant we had to drive everywhere.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous cottage!”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from spending a wonderful long weekend at Ford cottage with friends celebrating one of our 30th birthdays. Firstly the village of Holmfirth itself is picturesque and a lovely setting for a relaxing time away. The cottage itself is immaculate and has all the mod-cons you could ask for such as dishwasher, induction hob and power showers whilst still retaining all the charm you would expect. The interior has been very tastefully decorated with some beautiful pieces of furniture and the place is spacious even with 6 adults staying. The bedding and towels provided were of excellent quality, we really couldn't have asked for more.

We absolutely loved Ford cottage and can't wait to return!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel M
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Outstanding accommodation, will have to return for a longer stay another time!”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

So pleased that we picked this lovely property for our stay during our weekend of geocaching in the area!
Our daughters were impressed with the welcome sweets left out upon our arrival and our dog, Herbie really enjoyed the treats left for him too.
The bathrooms were beautiful and practical and the underfloor heating in the kitchen was lovely and warm.
Next time we visit we will have to stay for longer as we really weren't there for long enough to fully appreciate both the area and the comforts offered by this lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely bathrooms and the well equipped kitchen.
Liked least: A downstairs toilet would have been a welcome addition.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily E
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful cottage, fantastic stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in July 2014

We couldn't believe we paid less than £600 for a weekend in the summer holidays in this beautiful cottage. It has been decorated to such a high standard, and was kept so clean. The kitchen has all the mod cons, and the dining room is plenty big enough. The master bedroom is huge, the double and twin rooms are of a good size and the bunk bed room is a fair bit smaller. We walked in to town and back one day, its definitely doable but on the way back uphill it can get a little tiring, especially if its a hot summer day! Would definitely recommend. The pub next door serves really great food too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$229
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing